We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice sized room and quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West
Ranked #322 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As another reviewer mentioned, this is not far from Spandau Citadel, where some music events are held. I arrived and found check in to be quick and easy, with a large reception area. The room was spacious and very clean. On the table as set out some snacks and wine,but beware- this is the mini-bar and will be chargeable! In the bathroom were some men's toiletries, perhaps my name suggested that I was a male visitor?!
All was spotless. At night time, i heard no sounds from the hotel. Although I did turn off the air conditioning as it was slightly annoying in the silence. I ad breakfast included, and there was a good selection of hot and cold foods. All in, I would stay there again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAug63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

located 10min by car from Berlin Tegel airport (3,5km), is good choice if you would like to stay over night or to wait for another flight. if you want to go with hotel transportation prepare 4 Euro/person for trip. Hotel is classic German- sterile without "soul", you have to pay for almost everything except pool, gym sauna, steam bath. Do not look for ATM in hotel, nearest is about 10min walk. connection with the city is or by bus (in the front of hotel), or U Bahn, station Rohdamm about 500m. If you would like to rent a bicycle is available from reception for 12 Euro/day or even Segway 14,9Euro/1 hr. remember that max time for battery is 2,5hr). rooms are small, but OK, tv channels offers million German programs, 2 English news, one Chinese, and for all others- you have to pay. If you need rest after flight is OK. there is choice of one bar-Inermezzo and connected restaurant "IL Fagio", but if you would like to have a meal out of "sterile" conditions, and not to be alone, you have in circle of 10-15min walking in main street and side ones many different restaurants with good prices. if you want to take U Bahn prepare coins because very often there is no place and way how to buy ticket in the station.
If you have idea to use gym/pool, a few tips: before enter to locker room (without keys of course) take blue plastic bag protection for shoes. if you want to use gym, you have to pass thru pool area on other side and you will find in two small claustrophobic rooms gym equipment.you will need protection on your shoes. if you want to use steam bath and sauna is according FKK rules (nudist ones). Pool is excellent with power stream inside, use it for hydro massage. Free Internet is available in "business" room behind reception, but usually is a few persons already waiting for it. there is only 2 places where you can access to Internet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeprodanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear mikeprodanovic,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Decent room. Clean. Very helpful staff. We were going to a concert in the zittadome and it was only five euro in a taxi to it. Receptionist also told us that usually with concert tickets the public transport is included and offered to read our German tickets to see if it was on ours. Didn't take her up on it as it was the easiest option to get a taxi. But the tube station is only a short walk away.

Overall a good stay and helpful staff. Also nice restaurant.

A big negative was having to pay to use the Wifi.

Underground gated car park. Didn't mind paying for that. At least you're paying for security

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cianciancian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_93, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear „cianciancian“,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at the "Holiday Inn Berlin City - West".

We would like to thank you for the positive feedback you have provided with regards to the friendliness of our reception employee. I shall certainly pass on your comments to the reception team.

Concerning your comment to the WiFi we would like to mention that we offer free of charge internet access in our business lounge right beside the reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Bart Beerkens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

When we made this reservation via Orbitz, we were told that wifi was free as was the hotel shuttle to the airport. Upon check in, we were told wifi was 4,95 euro for the first hour and that each person using the shuttle was charged 4,00 euro each. There were no restaurants close by to walk to eat about 9:00 pm at night either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shacksugar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_93, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear shacksugar99,

Thank you for taken the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your comments are an important feedback for us and will help us to continually improve.

We would like to add that we do offer free of charge internet for our guests at our Business Lounge right beside the reception area. It is correct that we charge 4,00 Euro per person per ride to the Airport, which is quite adequate for a big city like Berlin.

We also would like to mention that there are some very nice restaurants e.g. Italian, Chinese, Croatian and a Steakhouse within 10 minutes walking distance to our hotel. Certainly our colleagues at the reception will be glad to assist to find the right location.

Dear shacksugar99, it is without saying, that we would love the opportunity to welcome you back some time and are looking forward to future feedback, you might share with us.

Kind regards to Boston, Massachusetts
Bart Beerkens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April.
The shower head was broken and despite going to reception straight away the receptionist was very dismissive and said she'd get the housekeeper to have a look at it. The housekeeper did her best to fix it, but we were told maintenance would have to look the following day and that there were no spare rooms for a us to move to in the meantime. ( I think this was incorrect, as we were asked upon checking in what sort of room we wanted).
It still wasn't fixed when we checked out and I complained to the manager, who seemed perturbed that we were unsatisfied. I also made it very clear how I felt in the questionnaire.
The other issue was the price for breakfast - 19 euros! for a bog standard breakfast!
The reason this review gets 2 stars is:
1) the efforts of the housekeeper
2) Dario who works in the bar/restaurant, who's customer service was fantastic. He was very patient with us and also made sure we had everything we needed. He is a real asset to a hotel with a lot of seemingly grumpy staff.
Location wise, I'd advise staying nearer central Berlin, although it is only a short walk to the subway. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nooey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_93, Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear nooey7,

Thank you for being our guest. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your disappointment. We want to personally apologize and we are sorry that you did not feel comfortable during your stay at our hotel.

I have taken note of the points you have raised and communicated them to our Management Team to review. I can assure you that customer service and guest satisfaction are amongst our top priorities.

Certainly I have passed your comments about our Housekeeper and our Bar employee Dario to their kind attention.

I hope you could give us another chance in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via b.beerkens@hibe.info in case of any further feedback or inquiries.

Kind regards to Bristol
Bart Beerkens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

During my stay in this hotel several group travels including Chinese or Korean groups arrived and rated this hotel in my private rating to “Group Tour Hotel”, which I intend to avoid if possible. Because of these large groups I could not have a enjoyable breakfast, the waiter, when asked where I could sit and have my breakfast, pointed out a table in an adjacent hall.
Besides this the positive things are the nearby location of the Jungerfernheide public natural swimming pool with the traditional Teichterrassen restaurant where I could enjoy dinner and beers at very reasonable process.
Another negative of the hotel is the uncomfortable chairs in the room and that the desk in the room has a glass plate which my mouse did not like. The bar / restaurant is good and reasonable priced and you can enjoy your dinner there, because the group tours normally avoid this place in the evening.
The internet speed is low, expensive (10Euro for 6 hrs) and hotel censored.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Gerhard H,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I would also like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of other guests. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We chose this hotel for its value and proximity to Tegel Airport. This was our last night in Europe and was a 14 hr layover from Rome to Berlin and then Berlin to Chicago. In fairness, this review has to be tempered with the fact we had just vacationed on a Windsurf Cruise of the Italian coast followed by a 3 day stay at the Rome Cavatelli Waldorf Astoria. So I'm trying to be fair but this hotel is not in that league. However, it is a clean hotel with reasonably nice and efficient service though somewhat lacking in its decor and rooms but the bed was really Spartan. As it is, it served its purpose of getting us a little rest. They will nickel and dime you for all their services though as everything is add on.

Room Tip: Great choice for a layover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear David H,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Spandau
Mercure Hotel Berlin City West
Days Inn Berlin West
#259 of 633 in Berlin
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Hotel am Borsigturm
#211 of 633 in Berlin
263 reviews
Spandau
Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berlin City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berlin City-West

Address: Rohrdamm 80, 13629 Berlin, Germany (Formerly HI Berlin Esplanade)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £49 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Berlin City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the 4 star hotel HOLIDAY INN BERLIN CITY-WEST in Berlin. The hotel is located very close to the airport Tegel TXL, the fairground Messe Berlin and the ICC, the Kurfürstendamm in the city centre and castle Charlottenburg. Everything can be reached within 15 minutes by public transport. We also offer a shuttle service to the airport Tegel, daily from 06.30am until 10.00pm available on request. Just give us your flight details and we will pick you up. The modern 4-star-hotel - which is in close proximity to Siemens, BMW or Vattenfall headquarters - offers 336 comfortable double rooms and suites, including 247 non-smoking rooms. All rooms are equipped with LCD TV s, air conditioning, double-glazed windows, telephone, pay-TV, radio and WiFi & High Speed Internet Access.Relax in the indoor pool with sauna and our new fitness room. Our á la carte restaurant 'Il Faggio', the 'Kleene Kneipe', our little pub, or the 'Intermezzo' offer a wide range of regional and international specialities. 24h room service is available as well. Fourteen modern meeting rooms with natural daylight offer state of the art technical equipment - the best place to live your ideas hosting up to 900 delegates. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Berlin City-West ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Berlin City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West Hotel Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing