We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms, Service Hit and Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Ranked #200 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Positives - Clean, good transport links in heart of shopping district. Free WiFi
Negatives - staff and customer service let it down. No restaurant for evening meals. No shuttle bus as advertised.

I have spent a while thinking about what to write for this review to give a balance. We stayed 4 nights mid-week in September. Billed as an Art Hotel, I imagined it to be a bit boutiquey.
On arrival we found our room spacious and clean, with a big double bed. However, it was really funky smelling and we opened all the windows to air it. We were on the 1st floor immediately above the outside area on the back of the bar. This outside area looked like it had seen better days. We had a terrace of sorts (we couldn't access it) and wouldn't have wanted to as it was covered with weeds right to the window sills.
When I asked the receptionist if there were any good restaurants in the area, she said No and that I'd have to travel a couple of station stops to find one. This wasn't true. We went for a wander and there are any number of restaurants around the hotel. We ate 4 different places, and all were excellent.
The breakfast was good with typical meats, cheeses and cereals etc. However, on the second day they'd run out of sausages and croissants by 9am, so much for the Euro13 charge.
It took 2 days for a broken lightbulb to be replaced. At one point the repair man walked into the room unannounced. (Luckily we were just headed out the door and thus quite decent!). And then instead of a lightbulb, he installed a coffee machine? Without coffee, so I had to ask for lightbulbs and coffee on my next trip to reception.
The website also said the hotel had a shuttle bus. Again I asked the receptionist where it went and she said, We used to have one, but not any more. Oh, OK then
The staff in the breakfast area were very polite and helpful but the reception staff were hit and miss.
I got the impression, that this hotel had rather fallen on hard times, rather than being the fashionable hang out joint the website portrayed. I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well situated hotel for first time visitors. We paid for an upgrade and got a very spacious room over the back which meant it was quiet. Room had gowns, slippers, a coffee machine and a massive, proper double bed (I.e. not two singles slung together). Breakfast was what you would expect in Germany. Only downside was the receptionist's attitude when we asked for a late checkout. No, was the immediate reply without checking our room number or Club Carlsson status (gold). Her excuse was that had over 60 departures. I would have thought that would make a late checkout easier. She eventually gave in, checked the computer and grudgingly agreed to the late checkout.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good location in the heart of West Berlin. Close to public transport. Check in efficient. Paid to upgrade to a XL room and it was worth it.

Large airy room with king bed. Good sized bathroom. Good linens but towels a bit small.

Breakfast was continental and ok.

Room Tip: Choose or pay for a XL room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin10779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice hotel, bed was huge, great staff and superb location, there is a subway station literally a few steps away which was very convenient. Club across the road, we partied until late so not much of a bother but if you like to be in bed early you should request a room at the back. Will happily stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights, and was upgraded to a Business room. Property was very clean and had a good location. Breakfast would have been extra, but many people were enjoying it. The one thing that would have been better was if they had had a complimentary business center. They just had a paid one. A complimentary drink in the hotel bar was a nice touch. Can easily recommend this property.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Loved it!! Great room and close to all major connections (subway/transit) made getting around Berlin and to/from the airport easy!.. This hotel is also walking distance to many shops / restaurants on the K'Damm... .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southbeach79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left, we enjoyed staying in the hotel. The hotel is situated close to an underground station, bus stops and the 'Kudam' minutes away.
The staff are very friendly and efficient. The rooms are big enough, clean and quiet. Each room has its own mini-safe which is ideal. We stocked the minibar with our own drinks which is a lot cheaper.
We chose to stay there on the basis of bed-and-breakfast which was really worthwhile as there is an enormous choice.
Across the road there is a Greek restaurant with very reasonable prices and a number of other restaurants within a ten minute radius.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_Cromberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSchroedter, Manager at Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

dear patrick_cromberge, thank you for leaving the impression of your stay at tripadvisor. we are glad, that you enjoyed the services given and also the location of art'otel berlin kudamm. we are ongoing looking for the response of our clients because this helps us to improve our services and product further more. once again, thank you for your reservation and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

ralph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
art'otel berlin kudamm
#189 of 635 in Berlin
934 reviews
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#81 of 635 in Berlin
675 reviews
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#36 of 635 in Berlin
1,898 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Berlin Plaza Hotel
#291 of 635 in Berlin
478 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berliner Hof Hotel
Berliner Hof Hotel
#157 of 635 in Berlin
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm

Address: Joachimsthaler Str. 28 - 29, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Art'otel Berlin Kudamm)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £53 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Berlin's Joachimsthaler Strasse, Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm places guests at the heart of one of Europe's most inspiring cities. Iconic attractions such as the Berlin Zoological Garden, the Brandenburg Gate, the Bundestag and the KaDeWe department store are nearby, and the famous shopping street Kurfürstendamm is within walking distance. Culture vultures can immerse themselves in Berlin's plethora of galleries and museums, marvel at the modern architecture and soak up the wealth of live entertainment on offer. The hotel is also surrounded by examples of Berlin's rich history, including the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church and the famous former royal hunting grounds, the Tiergarten, home to the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. With 133 Double Rooms, Double Rooms with a courtyard view and Executive Rooms with a courtyard view, the hotel offers a combination of style, comfort and convenience. All rooms feature the latest in-room amenities such as air cooling, flatscreen TV and minibar, while free Wi-Fi enables guests to stay connected. The hotel's Bar Vostell is known for its cool décor, relaxing ambience and impeccably shaken cocktails, all of which can be accompanied by a variety of delicious snacks. The Garden Salon serves fresh buffet breakfast, the Garden Terrace is perfect for an al-fresco bite and in-room dining is available from 15:00 to 02:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Berlin Kudamm Hotel Berlin
Park Plaza Berlin
Berlin Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing