We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough for a few nights stay”
Review of Hotel De Ela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Ela
Ranked #584 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice enough for a few nights stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel de Ela is a nice hotel, if you are only staying a few nights (we stayed 4). We were given a room on the ground floor, which was very spacious. Tv was unwatchable, terrible reception. Very sheer curtain which could bother people who like to sleep in. External bathroom was nice and clean, but inconvenient when you had to go to the loo in the middle of the night! Very basic facilities, no fridge in room and really horrible pillows - we both had to put jackets underneath them for support. Hotel is in pretty good location. Reception staff were great, ESP the male who works later in the day, spoke perfect English. Overall a fairly good experience, but would I stay there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    12
    17
    17
See reviews for
13
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were four people staying at this hotel. We were given a room on the second floor. The room was an old world feeling and large windows with sunlight. For the night we closed the shades and no problem to sleep. The bathroom was kind of small but OK. We loved the place because we felt relax and like if we were home. We stayed here a week. The staff was very polite and helpful. The breakfast room was small but the attendants were very nice. Food was good.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the street but it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location, but that's kinda the end of the positive things. No air conditioning, no bathroom in your room, no blinds to keep the sun out of your face in the morning, and don't be fooled by the many reviews saying that there is "free breakfast", because its definitely not free. Its 7.65 Euros for the cheapest looking spread of crap I've ever seen. If I would have been warned early on, I wouldn't have fallen for this trap and had a decent breakfast next door at the local bakery.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 89bobbyz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I was afraid of staying in this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but the hotel is great (and cheap!). I stayed in triple comfort room and the room was facing the street, but it didn't bother me (but it might disturb light sleepers). The room was clean, bed was nice and bathroom/WC was clean and modern. I also liked breakfast- it doesn't have many choices, but if you want a luxourius breakfast, then you should pay accordingly :). Also. the U-bahn station (Viktoria-Luise) is close (appr. 200 m)(U- and S-bahn system is very comfortable and simple) and several clothing and grocery stores (Kaiser's, H&M, Orsay, Bershka etc) are within the walking distance. Definitely recommend this hotel! (Also, Wi-Fi connection was very good, free Wi-Fi is a rare thing in Berlin :) )

Room Tip: Light sleepers should choose a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsirkP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Everything I wanted for a short stay at a very affordable price: big and nicely decorated room, very quiet at night (my room was facing the hotel’s backyard, second floor), comfortable bed, fresh linen and extra pillows, wi-fi Internet, everything worked just fine in my room, reasonable breakfast. I am satisfied. Importantly, very nice and welcoming personnl. The hotel is located close to U-bahn entrance.

Room Tip: I recomend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hotel is an good location to travel inside Berlin’s central areas as well as for connecting to Tegel and Shonefeld airport, and in general it is a good value for the money. Extra large room, good bath room and healthy breakfast, keeping in mind the really budget room rate we paid. Even though the hotel is situated in central Berlin it is actually just off the main streets and stays quiet which is great. The rooms were warm and homey... Complementary Wi-Fi was a good add-on. Me and my girl friend liked it. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamintaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Bento do Sul, SC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I definitely do not recommend this hotel, there are better options around. The internet is NOT working, bad mattress and pillows worse. Terrible smell of dust. And the elevator is horrible and outdated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanielRandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
City Gallery Berlin Hotel
#350 of 634 in Berlin
83 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Ansbach
Hotel Ansbach
#565 of 634 in Berlin
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Hotel Berlin
#512 of 634 in Berlin
65 reviews
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#267 of 634 in Berlin
167 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Ela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Ela

Property: Hotel De Ela
Address: Landshuter Str. 1, 10779 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #584 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Ela 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Ela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing