We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfy”
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Ranked #73 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Canvey, null, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very Comfy”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

we have now stayed at this hotel twice, to start with the location is excelent as it is just around the corner are the U and S bahn's
The hotel is lovely and clean and the concierge friendly and efficient, the rooms have plenty of space.
The breakfast is very good but rather pricey at 19 Euro
There are plenty of local very good restaurants and a wonderful theatre across the road.
The lobby, reception and lift area unfortunately smell very strongly with smoke which is due to the cigar room attached to reception

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B, Front Office Manager at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Andy P.,

Thanks a lot for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Savoy Hotel Berlin once again. We would like to apologize for the smell of smoke at our reception area. As you said, the famous cigar bar, The Times Bar Berlin, is directly connected to our hotel lobby. Unfortunately, during your stay, cigar smoke got into the hallway. We try to keep the door to the bar always closed and there is also a strong ventilation and three air intake filters installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odour. Furthermore, we are currently improving the ventilation system.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at the Savoy Hotel Berlin.

Best regards,
The Savoy Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    374
    109
    28
    10
See reviews for
112
322
78
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and grandmother and we were all happy with the experience.

The breakfast buffet is plentiful and varied, catering to many tastes.

The location is great, though most of the restaurants and shops in the surrounding area are on the pricey side.

The rooms are clean and the staff are helpful. My only complaint would be that while we had only a bath with a shower head, my grandmother only had a walk in shower. Water pressure was good but it sometimes fluctuated in temperature.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Smash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in October 2013.
First and foremost-it was filled with the smell of tobacco. The smell was everywhere- lobby, corridor and most disturbingly, in my room, which was filled with chick-looking but smelly furniture and smelly rugs.
Otherwise-nothing really special, I stayed in the 3-star hotel the next two days, and it was much better, cleaner and overall more satisfactory than the stay in the 4-star Savoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatkra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had a quiet room facing the back of the hotel. My room was somewhat non-descript but had a nice bathroom. It is well located hotel for shopping and also for jogging in the Tiergarten which is only a few minutes jog away and there are a lot of restaurants close by. Transport links are also good. There is a cigar bar which is good or bad depending on your point of view but the smell does permeate the lobby. There isn't really much reflecting the history of the hotel or the famous people who have stayed there in its past. The best thing was the lovely breakfasts in the spacious red walled restaurant. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would probably stay again if I am back in Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pappino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed from sept 25 to sept 30. Arrived late from Wien by air. It is conveniently ubicated but unfortunately the hotel is not very comfortable. The bed is old, the room had very bad temperature, if the central heating was rurned on !we needed to open the window to avoid being soffocated.!! The cigar odor in rooms was very strong, the cigar room should have had something to isolate the odor. Not just a door. The personnel was kind. Very near to the main street, K daam.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolph2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Rudolph2011

Thank you for the review of your stay at the Savoy Hotel Berlin.

Please accept our apologies for the uncomfortable temperature in your room. The heaters in our rooms are equipped with controllable thermostats that allow our guests to regulate the temperature individually. Once the heater is powered to maximum temperature, it takes a while for the cast iron heaters to cool down again.

The Times Bar Berlin at the Savoy Hotel is a cigar bar with a walk-in humidor. The Times Bar has a connecting door to the hotel. There is also a strong ventilation and 3 air intake filter installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odour. Sometimes though, cigar smoke gets into the hallway of the hotel.

For your next Berlin visit, please contact us again and we will find an arrangement for your satisfaction.

Best Regards
Your Savoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed there for four nights at the end of October and what a delight, I am almost reluctant to post a review as I would prefer to keep this hidden gem a secret. We arrived early and as anticipated the room was not yet ready, the helpful reception staff took our luggage and told us it would be a couple of hours. We retired to the bar and within the hour we were told that our room was ready. We got to the room only to discover it was not a smoking room, back at reception we were immediately allocated a smoking room. It was at the back of the hotel so there were no issues with noise, large room and bathroom, very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price, what a feast, really enjoyed a couple of glasses of sekt before going exploring. Did not eat in the restaurant, other than breakfast, there is no need as there are dozens of wonderful restaurants, in all price ranges within walking distance..

Great location, a five minute walk to Zoo station.

The staff were all wonderful, friendly, helpful and all spoke excellent English. As smokers the cigar bar was a fantastic bonus.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taragh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice hotel in the High End Shopping area . Tons of restaurants in the area as well as transportation center about 5 min walking away. Restaurant in the Hotel is expensive. Staff are helpful and understand English. Nice room on front with a small balcony. Not much of a view and is subject to the noise of trains brakes especially in the early morning (4:30 on when it woke me up). Probable a more quiet room in the back would help sleep. Parking available just down the street that they have a deal with for 2€ less than the regular rate . Complimentary bottle of water provided. Grocery stores are close in area so wine and beer as well are available at good prices. Great towels but only a shower in the room. Love the duvets on the comfy beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#82 of 634 in Berlin
657 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,846 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hollywood Media Hotel
Hollywood Media Hotel
#72 of 634 in Berlin
793 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#17 of 634 in Berlin
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Property: Savoy Hotel Berlin
Address: Fasanenstr. 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#86 Business Hotel in Berlin
#106 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#132 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing