We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inattentive/disorganized staff, weird room assignment policies.. (Platinum ICH)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Ranked #92 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Inattentive/disorganized staff, weird room assignment policies.. (Platinum ICH)”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I arrived early from an exhausting, 18 hour long flight from Canada and didn't expect my room to be ready, but a 5.5 hours wait was unacceptable. Other people were checking in/getting keys at the time. I was told to wait in the restaurant and paid for a full buffet but didn't really eat anything. Waited, waited. waited. No room. So, I started napping in the lobby. They decided to give me a "temporary room that wasn't the assigned upgraded suite," which, according to the front desk woman was "the only room they could give me because it was the assigned, upgrade." I told them I'd be happy with the smaller temporary room but they said no. Weird. The "temporary" room was directly across from my "assigned" (unavailable) room and saw the guest leave at 10am - I asked if I could get in there, but they said it needed to be cleaned....cut to 3:30PM (after normal check in time), I asked for a manager and he finally gave me the "assigned" room - but it was not the suite promised - it was EXACTLY the same as the "temporary" room that I had napped in across the hall!

Back to the lobby. The manager blamed it on the "new front desk person" who he said should not have promised me an upgraded suite, (that I had been forced to wait for, for 5.5 hours - but didn't get?). I became a squeeky wheel at that point. They did me the honor of (*sarcasm*) "rearranging" assigned rooms and put me in a regular room with a lock-off room attached that had a dining room table and couch in it (I guess what they call a "suite?"). Anyway, I never went in the lock-off room...

Room service meal never came. 1.5 hours after ordering they said that they "wrote down the wrong room number" and so didn't deliver it - laughing saying "we wondered where it was supposed to go!" hahahaha - very funny. They said their system didn't allow them to see which room called to order.

Other than the poor, disorganized, inattentive service (Platinum IHG/Ambassador didn't mean a darn thing), this was an average hotel, very 'airport hotel' feel in a way. If you have a choice, stay elsewhere.

Oh, and the lobby couches are comfortable to nap on ;)

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "suite" they are simply 2-room lock-offs that are made for famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear QualMod,

Thank you for being a IHG Rewards Club Platinum Elite Member. We apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We have sent you a private message with additional details regarding your review.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    995
    306
    72
    33
See reviews for
361
718
137
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a typical US-hotel in the middle of Berlin, only seconds from KaDeWe.
Everything is in brown,beige,green colours and the rooms are for the most alike standard rooms of app. 25m2

Service was very proffessional and friendly (English is of course standard)
We had a Junior suite which was two interconnecting standard rooms ,where the bed in room 1 was replaced by a sofa and a couple of chairs.
Bathroom (s) all alike but with shower inside the barthtub (very unpractical) and a standard too low u.s toilet.

Breakfast is amazing,but only to be taken if included in the rate

Wi-Fi does still come at an enourmous extra charge (2013) but should be made free in 2014

If you like a standard 4 star hotel very close to Kurfurstendamm shopping this is the right choise

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel the room was on the 7th floor where renovation work was taking place, however disturbance was kept to a minimum. The thing that let me down was that on the last night my wife ordered a dry martini & lemonade and was subsequently charged 8.50 euros for the dry martini and a further 2.50 euros for a dash of lemonade. Upon complaining the next morning when we checked out it was confirmed that the price was indeed correct, all my wife wanted was a drink at a reasonable price and not a feeling of being ripped off. This is unacceptable as the price could have bought a full bottle of martini and as a result we wont be rushing back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear markljones,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just returned from a five night stay in Berlin. Hotel is in a very central location close to the main shopping street and u-Bahn stations. There is also an excellent christmas market up the road. Room was very nice with all the amenities needed including tea and coffe making facilities and a safe. Beds were very comfortable with a good supply of pillows. Breakfast was very good and there was a lot choice and staff were very friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant one nights and the food was excellent if a little expensive. Overall a very good experience and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel9033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Good hotel near the Zoo and train station. Staff very friendly and helpful to me and colleagues - we only spoke English - so all the staff did too - very good.
Rooms very clean and tidy.
I found my room dark - personally I like light and airy - but that's me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segovia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just back from a three nights stay in Berlin. Very good location in the heart of the comercial area an very close to most of the main city atractions. The worst thing was that there wasn't free wifi as in the rest of the city. The room is confortable as supposed for a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerotero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear gerotero,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our location and accommodations were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the WIFI. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Looks quite unassuming from the outside but the inside is much nicer. Location is superb. Breakfast very good. The staff was real helpful and even upgraded me since i had arrived early and was only there for one night. Nice treat.

Room Tip: Get out and walk the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,872 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#56 of 634 in Berlin
906 reviews
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#29 of 634 in Berlin
2,431 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Property: Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Address: Nuernberger Strasse 65, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#46 Family Hotel in Berlin
#72 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#72 Business Hotel in Berlin
#88 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church and the Zoological Garden. The Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre with 423 comfortably appointed rooms including 11 suites, provide all the comforts. Non smoking floors and accessible rooms as well as a 24-hour room service and a business center are also available.The wellness area in the Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre with indoor pool, sauna, solarium, extensive offers of massage and a fitness section with a wide variety of endurance and and weight-lifting machines are suited to accomodate guests needing to relax. The Wilson's restaurant with its international cuisine pampers the discerning gourmet with culinary delights. In the beer pub Pinte savoury regional dishes are served. The Kemmons Bar offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. 14 Meeting rooms including the conference center with natural lighting and an integrated ceiling height of 4,50m can accommodate functions up to 1.000 Delegates. W-LAN/High Speed Internet Access are available in all areas of the Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Berlin
Crowne Plaza City Center
Crowne Plaza Berlin
Hotel Crown Plaza Berlin
Crown Plaza Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing