We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent economy hotel”
Review of Hotel Park Consul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Park Consul
Ranked #324 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent economy hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed the third time, during a tradeshow, basic rooms, bit aged (furniture & carpet), tiny bathroom, thin duvet (if you can call it that). Staff are friendly, breakfast buffet is basic but hearty with German dark bread, cold cuts, boiled eggs alongside yoghurt and juice. I'll rather spend 30-40 Euros more in future to stay in a newer, less used hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieLuLu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    56
    26
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
41
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gutersloh
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

This was a return visit to Berlin for me after an absence of 30 years. We stayed in the golden tulip in Moabite. One of the few hotels we could find that had secure parking and within our price band. Moabite is a fairly run down area of Berlin and is located to the top of the tiergarten. The room was of a good size for a city hotel, clean, tidy and in good condition. Judging by the number of people at breakfast I assume the hotel didn't have many guests, which is a shame, despite the area the hotel is quite pleasant. Breakfast was very good and certainly up there with some better hotels that we have stayed in. Berlin is an excellent city to explore on foot, albeit extremely tiring. We were there for 4 days and as usual over planned what we wanted to see. Good excuse to go again. Would I stay at the same hotel, probably not, because of the area, which is a shame as the hotel deserves better.
The changes to the city are phenomenal and what was East Berlin has become the new west. Resaurants, hotels, shops all of the highest standard and easily out shining the old west. The ku-dam is now looking tired and jaded although the Ka-De-We still shines out with its high quality goods.
All in all a good time!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hairy-cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. the place is very run down. The car park looked like something out of a horror movie. Reception staff were friendly but gave you the feeling you were not to be trusted, as you had to pay up front. Facilities are poor and the room was very run down with a bed that was obviously past its best. To get evening food you need to brave the main sreet outside which has a ghetto feel and was littered with drunks just outside the entry door.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here on night for business because of the price and location. Rooms were big, and the hotel was quiet. (I even had a street side rom, but since it was cold, the window stayed closed. But you are in a big city, so even with the window open, one gets noise when staying in a city.) The bathroom could have been cleaner, but it was ok. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was fine, although I've had better at cheaper hotels. Wifi in rooms was strong, fast and cheap (5€ for 24 hours). The bed was super comfortable. Parking is a bit weird, as you have to ring a bell to get into the garage... but you have to park your car blocking foot traffic to do so.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed here with my family for the last night of a trip in several cities. Because of the timing, I just needed a place close to Tegel to sleep before getting up early for a flight. The staff was very helpful, efficient, polite, and bi-lingual. The lobby design is poor, which is to say, there is no lobby, but a "reception" area up one flight of stairs off the street. The rooms were big enough and clean. On the downside, there is no business center to print off boarding passes, etc. The staff helped by sending me to an internet cafe next door, which got the job done, but wasn't something I felt like I wanted to do at midnight. The neighborhood is marginal. I wound up dealing with a beggar out front asking "just 30 cents to buy beer". In retrospect maybe I should have given him the 30 cents and followed him to where he was buying beer that cheap, but probably not. Also, our room fronted the street and we did have a lot of street noise, so take heed in asking for a room in the back.

Room Tip: Park side rooms have to be quieter. I had older teen children, but I'm not sure I'd stay he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have stayed at the Park consul hotel on a regular basis. All the hotel staff are helpful and friendly and carry out their duties in a professional efficient manner.The breakfast room is modern and the buffet breakfast is of a high standard providing all the food a guest could expect. The refurbished rooms are well equipped and include a Safe and a Fridge. The new flat screen Televisions are easy to operate and have BBC and CNN channels. The rooms are also clean and have well equipped bathrooms. The reception staff are always on hand to answer any queries and do so in a friendly helpful manner. The transport links are good as the Tegel Airport bus stops outside the hotel and the Underground Station and ticket office is close to the hotel The Supermarket is next to the hotel. The outside area can be a bit scruffy at times.

Room Tip: It is best to book a room at the rear over looking the Park as they are quiet and away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Good value hotel within easy reach of Tegel airport and the centre of Berlin. We stayed in one of the slightly more expensive Park rooms which overlook the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The extra cost proved to be well worthwhile as the room was wonderfully peaceful - had absolutely no problems getting to sleep.

Excellent buffet breakfast each morning amongst what appeared to be a largely German clientele. Praise also for the staff at the reception desk who proved to be very helpful.

The only thing I would add is that I'd avoid walking around the park (Kleine Tiergarten) directly opposite the Hotel as it seems to have become a bit of a hangout for local drunks. If you're looking for an evening stroll, you'd do better IMO to head south towards the river.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the (superior) Park rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Apple City Hotel
Apple City Hotel
#301 of 634 in Berlin
135 reviews
Moabit
Hotel Tiergarten
Hotel Tiergarten
#169 of 634 in Berlin
279 reviews
Moabit
GOLD INN Adrema Hotel
GOLD INN Adrema Hotel
#235 of 634 in Berlin
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
GOLD INN Alfa Hotel
GOLD INN Alfa Hotel
#247 of 634 in Berlin
152 reviews
Mitte
ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater
Moabit
ABION Villa
ABION Villa
#266 of 634 in Berlin
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Consul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Consul

Property: Hotel Park Consul
Address: Alt-Moabit 86A, 10555 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Golden Tulip Park Consul Hotel)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Park Consul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Park Consul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Berlin
Berlin Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing