We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the hidden extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Ranked #288 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of the hidden extras”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were informed, on arrival, that the hotel was overbooked - even though we'd reserved our room months earlier. They told us we'd have to travel (at our own expense) to another hotel ten minutes taxi ride away. We had been up for 8 hours, since 4am that morning, so there was no way we were going to be moved on. We asked to see the Manager and it was eventually sorted - somehow they managed to find a room - even though the uptight receptionist had told us the hotel was totally full and there was no way they could assist us! They charge for Wi-Fi, (seriously!) after the first half hour of use, but you're lucky if you can get on it anyway as it constantly crashes. They also levy a charge just for watching the TV, at 22EUR per day - unbelievable! Have never been to a hotel that charges you for the privilege of watching television. The room was contemporary and clean with a comfy bed, but overall I'd give this place a miss.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    731
    579
    213
    128
See reviews for
264
846
120
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for four nights at a very reasonable price. The hotel has a great location and you can walk to some great restaurants and a really nice shopping area.
The hotel itself is ok the lobby area is nice enough and the restaurant where breakfast is served is modern and clean.
The rooms have had a really half hearted refurbishment. They are small and oppressive with uncomfortable beds and horrid decor. The air conditioning didn't work effectively but we could open the window. There's no room to put clothes and the whole room feels very cramped.
The bathrooms in terms of decor are actually quite nice. However they are dirty the grouting has lots of mould growing on it and the open drain in the floor means the bathroom smells of sewage.
This hotel obviously has very poor management who enforce really low standards. The maid service was just rubbish and sloppy. Reception staff were ok but certainly don't go out there way to be friendly.
This is not a four star hotel unless it was relocated to Uganda. It is at best 3 star. I wouldn't stay here unless I was broke. The few plus points were the location the reasonable breakfast and the decent gym. But there are too many negatives like the rooms, bathrooms and average staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 70AdamS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear guest, thank you for your detailed comments. We really do appreciate all guest feedback as it is only through comments such as your own that we are truly able to gauge how our guests perceive our services and facilities. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies as this is not the usual level or standards that we aim to achieve and we would be ever so glad if you gave us a second chance to show you how much better we can do than last time. Safe travels, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

1st impressions quite good. Nice lobby and bar/restaurant/washrooms. Corridors and hallways shabby, rooms and bathrooms are ok. A little shabby around the edges everywhere and rooms and bathrooms are small.
Hardly anywhere to store clothes in bedroom. Bathroom smelt a little sewagey hole stay, I think vent in drainage in floor did not help.
Housekeeping a little sloppy, did not give us toilet paper when room was cleaned etc.
Breakfast basic but nice enough.
Good value for money for price paid. Great location! Near to everything really.
Gym good. Hallways real shabby. Skirting and finish rough around edges in rooms.
Staff where a real mix, some nice and friendly, others less courteous.
Overall an average stay. Nothing screams fantastic, but good enough value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mikeymikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. It is great to learn that we conveyed a positive first impression of our hotel to you and that you enjoyed our gym. We apologize for the issue in your bathroom, which we wish we could have avoided. Please be assured that the relevant department has been made aware of this. It would be a pleasure to have you here again and have the chance to show you how much better than last time we can do. Kind regards, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

First trip to Berlin. Hotel recommended by a contact. Receptions area and restaurant very nicely decked out. Service in restaurant and at breakfast was good, although the pace could be picked up. Room clean, tidy and spacious, although the A/C could have been better. Overall, great location and somewhere I'd be happy to stay if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pukkasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear guest, thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted that you left our hotel with a good impressions and thank you also for your suggestions for improvement. We do take our guests' feedback to heart and hope your next stay will be even better than your last. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future! Best wishes Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

If it were not for the bargain price I got this room at on priceline I would have complained a lot more, certainly not worth the rack rate. The main problem in the room was the air conditioning, it's summer and with the AC on its lowest temp and highest fan setting we were still melting inside, the windows don't open either! We complained but nothing was done and on check out mentioned it again to which we were told they were aware of the problem and it was something to do with the control panel. Judging by other reviews here though this has been a problem for quite some time. The internet connection is horrifically slow and it took 20 of my 30 free minutes for the day to just load 1 webpage. I would hate to think how you would feel if you paid for the 24hr wifi access if this was the same speed.
The hotel is in a great location for buses, trains etc to anywhere you may want to go in the city and there are lots of nice restaurants close by but overall if I was paying full price I would not stay here again. It is clearly struggling to keep up it's star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, 15 March 2015
Dear guest, many thanks for submitting your review. Feedback like yours has helped us reassess our services and we are pleased to say that all our guests now enjoy free and unlimited WiFi access.
We would also like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences due to our AC. There was unfortunately a technical fault at the time, which since has been flxed.
We sincerely hope that you will give us a second chance when you next visit Berlin. We can do better. Best wishes, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My friend and I found this hotel last minute at an affordable price for a city break in Berlin. It looked attractive and spacious, but the pictures are deceiving and although the hotel is nice, it is definitely not worth visiting. The staff that work here are incredibly rude and unfriendly and frankly make the hotel environment hostile and uncomfortable. We moved between THREE rooms in 24 hours because of various problems, such as the air con not working in our room in 36C weather. When we were met with several issues, the staff never bothered to apologise or make our stay any better. I would highly recommend NOT visiting this place even though it may look like an attractive hotel. Also, wifi connection is terrible and you only get 30 minutes free a day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, 15 March 2015
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review. We were shocked to hear you had such an experience with our staff and for this we would like to extend our sincere apologies as this is not the usual level of standards that we aim to achieve. On the contrary, we wish all our guests to feel welcome and well cared for.
Please accept our apologies for the bad Internet at the time, we have since made improvements so that all our guests now enjoy free and unlimited WiFi.
Unfortunately, we cannot turn back the clock but hope that you might give us a second chance. Best wishes, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shumen, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel is in a very convinient place - close to the market street. Room is clean and nice. Breakfast is very good /eggs, fresh fruits, espresso etc/. Cons: the walls are thin and can hear what's going on in the neighdour room; internet is paid, but there are computers in the lobby with free internet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalyaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this review, 15 March 2015
Dear guest, we cannot thank you enough for your 5-star review! We were especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and gladly passed on your compliments to the team. We do apologize for the inconvenience in your room. This is an issue we are currently working on.
We hope that we may accommodate you again on your next trip to Berlin! Kind regards, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#336 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
#149 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#36 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Berlin Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Property: Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Address: Hardenbergstr. 14, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Berlin Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Berlin Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing