We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location”
Review of Hilton Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #63 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed at the Hilton across from the Gendarmenmarkt for 2 nights. The location was perfect. Good sights within walking distance, subway across the street, and a very well informed concierge staff to send us in the right directions. Les Galleries Lafayette a Berlin with its epicurean level,. Shopping Passages and Fassbinder and Rausch (for the chocaholic) all within steps
Room surpassed the Hilton standards that we were expecting. Beatiful bathroom with a soaker tub.
The high room rate charge was to be expected for world capital accommodation... but the add-ons were a little over the top. Parking exceeded 20E per day, Internet access was 22E per 24 hr period, Breakfast not included but available at 30 E per person. That is almost $150 nightly extra for "services"..

Would we go back? In all likelyhood. It somehow had a good mix of services. Berlin has that vibe.... And did we mention location???

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltspringislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,886 - 2,892 of 4,637 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2009

Have recently stayed in this hotel. The room was fine though not particularly spacious. Nice bathroom though. The staff were efficient rather than friendly and the foyer/bar area was pretty devoid of any character. I certainly wouldn't pop in for a drink if I wasn't staying there though they do make a fine vodka martini! The breakfast was excellent.The spa looks lovely but the water was cold. Not very attractive in a jacuzzi. It is in a good location and within walking distance of several sights most notably the stunning Holocaust Memorial.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

The Hilton Berlin definitely deserves it's 4.5 TA rating. I've stayed in a few Hiltons throughout the world and this was one of the best.

Fantastically situated for a Xmas/New Year break. Directly opposite the Gendarmentmrkt for the Christmas Market and New Year fireworks/festivities (in which we partook!). Very family orientated rather than the party area down at the Brandenberg Gate.

U-bahn directly outside the hotel on lines U2 and U6 which were direct to Alexanderplatz/TV Tower, Potsdamer Platz and Checkpoint Charlie with just a short 10 min or so walk from Potsdamer Platz northwards taking in the Holocaust Memorial to the Reichstag Building. All in all, brilliant for a short two day trip (which is what we did!).

Service and rooms were great. Towels, slippers, easy to use room safe and very courteous room service. We even had a lovely view overlooking the Gendarmenmarkt. Taxis sit right outside the hotel (even at 6am) for your airport transfers if you wish. We didn't eat in the hotel as I had heard previously that it was a bit of a rip off but there are so many places in this area of Berlin, it really isn't an issue.

It wasn't cheap but then it's a capital city and the exchange rate £/Euro is simply shocking at the mo so you get what you pay for.

Highly recommended for family - we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We checked into the Berlin Hilton for a 2 night stay at the Berlin Hilton and were very impressed.

The pictures online aren't that flattering, so we were a bit apprehensive. But I'm happy to report that it's a beautiful property. The lobby and common areas are in terrific shape. The front desk and conceigre were all very warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms were tastefully done. The furniture and bathrooms were in great shape.

The nicest surprise was the club room. We stayed on the club floor so we had access to the lounge. They had an amazing breakfast everyday and the soft drinks and food throughout the day was excellent.

As a Hilton Diamond member, I have a number of Hilton experiences to compare this hotel with. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvanPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My friends and I stayed here over Christmas. The hotel was in an excellent location, super close to the U Bahn and 2 Christmas markets and lots of attractions in walking distance.
We spent Christmas eve in the Trader Vics bar where we had a great time. The service was excellent and the cocktails were interesting!
We had Christmas dinner in the Mark Brandenburg Restaurant, the food was good, however the service was a bit offhand at times, super at others.
The we had a room on the 3rd floor and our friends were on the 5th floor. Both our rooms were a good hike from the lifts, while there seemed plenty of vacant rooms closer to the lifts. The rooms were clean and well presented. I think the décor was a little dowdy and not very modern. However this is just my personal taste.
We asked to be in a non smoking room, however the halls in our floor had a very distinctive smell of smoke, which wasn’t very pleasant in the morning for us non smokers!
My only major issue I had with hotel was an issue with our towels. We had hung up our towels to re- use in the evening (as suggested by the hotel if we wanted to reuse our towels). However we found that they had been relocated when they had made up the room and my sister and I had no idea who’s towel was who’s. The next day, because of this mix up we placed our towels in the bath (as directed by the hotel if we required new towels), when we came back to our room, the same towels were hung up again, complete with make up marks! I know it’s a slight detail, however its these small details that make a average hotel a great hotel.

Overall not a bad hotel, the concierge and check in staff were lovely and they did grant us a late check out at no extra cost.
I would stay at the hotel again, however its more of a hotel for people 40+ and families rather than 25-30’s.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The location of the hotel is very good. It is directly at the "Gendarmenmarkt" and not far away from the street "Unter den Linden" and the "Brandenburger Tor". The underground station is only 50 meters away. The lobby is very beautiful an the staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The corridors and the rooms are not very luxurious. The bathroom and the flatscreen tv are the most modern things. The bed is very comfortable. I woud only recommend an executive room at the 6th floor. There you have the possibility to visit the executive lounge. There you get your breakfast in the morning, coffee the whole day and fingerfood in the evening. Until 11 p.m. you get different sorts of wine, beer an other driks for example Glenfiddich Whisky. And all those things are included if you book an executive room. The other advantage of this lounge is, that you dont have to eat your breakfast with for about 100 other guests because this lounge is only for the guests of the 6th floor. With the bar "Trader Vic's" you have a good opinion to go out in the evening directly in the hotel. There is also a business center and a pool. The roomservice is very good and the prices are high, but fair for such an hotel. All in all a hotel with very good service with old looking rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Olli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Stayed for 4 nights over Christmas.
Check in was smooth and friendly. The room was really big. We had reserved a deluxe room plus which basically is a junior suite.
The room had one king bed and a small living room with sofa and chair and writing desk. It had a big flatscreen tv.
The bathroom was the best part: it was really big! almost as much as the living room! it had 2 sinks and separate tub and shower. All the usual great toiletries were there as well as bathrobe and slippers. The room also had a small dressing area with lots of space for luggage and clothes and a safe.
All in all the hotel was really pleasant. Did not have any problem during the stay and personnel was really nice.
Dined at Mark Brandenburg Restaurant and loved it. Both the food and the decor!
Did not have the buffet breakfast since we do not usually eat a lot at breafast and it costed 23 euros. For 12 euros you can have a small continental breakfast in the Wintergarten which we found more than enough. Anyway there are plenty of bars near the hotel as well as a Starbucks a 5 mins walk away.
What we enjoyed most was the location, right on Gendarmenmarkt in the centre of Berlin.
I would definitely choose this hotel again for my next Berlin visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mklovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#111 of 635 in Berlin
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#20 of 635 in Berlin
3,098 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,605 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 635 in Berlin
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#50 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £116 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing