We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Ranked #217 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 October 2009

we stayed here during the athlectics world championships and the hotel was ideal for us. Facilities good and clean, staff friendly and helpful, excellent transport links and walking distance to the Tiergarten and to the main city sights.We didn't have breakfast as there are so many cafes so close by. Great location in an interesting part of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JintyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

We spent three nights at the castor and could find very little fault.

Its a fairly small hotel situated in a side street about a ten minute walk from the town centre. Everything is scrupulously clean and well run. Our room was very clean, neat and tidy, slightly on the small side but perfectly adequate for our stay.

The reception area is quite small but very well run, the reception staff speak exceptional English. The breakfast was the usual continental style, but there was a reasonable choice which included sausages and scrambled eggs. The dining room is really cosy, we went just before Christmas and it looked lovely with its Christmas decorations. It gets quite busy at certain times, you may have a short wait for a table. Houskeeping is extremely efficient as is everything else here, its all run like clockwork.

The hotel does have a bar which which closed around midnight. There is a number of bars in the vicinity, there is a really nice one just opposite where the prices of the drinks are really reasonable and it stays open into the small hours which is useful to know as the prices of drinks can be quite expensive in Berlin.

We found the best way to see Berlin was on a 'Viator' Walking Tour - definatley NOT recommended however if you're bad on your feet.. We booked online just before we went the prices are really reasonable. Just Google Viator to find the site. The guide was first class, we saw everything there was to see, it was the highlight of our holiday.

To sum up, we loved Berlin and we loved the Castor and we will definatley be returning soon

The Castor is ideally situated for the Christmas market at the Kaiser Willhelm Memorial Church and also the main shopping area.

The Irish Bar in the main shopping mall seems to be where everyone goes, they have bands on every night, the ones we saw all sang popular English and American hits, particularly the Beatles.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Nice clean hotel. Good value for money. Helpful staff, good facilities. Only slight downside is that it was a little way from the tourist parts of Berlin although a underground station is just up the road. It should also be noted that it seems to be in an area that has bars etc that are aimed towards same sex couples.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somersetscoffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Stayed here for a couple of days with partner and a friend. I have had a lifelong love of Germany and speak the language. I have been to the city, on and off for the last 25 years, and like many ,in the same rut, have chosen to stay a couple too many times in the old "West"! Try as I might ,I can never quite get into the idea of staying in what was the "East" and ,sad old fool that I am, still get a bit of a buzz venturing into "Berlin Mitte", which was the centre of old East Berlin.
When we arrived the double stank of smoke,despite all rooms being non smoking. Have they never heard of smoke alarms? Just saying some of the guests do end up smoking is not ideal! The lady on reception was very good and ended up putting us in 201( 02 rooms looked bigger too and it might be worth asking for such if booking direct.) This was a much larger double and still on the same floor as our friend's single. We could not have coped in the other double,which was on the small side. These rooms are the norm it would seem.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our shower hose broke and the shower gel dispenser was empty, one evening, and the matter promptly dealt with when we were out for dinner.
This was an Airmiles trip for us,so should not complain but ,clean as the place is, it is very, very dated and the location so so....Ok the underground is not too far and the "Kudamm" just down the road, but for first timers this area is not the centre anymore! The whole place is like a 1980's time warp and needs a revamp. It is like staying in Battersea to see the sights of Central London!
I fear, despite the great strides Berlin has made in the years since reunification, the same can be said about much of this part of the city. We have been considering a move to Germany, but regret that Berlin is now off the list!
Breakfast was good, but the area used on the small side and it got too busy around 9-9.30am.
Would think this place an ok option if you have a car, as parking seemed to be available. The area around there is very residential and perhaps, when it becomes even more dated, Scandotel might be better as a block of flats!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cymru27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We reserved four months in advance and the hotel still managed to double book us.
They refused to find us a replacement hotel in the neighbourhood; the replacement hotel they found us was on the outskirts of town.

They did not make any real effort either to try and resolve the situation and found the situation quite amusing and worthy of laughter.

They also lied about the availability in our hotels claiming there was no free rooms anywhere in the whole of Berlin because of a trade fair, clearly this is nonsense. They manager was also threatening and curt and lied that they tried to contact us prior to our arrival

We do not recommend staying here and suffering the same ordeal as we did. Totally unprofessional and untrustworthy.

Stayed: September 2008
7  Thank legaltraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Stayed for a week in this hotel and found it one the best that i have stayed in. All the staff are very friendly and their English is very good, with the rooms being very well maintained

The location was good with the main shopping area a 5-10min walk away, would recommend this hotel for a shopping trip to berlin!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank looney45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

This was a small clean hotel with helpful friendly staff. The rooms were not huge or glamorous but had all that you would expect from a three star hotel. Everything was clean. The breakfasts had a good choice of foods. The location was in a quiet area but near enough to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesmoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Sachsenhof
Hotel Sachsenhof
#215 of 635 in Berlin
199 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Schoneberg
Quentin Design hotel
Quentin Design hotel
#319 of 635 in Berlin
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#94 of 635 in Berlin
657 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Artim
Hotel Artim
#295 of 635 in Berlin
219 reviews
Kreuzberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum

Address: Fuggerstr. 8, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Castor)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Berlin
#166 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £58 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes by foot from the department store KaDeWe, Bikini Berlin and the famous Kurfurstendamm, our exceptionally friendly hotel is located rigth in the centre of the German capital. Berlin`s City West district, with its trade fair ground and numerous tourist attractions, is close at hand, as is the eastern part of the centre, where the famous Potsdamer Platz and the government buildings are located. Our 3-star hotel offers you 78 non-smoking rooms. Whether Standard, Superior or Privilege, all of our rooms are equipped with a flat screen TV, a free coffee/tea station and free Wi-Fi. Our extensive breakfast buffet has something for every taste. Visit our bar The Vine, open from 6pm to 1am, where you can take a break from shopping or get yourself in the mood for a night out with friends over a drink. We also serve snacks! Our friendly and competent hotel team is happy to help you 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandotel Castor Hotel Berlin
Scandotel Castor Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing