We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for buisness travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palace Berlin
Ranked #32 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel is quite standard overall, but some things could be really better. Definitely not for business travelers, who look for effective time spending through the business trip.

Though only about 25 minutes from the airport by taxi, which might save your time by reduced commuting, it didn't pay off. I had to wait in the lobby for about 40 minutes until they prepare a room for me, though I arrived already after expected check in time.
Personnel became welcoming and friendly only upon they learned I was a customer - until that time it was very reserved and almost ignorant attitude on the reception.

There was no free internet or wi-fi in the room, 24-access cost is EUR 22, with the connection ve-e-e-e-e-ery slow. So, if you want to surf the internet or work in the room - prepare your patience there.

Rooms are quite good, clean and quite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricFoedisch, Manager at Hotel Palace Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Eugenia K,

Many thanks for choosing the Hotel Palace Berlin and your feedback here on TripAdvisor!

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the speed of our internet connection. I will pass on your comments straight away to our internet provider as our internet connection is usually rated as fast. With regards to the charge I would like to give you a short explaination. We offer different kinds of Internet Packages starting from 10,00€ for one hour up to 22,00€ for twenty four hours incl. WLAN and unlimited download. Since we have a third party internet provider we are unable to change internet rates nor can we provide a free internet connection in our rooms. As we know that nowadays Internet is quite important, we have installed a separate internet terminal which is free of charge in our lobby.

I do apologise if you had the impression that our reception staff had a bad attitude. As you can read in many other comments, our guests are usually overwhelmed by the friendliness and professionalism of our entire team.

I would be very grateful if you would stay with us one more time, for us being able to proof you our high service qualities.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Eric Födisch
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palace Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked a room in advance using a non cancelable price deal, and for ridicules low price we received a great reword!
We arrived in mid May, before the season, and the hotel was not full.
We received a free upgrade to a larger room, and this was our welcome greeting!
The room was great with large and comfortable bad, very nicely decorated and with large bathroom.
Breakfast was delicious, we could not ask for more.
The service was friendly and helpful, and everyone spoke fluent English.
The location is right in the heart of West Berlin, side by side with Europa center, and we could see a lot by foot. The Berlin zoo gate is right in front of the hotel and bus lines 100 and 200 stop at this entrance. The Zoo S-ban station is 500 meters from the hotel.
The hotel has an indoor swimming pool gym room and spa
The only down side I can think of is that the internet is not free of charge.
I definitely recommend this hotel and I will stay there next time in Berlin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricFoedisch, Manager at Hotel Palace Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael,

Many thanks for your great feedback!

We hope we will see each other soon again.

Kind regards,

Eric Födisch
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

They gave us an 'upgrade' to a smokey and dark back room. There was terrible 80's furniture and the TV was unviewable from either the bed of the sofa. A bit odd. The Breakfast was great tho.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SituationNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricFoedisch, Manager at Hotel Palace Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear SituationNormal,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the complimentary upgrade you received during your recent stay with us as the room was allocated to the back side of the hotel. Please be so kind to inform us during your next stay straight away if you are not satisfied with the allocated room, for us being able to react and to offer you a different room location.

We hope we will have the chance of being your hosts in the future again.

Kind regards,

Eric Födisch
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Very good classy hotel. The rooms are kitted out well and fixtures and furnishings of a very good quality. Service was attentive and helpful, and room kept very clean and tidy.

As others have mentioned, Wifi is expensive. I accept that it is pricing provided by SwissTel, however, a better solution has to be found by this hotel if it is to really appeal to business travellers. I stayed for 9 nights, and considered the 7 day flatrate of 88 Euro's, but really couldn't justify this as a business expense. The cafe Minouche across the road can offer Wifi for free, so the Palace must be able to do better here. As a business traveller, this single factor would determine whether I would stay here again.

The breakfasts are fantastic, and service wonderful.

Booking was made through booking.com, which advised of hotel transfer from the airport and free bottle of water. It seems the communication between these websites and the hotel still has some way to go, as the transfer turned out to be a chargeable cost of 118 euro's which was not implied by the website (compared to a 15 Euro taxi ride), and no bottle of water was forthcoming. Perhaps a small misunderstanding occurred here, but it still tainted my experience significantly.

No irons or ironing boards int eh rooms, but reception did organise delivery of one pretty smartly on request.

The location is reasonably good. Public transport, taxis, and getting around Berlin by bike is easy, so this is not really an influencing factor.

The rooms do get quite warm, and unfortunately the road outside is too noisy to leave the window open. The Air Conditioning dries the air out considerably, so I had a reasonable sleep, but not a great sleep most nights.

Overall, a nice hotel with very high quality lodgings. Let down a little by two or three small things that I would a 5-star hotel should iron out pretty swiftly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNG178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricFoedisch, Manager at Hotel Palace Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear SNG178,

Many thanks for your feedback here on TripAdvisor!

With great joy I read that the overall of you stay was a comfortable one. Thank you very much for your comments regarding the Internet. We have still to fulfill our current contract with Swisscom but will consider your suggestions afterwards.

I would also like to apologise for the miscommunication you received from booking.com. We have all sorted in order to avoid any future issues.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback! We are already looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Eric Födisch
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and this is truly 5 star service. The room we stayed in was big, clean and the beds were comfy. The breakfast was 5 stars with plenty of choice and the quality of the breakfast was of a high standard.

We will stay defiantly at the Place in the near future and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWILLIAMSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricFoedisch, Manager at Hotel Palace Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear LWILLIAMSON,

Many thanks for your positive feedback.

We are happy to read that you had some fantastic days in Berlin and the Hotel Palace Berlin.

We are looking forward seeing you soon again.

Kind regards,

Eric Födisch
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is very good located in the heart of former west Berlin,across the zoo garden.Breakfast is the best I saw in the last 20 years,until 11.00 am(Sundays until 14.00!!!).All is superior 5 stars,with two room cleanings per day,indoor pool,fitness,sauna(extra 13 euros per person and day),restaurants with Michelin stars and prices the same.The beds,pillows are of the best quality,so perfect sleeping.Excellent services,room service,etc.
Only one, but big problem:internet is 17-22 euros per day.

Room Tip: Double de luxe rooms are large and nice.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihnea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricFoedisch, Manager at Hotel Palace Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Mihnea_11,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will have the pleasure to accommodate you soon again.

With regards to the Internet you might have seen my previous comments already but I will write you a short explanation once again.

We offer different kinds of Internet Packages starting from 10,00€ for one hour up to 22,00€ for twenty four hours incl. WLAN and unlimited download. Since we have a third party internet provider we are unable to change internet rates nor can we provide a free internet connection in our rooms. As we know that nowadays Internet is quite important, we have installed a separate internet terminal which is free of charge in our lobby.

Kind regards,

Eric Födisch
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and would recommend the HOTEL PALACE to anyone. The hotel is ideally located next to the Europa Centre shopping mall, is a few minutes from Berlin Zoo train station and easy walking distance to KA DE WE store. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are very friendly and helpful (even though we spoke very little German). On check in we were upgraded to the new club lounge rooms (STUNNING) and nothing was too much trouble. ONLY PROBLEM . No Free wifi and the internet service £10 a day is very slow. Breakfast was lovely a buffet mix of continental and "English". Cannot wait to go again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded as was a trip for my wifes birthday.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricFoedisch, Manager at Hotel Palace Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear DublinScouser,

Many thanks for your recommendation here on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased to read that we were able to upgrade you to one of our just refurbished Club Rooms. It sounds like you and especially your wife had a wonderful time and a stunning birthday.

With regards to the internet I would like to give you a short explanation.
We offer different kinds of Internet Packages starting from 10,00€ for one hour up to 22,00€ for twenty four hours incl. WLAN and unlimited download. Since we have a third party internet provider we are unable to change internet rates nor can we provide a free internet connection in our rooms. As we know that nowadays Internet is quite important, we have installed a separate internet terminal which is free of charge in our lobby.

We hope we will have the pleasure to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Eric Födisch
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#21 of 635 in Berlin
1,499 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#29 of 635 in Berlin
2,460 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Berlin

Address: Budapester Str. 45, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £40 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palace Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing