We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never NEVER! go here”
Review of Hotel De Ela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Ela
Ranked #584 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never NEVER! go here”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Do not EVER go here. We booked and pay this hotel for 1 night, but we had some train delay for 1 hour. And we arive at 22.30 en we stood for a closed hotel. (Every hotel I went are 24/7 open what you can expect from a 3 star hotel)And when i called the number nobody pickes up, so I left a voicemail. So instead of sleeping on the streets he had to take a expensive hotel because others were full. In the morning we went to aks them wat happend. They respond very rude ,and they say that we were to late to check in last night and we lost the money. And its our fault. But is wasnt clear in the asigment. Then we aked if we could transfer the booking for an other night. But they said no, we have to pay again for it. So then we asked if we could use the wifi to look for another hotel or options (because we dont wat to stay there any longer) and they said no.... for custumers only.....


WTF???? THEY STEAL OUR MONEY!
Plus we had to book another expensive hotel. We lost our buget for berlin. And we had to go home. They ruined our visit to berlin. For me this is the badest hotel in my life. NEVER EVER GO HERE!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Meyo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    12
    17
    17
See reviews for
13
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to the Hotel in July 2014. The room was big enough but was shaking when we walked in the room. The TV was not working and the staff did not want to do anything at 10 p.m. The bathroom was clean and old.
The next day my wife needed to breast feed our 3 month baby around checkout time around 11 am. We asked for some time but they came back after 10 minutes and insisted we leave. There was an argument and a very big Russian guy came and demanded that we leave immediately. Soon after that they said that they were calling police. And all this because we were about 25 minutes delayed for the checkout.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself looks nothing like the photos. It's really old and smells musty. There is a partition wall between the bedrooms so you can actually hear next door as there is an an inch gap. The pump in the bathroom is so loud and annoying. My main issue was with the woman on the main desk with blonde hair. I found her really patronising and irritating. We went to do our laundry and then hung our clothes around our room. We came back to find they had been taken down and were sitting in a damp pile on the chair. We had a note saying 'please come to reception'. We go down and we actually get TOLD OFF for hanging our clothes around to dry and then we are told we will have a room inspection before we are allowed to check out. I felt like a naughty school child and what a ridiculous rule! She made us feel really unwelcome. Good thing about the hotel is the area that's it's really.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Hcoops91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel with our German language beginner’s class of 17 year olds and already sensed a certain skepticism towards this age group from the receptionist upon arrival. The Russian staff at the reception spoke English and German well enough to make simple conversation, but not well enough to clarify misunderstandings. The receptionist seemed perpetually annoyed and referred to the students as «die Kinder» (the children) -accusing them of noise they were not responsible for, among many other things.




Its worth mentioning that the furniture at Hotel de Ela is of the cheapest kind and not suitable for a hotel. Another reviewer on TripAdvisor said that the stability of the beds was questionable. We also noticed this: when a small piece of the bed broke off, we were told to pick up the bill!

Don’t be fooled by the images on the hotel website! I have attached some photos from our visit, one of which is of the ”rocking chair” in my hotel room, it will probably also fall apart soon. Which guest might have to pick up the bill?




Finally, the breakfast at the hotel was highly over priced costing 7.92 € per day. You`ll find several much better breakfast options just around the corner.




So what`s good about this hotel? The hotel building is over one hundred years old and has a beautiful fascade and staircase and the location is great!




However, the bad parts vastly outnumber the good ones and I will not visit this hotel again. Most importantly, if you travel with youth, you are better of looking for accommodation elsewhere, - otherwise your stay can get quite expensive!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarinBoerufsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is located in a very pleasant part of Berlin. The main problem I had with this hotel is the poor customer service. The staff working at the reception desk was rude and not helpful. All in all although rooms are good value for money but the people who run the place have no idea how to make their guests feel welcome. Therefore will never recommend this place and will never come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel de Ela is a nice hotel, if you are only staying a few nights (we stayed 4). We were given a room on the ground floor, which was very spacious. Tv was unwatchable, terrible reception. Very sheer curtain which could bother people who like to sleep in. External bathroom was nice and clean, but inconvenient when you had to go to the loo in the middle of the night! Very basic facilities, no fridge in room and really horrible pillows - we both had to put jackets underneath them for support. Hotel is in pretty good location. Reception staff were great, ESP the male who works later in the day, spoke perfect English. Overall a fairly good experience, but would I stay there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were four people staying at this hotel. We were given a room on the second floor. The room was an old world feeling and large windows with sunlight. For the night we closed the shades and no problem to sleep. The bathroom was kind of small but OK. We loved the place because we felt relax and like if we were home. We stayed here a week. The staff was very polite and helpful. The breakfast room was small but the attendants were very nice. Food was good.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the street but it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Arta Lenz Hotel
#571 of 634 in Berlin
96 reviews
Atrium Hotel Berlin
#511 of 634 in Berlin
65 reviews
City Gallery Berlin Hotel
#355 of 634 in Berlin
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Ansbach
Hotel Ansbach
#565 of 634 in Berlin
114 reviews
Hotel Bellevue Berlin
#561 of 634 in Berlin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Ela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Ela

Property: Hotel De Ela
Address: Landshuter Str. 1, 10779 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #584 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Ela 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Ela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing