We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ArtHotel Connection
Ranked #8 of 191 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent three nights in this hotel in May, and I must say I sort of fell in love with it. Strictly speaking there are no fancy things which should make you excited, but it boils down to a cosy, almost family, feeling. Rooms are no luxury, but nicely designed with a bit "rough" touch. Very good beds, dense and stable but not too hard.

No "darkroom curtains", so if you want it pitch black during night this is not possible. You can use the normal curtains to shut out most of the light though.Toilet with shower cabin was spotlessly clean and looks newly renovated. Sink is not in the toilet but in the room, a bit odd, but works well. The wooden room floor squeaks quite a bit when you walk on it, charming or annoying, you decide.

Friendly and nice staff, doing their best to make you feel happy. Breakfast is good with most things you would expect, and the staff will fix egg, bacon etc. if you want it. Very good location close to subways, shops, clubs, restaurants. Although the area is a bit of a gay district with lots of sex-related shops and bars, it is no problem and feels completely safe.

Free WiFi in the hotel with relatively good speed (around 3 Mbps downlink), somewhat less in the evenings as probably other rooms added to the load. Old but working elevator taking you to the third floor (all rooms are at that floor).

Added some pics from room 8, which is a double room facing the Fuggerstrasse. I will definitely come back to this hotel for my next trips to Berlin.

Room Tip: Probably a bit noisier with rooms towards Fuggerstrasse due to the pub at street level, but in early...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for ArtHotel Connection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel, on the third floor of an old building in Schoeneberg, and therefore very centrally located in Berlin, is a hidden gem. You go upstairs in an antique but entirely functional, elevator. The entry door opens onto a hallway that is brightly lit and attractively painted a dark red, with runner carpet to match. The rooms range from small singles with a shared bath to a suite with a separate bedroom. I stayed in a single with an en suite WC with shower and a great view over the back garden. The space, though small, is extremely well used -- with a long counter that serves as a desk. There is a small wardrobe, and good stand for a suitcase. WiFi is free and, in contrast to the experience of a few of the reviewers, worked fine for me. I stayed only one night and had to catch an early plane, so I did not have breakfast, but a continental breakfast is available at a very reasonable 8 euros. The manager is very welcoming and helpful -- recommending places to eat, things to see, and going well beyond what is to be expected in meeting guests' requests. A really special place -- It manages to combine the charm and character and human scale that come with staying in a building of a certain age, with brightness, good decoration, effeciency, and, most important, a welcoming feel. I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: It was very nice having a view over the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelsontouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Lovely little hotel based on the 3rd floor of a old quaint apartment building. Great staff, nothing too much trouble.
Rooms were very clean and in good condition. Bathrooms very nice. All mod cons, nice modern industrial furniture, very trendy.
Wifi fast and very reliable, no connection issues some had reported previously.
Didnt have the breakfast. Only €8 extra a day, I heard it was very nice though.
The local area is very quiet, not much traffic.Just noisey sparrows in the morning. Hardly the hotels fault though.
You get free entry to Connection night club next door which is well worth a visit!
Loads of local gay bars, amazing location. 5 minutes to nearest U-Bahn.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 4 facing the street, great room apart from the noise of the birds, maybe the room...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighton Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

First time in Berlin - the location in Schöneberg was perfect, a leafy, relatively quiet and relaxed neighbourhood whilst still in the thick of wonderful bars, restaurants and very Berlin shopping. Be sure to pop across the road and say hello to Klaus and Floyd at Maxxx bar.

For the price, the accommodation was really great value, clean, comfortable, harming, the team friendly and helpful. Would have liked the option of a full breakfast in-house but really enjoyed what was on offer and certainly no complaints.

Having stayed here once, you understand why the ratings are so consistently strong. Very much looking forward to returning in August 2012 and unless you're expecting five star, can't imagine how you would be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Me and my partner stayed on a weekend of March for 2 nights. Guys works there are super friendly and that's pretty important, isn't it?
Room we stayed was right front of the reception. Clean and comfortable but one minus point is a noise from corridor. Probably the result of the thin door but the hotel itself is an old house and could be worse. Street noise is another thing, but considering the location, well, ear plug might do good night sleep.
Breakfast was a nice surprise. Definitely worth a money.

Would we stay there again? Probably yes. To be greeted by nice and friendly nice looking guys are tempting enough, or?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mothrajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

By rating ArtHotel Connection as 'excellent' because it delivers for its price, and, I would even say, over-delivers. It's not a 5-star hotel. It's a small privately owned hotel in the gay neighbourhood of Berlin, but for the price you pay you get incredibly a lot. The guys at the hotel are super-friendly, the hotel is very clean, the design is great, and there were some really nice touches, like touch lamps, reading lamps, nice and new showers. I felt welcome. I've read complains about WiFi in some other reviews, but during my 6 day stay WiFi was working perfectly in my room. I was staying in a single room with a shared toilet, so the room was very small but conveniently laid out. I've seen the larger - double and family rooms - passing by, and those looked spacious. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank electyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

2-3 blocks away from KaDeWe is this converted apartment unit in a periodic building that boasts a great front office staff, large beds, high ceilings, and convenience to everything one would need on a vacation. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, it does have a breakfast room. The only downside is internect connection can be tricky and noise travels from the central hallway where rooms are lined on either side. Get a suite as it is extremely comfortable, and you cannot beat the price.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Axel Hotel Berlin
Axel Hotel Berlin
#186 of 635 in Berlin
1,677 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#96 of 635 in Berlin
657 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#3 of 191 in Berlin
352 reviews
Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
#6 of 191 in Berlin
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ArtHotel Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ArtHotel Connection

Address: Fuggerstr. 33, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ArtHotel Connection 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gay-hotel in Berlin with nice stylish rooms. In the building is gay-club and bar where our guests have free entry. Of course we are hetero friendly, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ArtHotel Connection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Connection Berlin
Arthotel Connection Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing