We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Ranked #85 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We were forced to stay one night in this hotel as our flight home was delayed, and it was the airline choice.
Surprisingly, though the hotel is huge, they could not find a double-bed room for us - only one with twin beds. After we tried to insist, we were given a room on the 1st floor with terrible smell of humidity and mold. Never seen (smelled) such condition even in a 2-star hotel. So, we compromised for a twin room on the 5th floor, which was reasonable. The room was small, but good enough for 2.
Overpriced Internet with reasonable quality.
Good breakfast.
Public transportation is a bit far away - have to reach the main street and find yourself right in the middle between 2 bus stops.
There are better value hotels in Berlin and even in that neighborhood.

Room Tip: Avoid the 1st floor which seems to have old smelly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear G9508,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am happy you found the breakfast served during your visit to be at par with expectations. I regret however the inconvenience you may have had with the condition of your room. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Friendly and quick reception, very helpful. The consergior is excelent! Rooms Old, realy could need serious refurbish. Bathroom not good at all. AC not working, had to sleep With window open. One day we had to wait 20 minutes for a free table at breakfast. Not acceptable at all. Food is okey, but could nede more People to clean up and er-fill the food. Fridag evening lobby bar closed due to a privat party. The substitution in the lobby cafe-bar was a very bad ide. No drinks, and the wine selection was just a bad joke. This was a big disapoinment. Saturday night the hotel restaurant was full. The only help we got to find another restaurant was to trye internet. Is that service? Sorry, but next time in Berlin we will go for some other hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up, if you need to sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oslo_NorwayKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albeck-Zehden, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Please accept our apologies for the experience you have made at our hotel in a very heavily frequented period of time.
Together with the supervisors of the departments involved we have already decided on appropriate measures to ensure that the incidents you have described will not be repeated in the future.
We also regret that you could not enjoy the Saturday evening in our restaurant as this evening was already fully booked. Our restaurant serving the American classic Prime Rib is unique in Berlin and therefore particularly popular among both, hotel guests and locals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Very good location and extremely corteous and friendly staff, Rooms are small and somewhat dated but they have tiresd to make the best of it with good matresses, pillows and bathroom amenities. However I had expected a larger room. The public areas are great - however, prices extremely hugh and definitely aimed at business and not at leidure guests, Prices in restaurant the highest I have sen in Berlin, so I went elsewhere to eat.
Swimming pool in basement is a farily old-fashioned way of placing it - most morden hotels have it at the top with w view. But if you want a hotel where the staff have set their heart on guest relations - you have come to the right place

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor_Linhart, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience,
kind regards,
Gregor Linhart
Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a superior room with breakfast included. I chose the hotel for its central location, fitness facilities and pool. Unfortunately, the pool was out of use for the whole of our stay. The room was fine, with a controllable heating system.The location is very central, perfect for shopping and sightseeing, either on foot or using the underground station close by. Staff at reception are very friendly and courteous. There was a consierge who helped with day trips and offered advice with directions etc. You could also make reservations for local restaurants through the hotel. The on-site restaurant, Wilsons, is extremely over-priced. Breakfast was good, with a choice of hot and cold food, served til 10.30 each day. No tea though, just herbal infusions and coffee. The prices at the bar were about average for a 4 star hotel, however, we did pay 11 euros each for irish coffee, which I thought was steep. We had a great break and I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: I have read reviews from other travellers who claim that their rooms have been on the small side. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor_Linhart, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience,
kind regards,
Gregor Linhart
Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Location is great, just 200 meters away from the Kudam, very central in west berlin

Rooms are clean, very standard, like in almost every Crowne Plazza. Bathroom are clean and comfortable

The hotel facilities are rather limited, but they have an indoor parking facilitating your stay there in case you drive to Berlin (but in general you should avoid to have a car in the town) Despite my Platinium Royal Ambassador status I didnt get a lot of upgrades, but I remain faitful to this venue, due to its location, and comfort of the rooms, and good attitude of the staff.

Ask for a room on the back of the hotel if you want 100% quiteness, but the Nuernberger St isnt that noisy at night anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel if you want 100% quiet, but the Nuernberger Strasse isnt tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear FFM9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Checkin was fast and friendly and staff was helpful and most spoke English which was very helpful to me.

Room was on the smallish side but clean. Small flatscreen television (25 to 27inch would be my guess) with a decent selection of channels in multiple languages.

On the plus side the staff was professional and helpful at all times.

On the negative side there is no store or cafe on site or close by. The food was passable at best and they had very limited options for vegetarians (not surprising since the main hotel restaurant is a prime rib place) with 1 pasta dish on the menu. Everything felt dated and clausterphobic.

Frankly for the price I was expecting more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Jeff C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding customer service and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation for not having any convenient store and for the limited food selection. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The hotel was comfortable,warm and the room had an extra bed in for our son. The staff were attentive and friendly.
The only down side was that the restaurant was overpriced and the pool was out of order during our stay.
The location is excellent for sightseeing and transport access.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor_Linhart, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience,
kind regards,
Gregor Linhart
Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#37 of 634 in Berlin
720 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#34 of 634 in Berlin
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Address: Nuernberger Strasse 65, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#34 Family Hotel in Berlin
#67 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#72 Business Hotel in Berlin
#88 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £43 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church and the Zoological Garden. The Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre with 423 comfortably appointed rooms including 11 suites, provide all the comforts. Non smoking floors and accessible rooms as well as a 24-hour room service and a business center are also available.The wellness area in the Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre with indoor pool, sauna, solarium, extensive offers of massage and a fitness section with a wide variety of endurance and and weight-lifting machines are suited to accomodate guests needing to relax. The Wilson's restaurant with its international cuisine pampers the discerning gourmet with culinary delights. In the beer pub Pinte savoury regional dishes are served. The Kemmons Bar offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. 14 Meeting rooms including the conference center with natural lighting and an integrated ceiling height of 4,50m can accommodate functions up to 1.000 Delegates. W-LAN/High Speed Internet Access are available in all areas of the Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Berlin
Crowne Plaza City Center
Crowne Plaza Berlin
Hotel Crown Plaza Berlin
Crown Plaza Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing