We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Ranked #196 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Love the location of this hotel and the quality of my sleeping time- nice bed.

The check in was not done on the right day, it was a day after; an email was dropped and the recptionist read a reply very quick- keeping the room for us, without cancellation.

It was a nice environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieFre, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Eulalia L.,

thank you very much for your great feedback.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Stefanie Frehse
Assistant Manager Costumer Care
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    288
    133
    31
    11
See reviews for
26
225
103
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We only stayed here one night but enjoyed our room. The room we had 401 was uniquely decorated and spacious. Bed very comfy and windows opened for fresh air. Centrally located in the gay district of Schoneberg with shops and bars close by

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieFre, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Todd F,

thank you for taking some time to give us a feedback on your recent stay in our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you liked the size of our rooms and location of our hotel.
We would be very happy if we can welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Stefanie Frehse
Assistant Manager Costumer Care
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel three years ago when it was under different management so I was a bit worried about going back. I should not have been. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was a bit crowded but not so much so that it was an issue. There is construction going on nearby by while we were there, the work did not start until mid-morning so it was not disruptive at all. The hotel's location makes it very convenient to shopping, touring, and nightlife. I know that there are some negative reviews posted here but I did not experience any of the issues that others have mentioned. This is not a 5 star hotel nor does it pretend to be. It is simply a good hotel that is reasonably priced. I will stay here again the next time I go to Berlin.

Room Tip: I guess you should ask for rooms away from the elevators if that really matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieFre, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Steve A.,

thank you very much for your great feedback - we really appreciate it!

We would like to say that it was a pleasure having you as our guest and hopefully many more times!

Best regards,

Stefanie Frehse
Assistant Manager Costumer Care
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A nice hotel in the middle of the gay
district Schöneberg.
The staff is pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast sensible.
A big minus for the window in the room with no view at all. The bedding was also no further. Winter rugs in the middle of hot summer and a single cushion that it could not be used!

Room Tip: The worst room you can get, they are on the first floor facing the inner courtyard. You get a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieFre, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Grizzly B.,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our property.

We value your comments. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Stefanie Frehse
Assistant Manager Costumer Care
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2,001 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,622 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was recommended by tourist information at Ku'Damm. We requested a gay friendly hotel in the heart of the gay district. The area is surprisingly quiet, the gay venues are 5 minutes walk away and are quite disctrete, so you will have no problem with noise. The staff were very friendly and gave us tips on things to see in Berlin, such as booking early for the Reichstag dome tours. The breakfast was filling, plus there's newspapers in a nice lounge area and internet access down the spiral staircase. The hotel room was large room with nice shower, very comfortable beds with loads of pillows. The double was two singles pushed together. There was an odd corner window which made the room a bit dark. Nearest U-Bahn is Nollendorfplatz.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieFre, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jolyon67,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marianne Skarupke
Assistant Manager Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

First visit to Berlin. Thought this hotel seemed a good option. The staff are very nice and helpful. But the rooms are absolutely tiny. We were overlooking the nosiest road ever, no air con so had to open window. Got no sleep. 2 single beds pushed together. Very uncomfortable! Location is far out from anything nice. Breakfast was not very nice either. Won't stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verenafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanieFre, Assistant Manager Customer Care at Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear verenafoster,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.
We are glad to hear that the friendliness of our staff was to your liking and are sad to hear that our facilities and location was not. Due to the history of Berlin, we have two city-centers. We are located near the Zoologischer Garten and Kurfürstendamm which can be reached within one underground-station. But you are right, the trip to the other city-center near Alexanderplatz takes approximately 20 minutes by public traffic.
All our rooms are equipped with modern soundproofing technology. We also have rooms facing the yard which are more quiet. Please do not hesitate to speak with our staff regarding your room-wishes if you book again. We can also recommend you our spacious privilege-category which even has air-conditioning for visits during warm months and would be happy to welcome you again if you give us the chance, so we can make your next visit in our wonderful city much more enjoyable.

With best regard

Marianne Skarupke
Assistant Manager Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Schoneberg
Hotel Sachsenhof
Hotel Sachsenhof
#209 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Schoneberg
Quentin Design hotel
Quentin Design hotel
#294 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Artim
Hotel Artim
#295 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Charlottenburg
Best Western Hotel Kantstrasse Berlin
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum

Property: Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Address: Fuggerstr. 8, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Castor)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Berlin
#166 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes by foot from the department store KaDeWe, Bikini Berlin and the famous Kurfurstendamm, our exceptionally friendly hotel is located rigth in the centre of the German capital. Berlin`s City West district, with its trade fair ground and numerous tourist attractions, is close at hand, as is the eastern part of the centre, where the famous Potsdamer Platz and the government buildings are located. Our 3-star hotel offers you 78 non-smoking rooms. Whether Standard, Superior or Privilege, all of our rooms are equipped with a flat screen TV, a free coffee/tea station and free Wi-Fi. Our extensive breakfast buffet has something for every taste. Visit our bar The Vine, open from 6pm to 1am, where you can take a break from shopping or get yourself in the mood for a night out with friends over a drink. We also serve snacks! Our friendly and competent hotel team is happy to help you 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandotel Castor Hotel Berlin
Scandotel Castor Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing