We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, good location, bad wifi, sorry coffee maker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Georghof Hotel Berlin
Ranked #439 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The room was cheap. Location is pretty good. S-bahn passes by near, didn't bother me.

Coffee maker was dirty. Bathroom and bed was clean. Check-in took a bit long, because of reception mistakes. The room was really cold, slept in my sweate. Very bad Internet. Very bad. Cleaning person walked in while I was in bed.

Overall, the place is cheap. Disorganized in many ways. But the location is not bad. 2/5

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drgk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Georghof Hotel Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel many times. but this time i was was a bit disappointed. I paid 90 Euros. Compare where i was stayed 1st night - Hilton, this hotel was cheap with no facilities. Breakfast was ok :) Staff helpful. Nearest station is Frankfurt Alle - easy to get Aleksandre platz, just 10 -15 min :)

This hotel i choose only because i had auction in Estrella hotel just 3 stops from hotel, also to get airport Schonefeld is fast, just 30 min :)

Shops facilities is limited, just one Shopping centre near by.

Hotel has buisness centre, room was clean, bathroom a bit small.. otherwise stay was wonderfull.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viks2009uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Was there for new year's weekend with friends. Rooms are very small, old and not clean. Doublebeds are too small for two people! The hostel is right next to the train line and you can hear it. I woul definitely not recommend this hotel, especially not for families.
People at the reception weren't nice.

Room Tip: Rooms for 2 are really small. Doublebeds are too small for 2 people.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoladr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

To begin, the room were given in the "hostel" was about 10ft by about 12ft for 3 people in single beds. There was nowhere to store our luggage or items so our items had to be strewn around.

Secondly, I have never in my life encountered staff who really did not care or know what customer service actually means. We complained 3 times about the fact our room was damp that spread further on the floor each day to the point when you walked on it you had to wear shoes otherwise it would soak through your socks. One particular member of staff was very rude. She kept saying "speak to the housemaster", "it's nothing to do with us" "there's nothing we can do" and then told us that the housemaster was waiting for us when in fact we had to wait about for them to turn up which they did not do.

We finally spoke to a member of staff who listened and on the 4th day she spoke to the manager who moved us from the room a cleaner, slightly better room that wasn't damp.

Lastly, there was a used condom still in the room we initially had hanging from the ceiling which had been there since before we checked in there.

This is not a hostel. There's no kitchen. No storage room. There's so many more better actual hostels in the area and I haven't ever felt the need to review a place (unless it was really good) but this place was infuriating.

The manager gave us 1/2 the money back for the time spent in the initial room which wasn't bad.

The initial bedroom we had, within hours of us being moved out, had been ripped apart by workers and the room was being heavily aired out which makes me think it was never fit for purpose in the first place.

Please avoid this hotel and "hostel".

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasickSausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

When you only care about price and relatively good connection to the city centre of Berlin, Georghof is for you. Apart from terrible noise coming from the train lines next to the windows, the hotel itself has rather limited comfort - baby-sized pillows, no A/C, no soap in the shower, no light in the shower and uncomfortable beds layout in the room. The staff was indifferent, not paying too much attention to the newly arrived guests.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there, take rooms at the street side and NOT at the railway side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

For a budget place this was quite close to everything we needed. At first was a bit worried about the location but it's a short ride to alexanderplatz and anywhere else you want to go.
The hotel itself is just old and needs a revamp rooms are ok size wise and you have wifi but there's an old smoke stench and we were in a non smoking room but you could smell it all throughout the place. We stayed here three nights and were only in the room to sleep so it was fine but if we were to return to Berlin we'd probably want to spend a bit more and get something nicer.

Thank Lpasci
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My brothers and I spent one night at the Hostel Georghof during our recent trip to Germany. We had no problems. Our flight was arriving at Schonefeld Airport late and I knew we probably wouldn't get to our hotel until around 23:30, so I wanted to book a room somewhere that had 24-hour reception, and Hostel Georghof did. We only needed a cheap place to stay one night, and that's what Hostel Georghof was. The rooms were simple, but the beds were clean and I had no trouble sleeping in them. We shared the bathrooms and showers with everyone else on the floor, but we didn't have to wait long. Our room was not facing the railroad tracks, and we didn't hear any trains coming by. The neighborhood looked a little bit dirty, but not bad. The Frankfurter Allee U-Bahn station is close to the hostel (the S-Bahn station is a little further, but not much). You have to leave a 30 Euro deposit for the key, but they give it back to you when you bring back the key at check out. The Hostel Georghof is everything it is supposed to be: a cheap place to stay with a clean bed and a warm shower. I got exactly what I expected from this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianfromorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#317 of 635 in Berlin
46 reviews
Friedrichshain
Best Western Hotel City Ost
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#197 of 635 in Berlin
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Juncker's Hotel Garni
#375 of 635 in Berlin
110 reviews
Friedrichshain
Hotel 26
Hotel 26
#334 of 635 in Berlin
51 reviews
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#278 of 635 in Berlin
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georghof Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georghof Hotel Berlin

Address: Guertelstr. 40- 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #439 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £75 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Georghof Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel in Berlin perfect for staying overnight whether for business or pleasure on vacation or any other reason for visiting berlin and its many congresses and attractions. With 60 single and double rooms very accomodating in the attractive style of 19th century Biedemeier. Located centrally in the Gürtelstrasse 41, 10247 Berlin, next to the Frankfurter Allee train station it is a short distance to the many attraction such as the brandenburger tor, the east side gallery or the berghain for party people. With a lift, wireless lan, hotel parking, fitness lounge, as well as a very complete breakfast buffet a stay at the Georghof Hotel is always a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georghof Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Georghof And Hostel
Berlin Georghof Hotel Berlin
Tulip Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing