We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building tired, staff great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Airport Hotel Berlin Tegel
Ranked #271 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having seen some of the reviews complaining about the staff at this hotel, I must have been exceptionally lucky on the two separate occasions that I stayed there this month. Far from being rude or unhelpful, everyone I came across (OK, only reception/chambermaids/bar/shuttle drivers, but still...) was pleasant, courteous and very willing to help.

True, the décor is a bit tired, bathrooms feeling their years, carpets no longer tip-top, towels not at their fluffiest and so on, but I couldn't fault the cleanliness, nor the comfortable beds. I slept on the second and the third floor, and had a very good night in both rooms. Bags of instant hot water, too, for reviving showers.

I can understand the sense in not carrying out major renovations to a hotel doomed by its location to stand empty when Tegel airport is no longer in use, but would have loved to see an electric kettle and a supply of coffee/tea in my room... I know this is an English goodie and not universal, but if Mercure Potsdam can do it, why not this one?

Thought 18 euros was a bit stiff for breakfast so didn't use the restaurant - although with free wifi and a free, on-demand shuttle to and from the airport, perhaps I was being a bit mean there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank jdesm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

No one will stay here once the new airport opens, so I don't blame Accor for not remodeling this place. Having said that, after the TA reviews, I was nervous, for no reason as it turned out. The staff were efficient but not overly friendly. The room was basic and the bathroom clean although the towels were thin. The carpet had some minor spots, not offensive. I did not find it noisy and enjoyed the pool view with the window open as the hotel is located in a woods. It would not have been far to walk but I would save my suitcase wheels. Not hard to find as signs are posted on the airport entrance road. Walk under the runway on the sidewalk and turn left at the first crosswalk, then past the filling station and into the woods. The pool looked inviting but the water was cool and I didn't fancy packing a wet swimsuit. We played cards in the empty lobby and found drinking water in the work-out room. I would have appreciated more English language TV but settled for BBC and CCTV (only news). We took a taxi to Restaurant Schlossgarten near Charlottenburg for dinner, was only a 12 Euro ride. The free airport shuttle was handy and quick (have the airport info desk call the hotel if you are inbound).

Room Tip: I found the pool side room quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

All the reviews below are, wow, accurate. This hotel is atrocious! It is not the property itself, but the staff... they are just inept and rude. At check in, we were given two drink vouchers and 10% off for food and drinks during our stay (Accor Platinum privilege). First negative, we wanted a booth table which hasn't been cleaned yet, and were told "YOU WILL have to wait." A proper response would be, "please have a seat while we clean the table." We don't have to do anything, and this is not a language problem. We just came from the Mercure in Munchen and I just wrote them a wonderful review! Next came the drinks. We had 2 beers at the bar before moving to the restaurant and we wanted to use the drink vouchers we were given. Apparently, you get a smaller beer with the vouchers at this Mercure, which we didn't know in advance and it is not specified on the vouchers. We were happy to pay, but got this lecture from the bar tender who said we were supposed to tell him we have vouchers. How were we supposed to know? Third, the server also didn't know about the Platinum privilege (10% off f&b) and keep insisting on a voucher and phoned the front desk (although we showed him the room key jacket clearly indicating the Platinum privilege). There was also massive confusion over transferring our bar tab to the restaurant. We have been in Germany for 10 days, and this is our third hotel, and is a "baddie." Management doesn't actually care, as you can see, they don't even bother responding to these reviews. We stayed here only because we have a mid morning flight, but it is not necessary at all. You might as well stay in the city and take a cab in for less than 20 Euros. Note: Positive ratings below only because we received an upgrade (because of Platinum status and not to make up for their inept) and can't comment on their standard rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edster1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As other reviewers have said, this is definitely not a four-star hotel. It's a very basic hotel with rude staff. Out of four 5 staff members we dealt with, only one was remotely nice. When we checked in, the clerk came over to check us in and then when I went to get my ID, she walked off to do some filing. Later I called the front desk to ask a question about the shower and the woman cut me off before I even asked the question. Her answer was not helpful but she just kept repeating the same thing.

Positives: It was clean and the staff agreed to hold our bags when we got there too early to check in. There is a shuttle to the airport.

Negatives: Incredibly uncomfortable beds, like sleeping on plywood. Run down rooms and generally a poorly lit, basic hotel. FAR away from public transportation, although you can take the shuttle to the airport and get public transportation from there. Rude staff.

I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writer_in_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here one night as we had an early flight out. This hotel is by no means 4 stars, it's equivalent to a Motel 6 in the states. When we checked in the clerk assured us it was a quiet room. We were so tired that we didn't notice we were on the airport side. Coupled with this, the A/C didn't work, the carpets were dirty, the bathrooms seriously outdated (shower curtains) and the hotel is run-down. Since it was raining, we decided to have dinner up at the hotel, bad decision. It was the only bad meal we had in our two-week stay in Europe and overpriced at that. Don't stay here' it is overpriced & disgusting.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is fine if you just want a place to sleep. It is close to the airport but still a reasonable walk with luggage or if the weather is poor. However there is a regular shuttle service.
It served it´s purpose but would not be one that I would stay in by choice again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwisteveandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Central-Hotel Tegel
#549 of 635 in Berlin
68 reviews
Days Inn Berlin West
#264 of 635 in Berlin
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spandau
Mercure Hotel Berlin City West
Hotel de France
#329 of 635 in Berlin
61 reviews
Hotel am Borsigturm
#208 of 635 in Berlin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Airport Hotel Berlin Tegel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Airport Hotel Berlin Tegel

Address: Kurt-Schumacher-Damm 202, 13405 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £109 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Airport Hotel Berlin Tegel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Airport Berlin Tegel 4* is located at Tegel Airport itself. Our 4 star hotel offers modern hospitality in a contemporary ambiance. Our 186 rooms are air-conditioned and soundproof. From 4:45 am to 11:45 pm, our free shuttle bus takes you directly to Tegel airport. Direct public transport to the city centre. The Berlin exhibition centre is 6 kilometres away. The hotel offers a restaurant, bar, 11 meeting rooms, sauna, fitness corner and an outdoor pool in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Airport Hotel Berlin Tegel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Airport Hotel Berlin Tegel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing