We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“easter break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novum Hotel Kronprinz Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Berlin
Ranked #216 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
1 review
“easter break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Hotel was in good location - quiet but with easy access to bus stop and metro. Room was comfortable and breakfast good. Hotel was very quiet - staff were not friendly and did not show any interest in us as guests ... even whilst speaking to us the reception staff stopped to speak to other her guests without any comment/apology to us. Not friendly apart from the housemaid!

  • Liked — quietness
  • Disliked — staff attitude/not friendly
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank macks20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    121
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
110
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

Have just spent four nights at the Kronprinz and really enjoyed it. Would echo much of what has already been said, although a little out of Berlin it is served by several u and S Bahn lines including the S41 and S42 which are circle lines covering a hugh area of Berlin, travel from the hotel is extremly easy making its quite location no problem and something of an asseet.

On arrive at the hotel we were greated by name, all staff were very friendly and what was nice was we saw the same faces over all of our stay. Most staff had good levels of English, perhaps a problem as we really wanted our eldest daughter to practice her German!!!

The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable, it is furnished in an older style so may not be to the liking of some travellers, this reflects the age of the building having been built in the 19th Century. Our room did not have A/C but would note that the area is quite so windows can be opened.

One note of caution which has not been whooly made clear in previous posts, the hotel only serves breakfast - which was very pleasant, and no other meals. There are many eating places locally and eating out is not that expensive in Berlin. Also if you enjoy sitting in hotel bars, especially at weekends, this hotel may not be the one for you as its bar is only open on weekdays, although drinks can be purchased via the night staff.

Please read the hotels website, it reflects accurately what the hotel has to offer.

We had a lovely stay in Berlin, it is truly an interesting city and one well worth visiting, our stay was enhanced by a pleasant hotel. If we were to return to Berlin we would happily stay in this hotel again.

If you would like to contact me for further details my email address is christaylor@blueyonder.co.uk.

Chris Taylor
Bristol England

  • Liked — It was was it said it was, a hotel, somewhere to stay, offered little else but what it did it did well.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Densley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

Stayed there for a weekend trip. We drove to Berlin. Ample free parking outside the hotel. he hotel is in a quiet street but very close to public transportations. We didnt drive around, we took the bus to explore the city.

The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. Clean room and really nice and spacious bathroom. Only note of caution, the room did not have any ac. So in summer months might be a problem. Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location and cleanliness.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Pragueresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2006

We stayed here for two nights during the World Cup last month. I was a bit worried about some online comments I had read about this hotel being out of the way. While it is located in a quiet neighborhood on the Ku'damn the great German public transport system (Die Bahn) makes this a non-issue.

Its practically across the street from Halansee station so you can get around quite easily. There was also regular bus service right outside the hotel on the Ku'damn.

There are many restaurants and bakeries close-by in walking distance. I would recommend ArayaThai-excellent Thai food just down/across the street and there was also a Greek restaurant that opened late and served huge portions (Sorry I forget the name now). Lots of little bars and shops around as well.

The hotel itself was very cozy. The rooms were a little larger than in other European countries but still not large as in the US. The neighborhood was indeed very quiet. The staff all spoke fairly good English and was helpful and very accommodating. I don't recall the rooms being air-conditioned. We slept with the windows open and that was fine.

The breakfast was quite assorted-sliced meats, bread, eggs, cereal, sausages (of course) & fresh fruit. No complaints here.

I would definitely stay here again or recommend this to someone looking for a quiet hotel in Berlin with some "old world" charm.

  • Liked — Nice location. Hotel charm. Cozy/warm inviting lobby. Clean rooms. Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Not air-conditioned so slept with windows open. Wasn't 100% comfortable with this from a security standpoint.
  • Tips/Secrets — If arriving by S-Bahn, as you exit Halansee station, cross the street and the hotel is just after the bridge.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank TT-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2005

I'm late in comenting on our stay at the Kronprinz since I have just discovered TripAdvisor. But we were so pleased with our stay there last summer that I want to encourage others to try this hotel even though it may seem out of the way.

This was our first trip to Berlin, and I nearly cancelled our reservations when I realized how far from the main sites it is; that would have been a bad mistake. With Berlin's great user friendly transport system nothing is far away; the Kronprinz is less than 5 mins from the U-Bahn station and from a bus stop where busses to all parts of the city stop every few minutes. Though cabs seemed readily available, we travelled everywhere, night and day, by bus or train. So don't let the location deter you. It is actually an advantage to be away from the more hectic areas, and there were a number of restaurants within easy walking distance.

As for the hotel itself, we had an very pleasant room -- adequate size PLUS a sunny alcove with chaise, table and chairs. Bath was smallish, but modern and clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2005

My husband and I have just arrived back from our Easter break in Berlin. I am a light sleeper so a quiet hotel is a must. A challenge though for a city break. The Kronprinz Hotel did not disappoint. The Hotel is in a renovated characterful Townhouse built in 1894 and is situated in a quiet residential street on the edge of Charlottenburg in West Berlin. It is five minute walk from the S Bahn and only a 15 minute drive from Tegal airport- bliss!

We stayed in a standard double room with ensuite shower. The room was of average size but the bathroom on the small side. To give you an idea, the shower tray and toilet doubled as perches for our toilet bag when not otherwise in use! However this was more than compensated for by the peace and quiet and the friendly who patiently helped these dizzy tourists locate locate our long list of places to visit and made any necessary reservations. Breakfast was buffet style and included a generous selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheeses and yummy German bread.

We had a wonderful time in Berlin and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting some repose from the hub bub of City life.

Helpful?
9 Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2003

This hotel is located at the end of Kurfurstendam in a quiet neighborhood. Public transport and expressway are nearby. Excelent, friendly service. Comfortable rooms, clean and tidy with all the needed amendities. Good but not to extensive breakfast buffet.

Helpful?
14 Thank paul_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Spandau
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Hotel Brandies
#194 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Ibis Berlin Messe
#245 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Kronprinz Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Kronprinz Berlin

Property: Novum Hotel Kronprinz Berlin
Address: Kronprinzendamm 1, 10711 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Romantik Hotel Kronprinz Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in Berlin
#135 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#147 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Kronprinz Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a location - a classical Berlin town house, built in 1894, surrounded by impressive chestnut trees - surprisingly quiet, yet a step away from the famous Kurfürstendamm with its restaurants and luxury designer shops.There are rooms with shower or bath/WC, for non-smokers, rooms with balcony or little cosy seating areas. But all are equiped with dorbell, hair-dryer, minibar, safe, 2 direct-dial telephones with modem-plug and comfortable 220V electrical outlets. Three conference rooms with natural daylight cater for seminars and events for 12, 20 and 30 persons. They offer air-condition, built-in screen, overhead projector and flipchart. Special conference packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Novum Hotel Kronprinz Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronprinz Berlin Hotel Berlin
Kronprinz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing