We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cigar suprised me”
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Ranked #69 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cigar suprised me”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel has a good location.
Check-in was professional and fast
Check-out similar, (they overcharged the parking fees, but it was adjusted)
Room not bad, but shows its age.
You have to visit the cigar bar on the ground floor, if you like that sort of thing. Large selection of cigars and good service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    346
    99
    25
    10
See reviews for
106
292
73
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taby, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my fourth stay at Savoy. I really enjoy the clean rooms and service minded personell. The cigar bar next to the hotel is super, if you enjoy that kind of thing. Otherwise you might not like the smell of cigars in almost all parts of the hotel. The surroundings are perfect with everything you need in an armlengths distance (Banhof Zoo, Ku-damm, Berliner Kafferösterei, KDW and more). You get a lot of hotel for a relatively small amount of money. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

First of all, if the smell of cigars is a negative for you don't go here. Otherwise, I love this place. I have stayed here around four times and every person who works here is a top notch person. People genuinely seem to like working here and they give a high level of service. Savoy serves mostly European business travelers from my perspective.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostmywalletagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I took my husband to berlin this week for his 60th birthday and stayed at the Savoy. we were very well looked after. I paid for half board and was not disappointed. Superior room spacious. nothing too much trouble for waiters/waitresses. large and varied selection for breakfast. plenty of restaurants to eat by hotel. Hotel is in a central position for all attractions. 5 minute walk from station and Zoo. Take the airport express from schonefeld airport for 3.20 euros takes 35 mins. Recommend the sightseeing bus for 1 day to get your bearings it only takes five mins to walk 2 blocks from hotel to board. used the public transport or walked for rest of trip. if you like shopping there are plenty of shops. do not miss the view from television tower over the whole city.

Room Tip: choose a room on the road side of hotel not inside looking over court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After staying in hostels for 3 weeks this place was a palace. Very comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and lovely staff! I was actually here in 2010 not 2013 but it wouldn't let me go back that far. Just getting around to reviewing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katfwhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here with a group of 15 cigar smokers and golfers. I have been reading reviews and seen lot of complaints concerning cigar smell. From our point of view the cigar lounge was not a problem; yes you can feel a smell of cigars at reception. But elsewhere I could not find any smell.
I had a wonderful singleroom deluxe with small area for sitting. The decorations were little bit old but somehow it was the case here - Savoy has a long history and I felt good in this atmosphere. If you want clear scandinavian style this hotel is not for you. However the room was very clean and well equipped to my needs. Windows faced the Fasanenstrasse, but I did not hear any noise of traffic- so insulation in windows was just fine.
Breakfast was enormous with huge selection of items. It's not cheap, but I felt it was definitely value for money. Of course one can get cheaper breakfast somewhere else, but not this level of selection.
Of you are interested in shopping, hotel is just few blocks from Ku'damm. And we found lots of good eating in the neighborhood as well.
Service in reception was excellent. Example - I needed to iron my shirt and all the stuff were in my room in just few minutes after asking for it. Good work and attitude!
Booked my room well in advance from hotels.com and got a great price 72 euros pn. So if you are not allergic to cigars, go for Savoy. You can feel something priceless from the past!

Room Tip: Take a superior room and you have plenty of space even in single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ripatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

we have now stayed at this hotel twice, to start with the location is excelent as it is just around the corner are the U and S bahn's
The hotel is lovely and clean and the concierge friendly and efficient, the rooms have plenty of space.
The breakfast is very good but rather pricey at 19 Euro
There are plenty of local very good restaurants and a wonderful theatre across the road.
The lobby, reception and lift area unfortunately smell very strongly with smoke which is due to the cigar room attached to reception

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B, Front Office Manager at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Andy P.,

Thanks a lot for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Savoy Hotel Berlin once again. We would like to apologize for the smell of smoke at our reception area. As you said, the famous cigar bar, The Times Bar Berlin, is directly connected to our hotel lobby. Unfortunately, during your stay, cigar smoke got into the hallway. We try to keep the door to the bar always closed and there is also a strong ventilation and three air intake filters installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odour. Furthermore, we are currently improving the ventilation system.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at the Savoy Hotel Berlin.

Best regards,
The Savoy Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#104 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#20 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#78 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Charlottenburg
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Property: Savoy Hotel Berlin
Address: Fasanenstr. 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Berlin
#91 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#106 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#132 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing