We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West
Ranked #350 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I was a little hesitant about staying in a budget hotel, but my fears were quite unfounded. Good access to Berlin's excellent public transport network, plenty of places to eat and shops to browse in within walking distance. Basic accommodation, but the beds were comfortable, shower was excellent, no disturbance from traffic noise, spotlessly clean throughout the hotel. Reception staff were absolutely lovely!
Only one criticism - breakfast was very good, with plenty of variety, but the provision of tables/chairs was woefully inadequate. This was a shame, because what should have been a nice relaxing experience was more of a free-for-all...........

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, facing a busy street, but we didn't find it exceptionally noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel is near Tegel airport and beside Siemensstadt, metro station Ruhrdamm direction exit bus123 and behind Siemensbuilding after underpass old S-Bahn station total 10 minute walk.
Quiet neighborhood
As IHG member internet is free, membership IHG is also free so become a member before check in.
Nice is the swimming pool and sauna, take your own towel from the room.
Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiziger62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a one night stay for an early departure from Tegel airport. We were not satisfied with this hotel. First of all neither one of the rooms air-conditioning worked. We also had a rental car and the parking would have cost us €20 but I decided to park outside in the streets. The beds were not comfortable. The bathtub is very dangerous because it's very slippery upon entrance or exit. The metro station is also not close by, it's about half a kilometer away. If you don't have a car be prepared to walk. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it has an excellent buffet breakfast. The only reason to stay in this hotel would be if you want to be close to the airport, but even then I would look for a better option

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear sanrafa2,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Four star ain't four star. The amenities were poorly maintained, staff incredibly unfriendly (one or two exceptions) and more over the food was very bad! The breakfast was ok.
Room was ok although the AC didn't work; the week we stayed there was very hot :-(
All in all: not to recommend! There are better deals at this price range

Stayed: August 2014
Thank effendi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear effendi8,

We appreciate you have left a review regarding your stay. Our aim is to provide all of our guests a unique stay and great customer service. However, I apologize you encountered some issues with our amenities and found the level of staff service less than satisfactory. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service.

Again, thank you for your insights. We hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have never been greatly impressed with this hotel, its just real handy to Tegel, close to a subway stop and in a nice quiet area.

King beds are two small beds jammed together...very annoying. AC doesn't work for crap....it was about 79 degrees in my room and it was a hot night outside so opening the window was no relief. Front desk was not particularly helpful (so sorry we are fully booked), but I suspect it was likely the same in any of the rooms. The night duty housekeeping guy was nice enough to come and give me a little fan that at least helped me to cool off a bit to sleep.

Pool/Sauna changing area was a swampy mess and needed cleaning. Water in plunge pool in sauna was dirty. Dry sauna benches needed replacing (one tier was actually roped off) and the steam sauna was not functioning.

All in all, a let down....I'll likely try elsewhere next time, especially in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear biztrav123,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guests. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon..

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal hotel for visits to Berlin. About 300m to U-Bahn into city. They can sell you the day or tourist travel tickets. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable tho the aircon was a bit useless (hence the 4). Breakfast was comprehensive and varied (included in my deal). The bar was a great social area with comfy seating. Free parking on local streets or you can pay for the hotel parking. Happy to stay there again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank OggieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I staied in this hotel for 4 nights during visiting yoga festival in Berlin. The location was for me quite good (from Siemensdamm to the Kladowsee takes 35-40min by public transportation - for Berlin is not a long drive). The hotel itself is pritty clean and modern, big good restaurant where i had breakfast (they serve from 6:30 - it was for me important because all my activities start very early in the morning). The breakfast was ok but for me not big choice for fruits (watermelon, melon, apples...- not enough). There is nice pool at the hotel. and you can join it just for your self in the morning hours. The hotel location according to the city center is not bad. It takes 30 min to come to Alex, 20 min to Charlottenburg district, 30-40min to check point Charley and Potsdamer Platz. The region is quiet and safety any time of the day and night.
I had room 384 in B-site. Big room with enough space for luggage and even for morning yoga ))) some furniture is not so new but it's ok. The bathroom is clean and big with hairdryer, big mirror and additional site mirror. one i came to the hotel afternoon and didn't find any towel in the bathroom but after 3 min i've got even more than ask...it looks like the roomgirl has cleaned too good.....)))))
the conditioner in the room to loud. i couldn't use it becasue sleep very light. and even with an open window it was a big hot during the night in the room but it was hot outside (+30c during the day)...
so, commonly i can estimate this hotel as good 3 stars but not 4.....sorry

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KaterinaDmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_93, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin City-West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear “KaterinaDmit”,

Thank you very much for your compliments and for your detailed description of the Holiday Inn Berlin City – West and its surrounding area. We are very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated your hotel room and our pool.

Dear “KaterinaDmit”, we very much look forward to the next time you are staying with us.

теплые поздравления от Берлина,
Jan Bitterlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Spandau
Mercure Hotel Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spandau
Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm
Spandau
centrovital Hotel Berlin
centrovital Hotel Berlin
#180 of 635 in Berlin
457 reviews
Days Inn Berlin West
#264 of 635 in Berlin
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berlin City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berlin City-West

Address: Rohrdamm 80, 13629 Berlin, Germany (Formerly HI Berlin Esplanade)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £50 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Berlin City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the 4 star hotel HOLIDAY INN BERLIN CITY-WEST in Berlin. The hotel is located very close to the airport Tegel TXL, the fairground Messe Berlin and the ICC, the Kurfürstendamm in the city centre and castle Charlottenburg. Everything can be reached within 15 minutes by public transport. We also offer a shuttle service to the airport Tegel, daily from 06.30am until 10.00pm available on request. Just give us your flight details and we will pick you up. The modern 4-star-hotel - which is in close proximity to Siemens, BMW or Vattenfall headquarters - offers 336 comfortable double rooms and suites, including 247 non-smoking rooms. All rooms are equipped with LCD TV s, air conditioning, double-glazed windows, telephone, pay-TV, radio and WiFi & High Speed Internet Access.Relax in the indoor pool with sauna and our new fitness room. Our á la carte restaurant 'Il Faggio', the 'Kleene Kneipe', our little pub, or the 'Intermezzo' offer a wide range of regional and international specialities. 24h room service is available as well. Fourteen modern meeting rooms with natural daylight offer state of the art technical equipment - the best place to live your ideas hosting up to 900 delegates. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Berlin City-West ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Berlin City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Berlin City-West Hotel Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing