We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good... with some caveats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Ranked #312 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Wyndam provided a great value and incredibly comfortable stay for us in Berlin. The rooms are small but fairly modern and have all the basics you'd expect. The bedding is supremely comfy and soft - it's possibly the highlight of the hotel.

Our rate included breakfast and both mornings the spread was good with a variety of hot options (bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages) and cold choices (yoghurts, breads, pastries, cold cuts and cereal). The breakfast room was a little chaotic and noisy which made spoilt the otherwise good breakfast experience.

You might be wondering where this hotel lost it's 5th star for this review? The wifi, it's advertised as 'free' and all of the booking sites list the hotel as having free wifi, it does, in a sense. There is 30 minutes per room per day of excruciatingly slow wifi, so slow that the 30 minutes may allow you to load one or two pages. It's a real bait and switch to claim free wifi when it's provided in such a subpar and restrictive manner. As far as I could tell the same 30min restriction applies to wifi in the lobby too. The only redeeming factor here is the 3 iMacs with free internet positioned behind reception.

Overall, a great stay spoilt by a short-sited, money grabbing wifi policy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear guest, thank you a lot for your detailed and objective feedback. It is gratifying to hear that you slept so well during your stay and had a great start into your day with our breakfast buffet. Admittedly it may get a little busier in the late morning, however we believe this also makes for an animated atmosphere in a hotel of this size.
We take our guests' comments very seriously and in the course of improving our services we now offer free, unlimited WiFi to all our guests. We would be thrilled to welcome you back once again in the future and have the chance to earn a fifth star in your rating. Until then all the best, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

this hotel is really well located close to restaurants, shops and most importantly the public transport system. the restaurant options in the hotel and the breakfast were all delicious and offered an extensive range of food. rooms were modern and comfortable, nice design. pleasant stay, would recommend for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Dear guest, thank you so very much for your splendid review. Your recommendation is a huge compliment for the whole team and we gladly passed on your kind words to our restaurant staff. It would be a pleasure to be the hotel of your choice once again. All the best, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Clean rooms. Small but adequate. Excellent hotel for the money. Close to shopping and underground. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would stay here again but. Was a bit far from nightlife but public transport is quick and easy. Restaurant in the hotel was excellent.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank bhutchison_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear guest, thank you so much for your feedback. It is great to hear that everything about our hotel ensured you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we are happy to pass on your compliments to the team. We look forward to your next visit! Best wishes, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hubby and I stayed for three nights in June on a coach tour. The room was very small but okay if you are out and about all day/evening. No room for more than one suitcase, so I utilised the floor for our second suitcase. The "wardrobe" was a tiny cupboard above the fridge and was of the type where you hang clothes from back to front rather than side to side. Oh, how I hate those wardrobes - next to useless in my book! Whilst the curtains seemed good quality, they did not meet in the middle, so privacy was a bit hit and miss. The bed was firm, which I find comfortable, but the duvet was very small. There was a room safe which was free of charge, thankfully, and a kettle/coffee/tea. If you like tea, take some tea bags as the tea bags provided were aweful. Only two small milks were provided and not replenished so you may need to visit the supermarket for more. Everything was a bit of a squeeze. Worse still was the tiny bathroom. Use the toilet and you bang your elbow on the shower screen. I found the bath too high to negotiate safely as I am mobility impaired so hubby had to assist! The air conditioning was fierce and I woke up cold in the middle of the night, but couldn't get it to turn down. I never did get logged on to my tablet as the internet provision was just too slow.

As has been posted before, the whole place could do with a deep clean. The lifts are over used at peak times so I had to wait about ten minutes to get the lift to breakfast, which was typical German buffet fare. The location of the hotel was quite good - about ten minutes walk from the Zoological Gardens bus and train station (which I found to be a very grubby area with lots of vagrants). There was also a good small supermarket a short walk on from the bus station, which could easily be missed as it is inside a small shopping mall.

Berlin itself boasts a wealth of history and I would love to revisit, but I will stay at a different hotel, probably nearer the shopping centre/Kudamm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieLass19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear guest, thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate all guest feedback as it is only through comments such as your own that we are truly able to gauge how our guests perceive our services and facilities.

We were sorry to hear that there were several elements with which you were not completely satisfied. Regarding the dimensions of our rooms we are bound to the original design of the hotel building, which we have refurbished extensively. When redecorating we took care to maximize space as elegantly as possible, but nevertheless apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.
We also offer rooms of larger sizes and will be happy to assist you in your decision should you visit us again.

Despite there being several issues during your stay, for which we would like to extend our apologies, we would be delighted to be the hotel of your choice once more and have a chance of restoring your good faith. Kind regards, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

the hotel is near the zoo station so it is a good location,the breakfast is fine and the rooms are nice.
there was supposed to be wi fi for half an hour but it didnt work' downstairs there are three computers but they were allways un available

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank satva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear guest, thank you so much for your 4-star review. It is great to hear that overall your stay was a pleasant and enjoyable one. Feedback like yours has encouraged us to invest into our Internet connection and we are proud to say that all our guests now enjoy free and unlimited WiFi during their stay. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Wyndham in the middle of July for three nights.
The location is perfect: a short walking distance to the train station and subway. It is also just down the street from a grocery store.
We loved the room. It was comfortable, clean, and roomy. The bathroom was great too. The air conditioning keeps the bedrooms a comfortable temperature even during the hottest days.
The Wi-Fi was a disappointment. Only thirty minutes every 24 hours was allowed. We also wish there was some type of free breakfast.
We thought the value was great and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank loloms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your great feedback! We are delighted that you felt at home at our hotel, your recommendation means a lot to us. Please accept our apologies for the Internet connection at that time. We have since taken action and made investments, so that all our guests may enjoy free and unlimited WiFi during their stay. It would be a pleasure to be the hotel of your choice once again! Best wishes, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days, it was very good for our needs, the room was very small but for Us it was enough cuz we got back just for the night, the service was very good, the amazing thing Was the distance between the hotel to the Zoo garten station, one of the main station in berlin, 6 Minute walk and you can get anywhere.
The room have 30 minute WiFi for a day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Hotel_01, Manager at Wyndham Berlin Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your positive review! It is great to learn that you took advantage of our location and had the chance to explore Berlin. You will also be pleased to know that we have improved our Internet services and now offer free and unlimited WiFi to all our guests during their stay. We look forward to your next visit already. Best wishes, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#369 of 635 in Berlin
2,152 reviews
Charlottenburg
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Savoy Hotel Berlin
#75 of 635 in Berlin
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#117 of 635 in Berlin
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Berlin Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Berlin Excelsior

Address: Hardenbergstr. 14, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Berlin Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Berlin Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing