We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good luxus hotel”
Review of Hilton Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #67 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The location of the hotel is very good. It is directly at the "Gendarmenmarkt" and not far away from the street "Unter den Linden" and the "Brandenburger Tor". The underground station is only 50 meters away. The lobby is very beautiful an the staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The corridors and the rooms are not very luxurious. The bathroom and the flatscreen tv are the most modern things. The bed is very comfortable. I woud only recommend an executive room at the 6th floor. There you have the possibility to visit the executive lounge. There you get your breakfast in the morning, coffee the whole day and fingerfood in the evening. Until 11 p.m. you get different sorts of wine, beer an other driks for example Glenfiddich Whisky. And all those things are included if you book an executive room. The other advantage of this lounge is, that you dont have to eat your breakfast with for about 100 other guests because this lounge is only for the guests of the 6th floor. With the bar "Trader Vic's" you have a good opinion to go out in the evening directly in the hotel. There is also a business center and a pool. The roomservice is very good and the prices are high, but fair for such an hotel. All in all a hotel with very good service with old looking rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Olli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 4,692 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2009

Stayed for 4 nights over Christmas.
Check in was smooth and friendly. The room was really big. We had reserved a deluxe room plus which basically is a junior suite.
The room had one king bed and a small living room with sofa and chair and writing desk. It had a big flatscreen tv.
The bathroom was the best part: it was really big! almost as much as the living room! it had 2 sinks and separate tub and shower. All the usual great toiletries were there as well as bathrobe and slippers. The room also had a small dressing area with lots of space for luggage and clothes and a safe.
All in all the hotel was really pleasant. Did not have any problem during the stay and personnel was really nice.
Dined at Mark Brandenburg Restaurant and loved it. Both the food and the decor!
Did not have the buffet breakfast since we do not usually eat a lot at breafast and it costed 23 euros. For 12 euros you can have a small continental breakfast in the Wintergarten which we found more than enough. Anyway there are plenty of bars near the hotel as well as a Starbucks a 5 mins walk away.
What we enjoyed most was the location, right on Gendarmenmarkt in the centre of Berlin.
I would definitely choose this hotel again for my next Berlin visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mklovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

My husband and I just got back from a six-day stay in Berlin, Germany, over Christmas. We chose to stay at the Hilton, since we were able to cash in some of his award points for two free nights, making it a great deal for us.

The Hilton is located in Mitte (the center of Berlin) and was within walking distance of most of the sights we wanted to visit (i.e. the Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie, the Fernsehturm or TV Tower and the Pergamon Museum). The hotel is rather conveniently located right next to the U-bahn stop Stadtmitte, so getting to other areas of the city was very easy.

We were also pleased to find that the hotel was adjacent to the Gendarmenmarkt and not far from the Opernpalais and Alexanderplatz, since all three locations hosted lovely Christmas markets.

Our room in the Hilton was on the fifth floor, facing the interior courtyard. This didn't provide us with a great view, but it was very quiet. The room was not very big by American standards but it was large by European standards. It was nicely furnished, though it didn't really seem up to a five-star rating. The room had a king size bed with two twin-size comforters (typical for Germany), a desk and desk chair, an armchair, a nightstand, a dresser, a large flat screen tv, a small minibar and a small closet. The bathroom was very nice (it may have been recently remodeled, as it seemed nicer than the rest of the room), with a shower/tub, a toilet, a sink with lots of counter space to put your toiletries and heated mirrors that didn't fog up during showers.

One of my only complaints about the room was the lack of a thermostat. There was a dial on the wall that you could use to turn the heat up and a fan on, but we could never get the room to be much cooler without opening the windows. Even with the dial set to its lowest setting and the fan off, my travel clock said the room was still 74 degrees.

The hotel is large, with a beautiful and spacious lobby area and several restaurants and bars. We ate at the Mark Brandenburg Restaurant on Christmas Eve, and the food was excellent. It was a fixed 4-course menu, but we enjoyed every course. The restaurant was large, but it had a nice elegant but cozy atmosphere.

The breakfast buffet was very expensive (24 Euros per person), but it was quite hearty with lots of options. We ate a big breakfast there every day, and it kept us full through dinner-time.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and courteous. Every single person we spoke with (from reception to housekeeping) was incredibly nice and happy to help us with anything we needed.

I'm not sure that the hotel merits its five-star rating, but I would recommend it to a friend and/or stay there again if I could find a good deal. The great location and excellent staff made our stay there very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

I spent eight nights at the Hilton in Berlin - I mostly used the room to sleep; nothing more, nothing less.

Even though my room was on the fifth floor, it had a rather unspectacular view on the house vis-à-vis. The room was comfortable, but not very big (still more than enough for a single occupancy). The bed was comfortable and I immediately got a warmer blanket when I requested it. The bathroom seemed to be recently refurbished and was nice.

So nothing to complain about the 'technicalities' of the room. The décor, however, was not really to my taste: it combined brown and grey furniture (brrr); also the dark carpet and the worn armchair didn't really contribute to my personal coziness.

In the end, the room corresponded very much to what I expect from an average American chain hotel. But is a five star Hilton supposed to be 'the average'?

I did not appreciate at all that the hotel separately charges for sauna use (10 or 12 €, I don't recall). From my point of view this kind of service should be included in the price of a five star hotel. Luckily, as a member of HHonors, I got access for free (but the place was nothing special).

Oh, I almost forgot to mention: the location and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issyk-Kul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

stayed for weekend, good points are location and excellent staff. the breakfast was also wonderful. down side. the bed was awful, far too soft and gave no support. it actually made trying to get to sleep difficult. also our room 8004 stunk of smoke. we should have complained but by the time we had arrived were too tired. i left the window open most of the time to try and get rid of the smokey smell.also there was very high step in and out of the shower which some people might find difficult.. for a luxury hotel i felt a bit let down

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnossel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Stayed at the "5 Star" Hilton Berlin for two nights to experience the Christmas Markets and celebrate my friends birthday. We we allocated room 5088 which looked over an internal courtyard so very quiet but no view. Most importantly the room appeared clean and well maintained. The size of the room was adequate but the luxurious touches I would have expected from a hotel of this standard were in my opinion poor. There were robes (not very large, soft or fluffy) and slippers, small, thin towels (in fact my friends had to share a towel). King size bed (plus added squeaky springs) with two single duvets. Minimal tea & coffee (one cup per day) and mini bar. The room also had ironing facilites. There was a pool and spa but I don't have experience them. With last minute it was room only so no idea what the breakfast was like. The redeeming point was the hotel's location which was superb. If you can get a room at a good price I would stay here but if paying rack rate there are other hotels with far superior facilities available in Berlin

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0rnish_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I would highly recommend the Berlin Hilton for its cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, and for its' central location to most of the historical sites.

While we were there the annual Marathon run was on and the transportation above ground was virtually shut down for the afternoon so we took a hop-on-hop-off bus tour in the morning, took a boat cruise in the afternoon, and walked for the balance of our time
.
The only negatives that I have are with all of the Hilton Hotels - exorbitant internet rates and breakfast buffets. Unless you take the buffet there is no other breakfast option and coffee and an egg with toast is not worth 22-25 Euros.

Obviously it is not enough to keep us away, we just find alternatives outside the hotel. One we enjoyed was the Lowenbrau restaurant around the corner from the Hilton complete traditional German foods and with a full band on Saturday night.

Thank Chewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#17 of 633 in Berlin
3,140 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#115 of 633 in Berlin
2,897 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
1,985 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#53 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £99 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing