We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of Charlottenburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Ranked #77 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Ratingen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In the middle of Charlottenburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a very stylish hotel with extremly friendly staff- a good cocktailbar and most of Charlottenburg actration easy to reach, less than 100m from Kurfürsten Damm. Only sad point it was a very hot weekend and the hotel has no a/c.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    311
    92
    23
    10
See reviews for
93
253
64
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

group of 12 males on 3 night stag break. They arrived 5 hours late due to flight delay hotel was organized and accommodating . Clean comfortable rooms helpful friendly staff. Great location. only downside no air-con but asked to rent a fan, one was delivered to room within 5 minutes and no charge. Would recommend

Room Tip: All rooms are different we had 6 all were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BERYLMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Beautiful hotel , helpful staff. Indoor smoking bar with a large cigar room for the cigar fans . The hotel is like a throw back to the roaring sixties, plenty of stainless steel and marble in the bathroom and an expresso machine in the bedroom. Its quite beautiful with a huge and impressive breakfast . My only gripe is that a double room will often have continental style double beds , i.e two doubles pushed together and separate quilts for each person in the bed. I learned afterward you could specifically request a room with a king or queen sized . This said if your other half is like a furnace in bed at night you can strategically place the gap between the two of you and keep cool while blaming the hotel for your sleeping gap

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obbjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have often stayed at the Savoy as it is comfortable and close to friends who live in the neighbourhood. The quality of rooms probably is dependent on the rate you pay and some, including the one I stayed in over the weekend, 24-6 May, are in need of refurbishment. It was on the sixth floor and very quiet, but the decorative scheme was dated (pastel 1970s/80s?), the bathroom under-lit and the bathtub sides so high, an elderly person would have had problems getting in and out safely. Provision of toilet accessories, towels and coat-hangers was minimal - small economies which could easily be righted to give a more welcoming level of service. The moment which really made me doubt whether I would stay at the Savoy again occurred at the reception desk when I was checking out at 10.30am on Sunday. There was a young man behind the desk dealing with guests who was visibly chewing gum. I was shocked by his lack of manners and ever more by the fact that nobody in senior management had told him this is not acceptable behaviour. So my message is, pull your socks up, Savoy! There are many hotels to choose from in Berlin and if you want repeat custom, you should not be so complacent about the way you run yours.

Room Tip: May sure you get a refurbished room. Rooms at the back (not on Fasanenstrasse) are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laputaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear laputa1,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at the Savoy Hotel Berlin. We really appreciate your criticism and comments, especially coming from a regular.

We are sorry to read, that you have an impression of us being complacent about the way we run the Savoy. Our team is working very hard everyday on satisfying our guests beyond expectations. Chewing gum is definitely infringing our service standards. The management does not accept this kind of behaviour, nor do our colleagues. Our standards were discussed with the colleague, who is still a trainee.

The management is already planning for the renovation of some older rooms on the 6th floor. For your next stay, we noted to accommodate you in a different room with recently renovated bathrooms.

We very much hope, that you choose the Savoy again on your next visit to Berlin. Our team is eager to make you feel comfortable, without hesitation.

Kind regards.

Your Savoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulwich Hill
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

After searching for a hotel in Berlin I stumbled across the Savoy Hotel Berlin and I am very happy I did.

I read in other reviews about the suites and decided to book one not knowing how over the top they are. Our suite, Henry Miller (511), was a nice interpretation of the Art Deco style that had gone just enough over the top to be fun but had not become tacky and touristy.

The room with the separate bed area, lounge and writing desk were very nice. The bathroom was large but the bath dissected the room which did mean that you had to cover quite some distance to go from one side to the other. There are some signs of wear and tear in the room (damage to wallpaper, marks and holes in furnishings) but don't let this put you off, it adds to the feel of the room. Dare I say a little Salloy Bowles?!

The breakfast was excellent as was the service throughout the hotel. Yes there is a smoking lounge which specialises in cigars but it just adds to the whole 1920s feel. If you are so sensitive to the cigar smell: don't stay here but otherwise it's a piece of classic hotel room with the service to match.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OtherIan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

My biggest surprise was only the top floor is air-conditioned; this was not disclosed in any of the info I got. That's not really acceptable for a supposed 4-star hotel. Berlin can be hot May-September, I was there early May, and I had to leave my windows wide open all the time. On the front it is rather noisy, on the back you get afternoon sun. So be aware of this. On the plus side, they offer some pretty good deals for such a hotel. The location is great, the public areas are renovated and elegant.
I think the complaints about the cigar lounge are overdone (like most complaints about smoking these days). I never smelled it in the two rooms I had.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairns T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

A nice hotel in central Berlin. The style is a bit like the 1920s. The rooms are above standard. The breakfast was excellent, but it was not included in the overnight price, which I prefere.
There is a sigar- bar on the ground floor. My room was above the bar and smell of smoke came next morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moe045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#86 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#20 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#71 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Charlottenburg
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Property: Savoy Hotel Berlin
Address: Fasanenstr. 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#86 Business Hotel in Berlin
#106 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#132 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp and Prestigia so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing