We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a couple of days in Berlin....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #125 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ideal for a couple of days in Berlin....”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a great hotel !

My friends I travelled with were initially worried because I booked this 2-star hotel on Expedia. But I did my research, and once we arrived they were pleasantly surprised.

Modern, clean, and friendly. Extremely helpful staff, and a great base for exploring the city. Nice and soundproof (internally), and comfy pillows ! Which makes a nice change in a hotel. Not much storage, but who cares....I can live out of a suitcase for a few days. And the best showers !Basic, but good breakfast - but get there reasonably early as the limited space gets busy by 8am.

The TXL bus from Tegel airport stops almost outside the hotel, but if you want to grab a cab then the airport fare won't be much more than 20euros.

Okay, the hotel is in Alexanderplatz, which being formerly the East isn't the prettiest part of the city, but it's only a 20 min walk down the Unter den Linden to the central Brandenburg Gate. Even better, it's only a few minutes walk from the annual Berlin Beer Festival in Karl-marx-Allee ! As well as buses, there is a cab rank outside the hotel and tram, train and underground connections all within 5 minutes walk.

Next door to the hotel is the wonderful Hofbrau Biergarten, which I was told is the biggest in Europe ! Had a couple of great nights there. It's also only a short walk to the Hackerscher Markt, which is lively in the evenings !

Would I stay there again ? Definitely. Last time I was in Berlin I stayed in the Potsdamer Platz area - which was good for stuff like the Ku'dam. However, for me the H2 is in a better location and ticked all the right boxes.

Danke !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGC-Kiwi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation Manager at H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear guest,
What a great review. Happy guests that are pleasantly surprised and would definitely like to stay with us again are the best results of our daily work we could imagine. Thank you very much for your detailed travel story and do not forget to check our welcome back-offers.

Your team of H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    1,137
    306
    62
    40
See reviews for
412
905
114
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Loved this hotel. Very clean,very comforatable, very modern. Restaurant open 24/7 and very reasonable indeed. Location is excellent for walking to the main sites or for getting the U Bahn and S Bahn.Staff very helpful and friendly. A great stay. Leaflets in the foyer give details of walking tours of Berlin which are well worth doing.Will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizbetManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation Manager at H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear guests,
Lovely review – many thanks and see you soon.

Your team of H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Excellent location not far from alexanderplatz ststion good base for exploring berlin beer hall next door tour bus stop 5mins away.hotel spotless helpful staff good breakfast would definately stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation Manager at H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to rate and recommend our hotel.
Already today we say “welcome back”.

Your team of H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel is situated a few hundred meters from Alexanderplatz. There are good connections everywhere from there. The room was modern and clean, but a bit unpractical - I didn't find a closet or much of other kind of storage places. For two persons, a normal luggage is very difficult to put anywhere. You won't find a bottle-opener either. The air conditioning is good and effective. The breakfast is a continental, pretty modest one - I missed standard filtered coffee, since I don't want to drink espresso or any other special coffee in the morning. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, I was even greeted with a few words in my native Finnish at check-in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation Manager at H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your sincere words regarding the hotel stay. We will gladly consider your suggestions in our future planning. It would be great if we could welcome you again as guest in our hotel and remain with best regards.

Your team of H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Lancs
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid July had a wonderful time friendly,young and enthusiastic staff excellent clean bedrooms although wardrobe space was at a premium and very good buffet breakfast.Despite the place being full of mainly young the hotel rooms were very quiet and there was no disturbance and the sound proofing was first class.The shower room was very good with a powerful shower to wash of the accretions acquired during a days sightseeing .The hotel was handily placed being on the continuation of the Unter den Linden and about half a mile from Museum island and the Nikolai quarter and boat trips on the Spree.Friendly buzzy cafe/bar in the evenings and deck chairs outside for the smokers or to take the sunshine (we had none)In fact agreat place to stay t a reasonable cost whilst in Berlin

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensionerBoltonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation Manager at H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear guests,
Many thanks for your feedback and your very good rating of our value for money. We are very happy that you have spent a great time at our hotel and hope you will come back someday.

Your team of H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We arrived just before midnight and had no problems checking in. Travelling with 3 children the room configuration was great, children in one room with 3 beds made up and us in a double. The hotel is new, clean and all facilities functioned excellently; the air conditioning and soundproof double glazing were a godsend. If travelling as a couple or on business this isn't probably the hotel for you. Only minor grip was finding a seat at breakfast - the hotel does get used by lots of groups. All in all a great family hotel, well priced and well located.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 5 and 7 were quiet even by the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation Manager at H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel. Great, that our hotel and especially the room configuration were excellent for your family. Very good rating – thanks.

Your team of H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We arrived slightly after midnight and was told that the hotel was fully booked and they had booked us at a nearby hotel - despite us having a confirmation letter. We were very annoyed that this hotel did not have the decency to inform us beforehand or ask us if it was ok to do this as we had already fully paid up for the room. We had to lug our very heavy luggage around looking for the other hotel middle of the night, trying to find the other hotel because this hotel did not have the courtesy to show us the way except for showing us a map. We were first timers to Berlin and did not know how to find the way there and struggled to find the other hotel. We were exhausted and this inconvenience really made us have such a poor impression of Berlin. Absolutely appalling customer service as the night reception guy just send us on the way with a superficial apology and then disappeared from the reception area. Never again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation Manager at H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do apologize for the experience you described. It doesn`t correspond at all to the usual standards of our customer service. Of course we will discuss this matter with the responsible staff and will draw appropriate consequences. Hopefully you were able to enjoy your stay in Berlin during the following days. Once again we would like to express our regrets regarding the inconveniences.

Kind regards from H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Kessrin Heusel – Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Property: H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 32a, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz is located at the most central location in the capital. The "Alex" - Alexanderplatz is the ideal starting point for your city trip. A variety of attractions such as the television tower and the Alexa Shopping Centre you can explore on foot. In a few minutes walk to public transport, to explore highlights such as the Museum Island, the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag. Relax in one of our 288 modern rooms with air conditioning, flat screen TV, and bathroom with separate toilet, underfloor heating, rain forest shower and hairdryer. Three-and four-bed rooms are also available. Whether city trip, business trip or attending a trade fair in Berlin - enjoy your stay with our comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing