We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Ranked #288 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old and dated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My usual Wyndham experience was met here, poor Internet and very expensive. Getting over the Wyndam experience now to the room, the bathroom had rust in the sink and nou from the water stain but coming from the sink it's self. This rust was in the shower too.
The location is great here in Berlin, walking distance to the Zoo and Ku Dom area . Plenty of eating choices surrounding the hotel. Lobby ceiling is stained.
Good breakfast buffet. Good beds slept good and area outside quiets down quite a bit at night this surprised me.
Would I stay there again? No

Room Tip: It's not a three star in my world if you need that, maybe its location would be good for busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    731
    579
    213
    128
See reviews for
264
846
120
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked this as a 3 day surprise trip for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. The location of the hotel is a perfect base for exploring Berlin. The Zoo station has links to the main overground, the u bahn and the s bahn lines, and is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We stayed in one of the standard rooms that was standard size for a hotel room. The bed was probably the most comfortable thing I have ever slept on, but the doors are very thin so you can hear everything and anything that's happening in the corridor. Room and bathroom were clean, as were the public areas of the hotel. Staff seemed very friendly and were happy for us to leave our luggage with them on arrival and departure. We had breakfast on our last day and the selection was very good, although perhaps not quite value for money. Drinks in the bar were also quite expensive. Overall a very positive experience and we would stay here again if we come back to Berlin.

Room Tip: Hotel faces a busy main road so pick a room on the back if you can. The view isn't amazing but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel in two of the "updated" rooms. The rooms had new carpets and decor, but the sink faucet was completely rusted and the tile and grout in the shower were disgusting. The water out of the sink also tasted like rusted metal which was not pleasant for teeth brushing or to take pills. In one of the rooms there was a very bad odor of mildew. The walls needed new paint and the place was overall pretty beat up. It was not up to the standards of a 4 star hotel in my opinion. The only pluses were the room facing the courtyard was quiet and the bed was clean for sleeping. I wouldn't stay here again for the price.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesertDweller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Many thanks especially to Susan and her colleagues at reception who could not do enough for us despite the hotel being very busy. They were fantastic and helped us to book restaurants and even sorted out the sending of forgotten items promptly back to our home afterwards.

We did not have breakfast but it looked good...otherwise the rooms are small but perfectly equipped. We liked the location, and I especially liked the lobby area and bar. Many thanks for all your assistance and we hope to be able to come back to Berlin very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked this hotel on a late hotel plus flight deal. We arrived early for check in but they did have a room immediately available for us which we really appreciated after an early flight. Our room was 642 which was at the end of a corridor, with only one neighbouring room. The room itself was a reasonable size for what we needed. It could probably benefit from a bit of attention. There were black scuff marks on the bedroom wall, and the bathroom grouting (wall and floor) could do with re-whitening. The shower was great though, plenty of power and hot water. The hallway walls need a bit of a freshen-up, again, a few scuff marks. The reception area and bar can't really be faulted. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on the food but the menu looked good. The staff, both reception and bar, were lovely.
We weren't sure if we would have a double bed or twin. We had a double but with single duvets. The pillows weren't what we're used to in England so not as comfortable as we might have liked. The room was very warm so we did use the air-con when we were in there, and also needed to leave the window open at night. However, as we were on the sixth floor, you could hardly blame the hotel for the heat.
We did not use any of the spa facilities so our review does not take these into account.
For a large hotel, we were surprised at how intimate it felt. Overall, a thoroughly pleasant stay and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macc0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in Berlin, may 11-13, 2014. Lovely hotel with nice breakfast buffet. Next door, a really nice spot for dinner with English menus. Staff at hotel were very helpful with direction to local attractions within walking distance. Zoo & aquarium was a nice close treat. There are markets and a shopping district close by. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_and_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

rooms are small but decent enough. location is good in the center of old west berlin. close to shopping and a good variety of restaurants. wifi situation is completely unacceptable. 30 min of free wifi, but at a speed where you will determine after 5 minutes of pain that it is worthless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#336 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
#149 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#36 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Berlin Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Property: Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Address: Hardenbergstr. 14, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Berlin Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Berlin Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing