We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg
Ranked #277 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have been visiting the hotel for the last couple of years, but this time they wouldn't give me free wifi access. They have changed the policy and from some point on, only the premium hotels from floor 3 and up do get the free wifi. The funny thing is that my colleagues that were on the same floor got a voucher for free when they said that they were coming often! I didn't want to beg for it.
Moreover, I paid for breakfast via credit card, and every morning I had to fight with to get into the breakfast area because they couldn't find me in the list.
Other than that, it is well positioned in the X9 line and close to U ban.

Room Tip: The premium rooms from 3rd floor on have a flat tv and the free wifi. I don't think 10€ more wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your Tea m, Director of Sales at ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Sir,

we are very pleased with your loyalty to our hotel.
We're very sorry that the operations did not work properly. We will discuss your suggestions.
We hope that you will visit us again on your next visit.

With kindest regards,

Doreen Kwast
Regional Sales Manager North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a typical 3* star city Hotel, efficiently run, practical and comfortable enough.

Rooms are medium-sized, with small bathrooms. Furniture is practical and comfortable but lacks some spark. Bed linen is average to good. Sound-proofing is average, though the bathroom ventilation can be noisy. In-room safes are large enough for most laptops. WiFi is free (at least for my bookings) and of good quality. Breakfast was above average for a 3* hotel, both in quality and amount of choices.

Check-in and check-out were fast, friendly and efficient.

This Hotel is located in the Charlottenburg area, 200m from a U7 subway station. This is a nice, calm area, with some mid-level restaurants nearby. It is not very far from the city center but it does require changing subway lines or taking a 15-20 Euro taxi ride.

I stayed here twice, while doing business close-by, and chose this Hotel for its location and price-quality ratio. No reasons to complain and will consider staying there again, but if I were doing tourism I would probably choose a more central and attractive Hotel.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are more expensive (refurbished) and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your Tea m, Director of Sales at ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Sir,

we are very pleased with your loyalty to our hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the location and the rooms.

The team hope that you will visit us again on your next visit.

With kindest regards,

Doreen Kwast
Regional Sales Manager North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We really liked this hotel - it was clean, with very comfortable beds and attractive décor. We had breakfast and ate one evening meal in the restaurant and all the meals were excellent. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the transport links were much better than we had expected. We didn't mind the fact that it was a bit out of the centre of Berlin - it was easy to visit Potsdam and to explore the locality (Brohan Museum recommended). We liked the fact that there was a safe in our room and a TV, which had a reasonable choice of channels. The bathroom was definitely on the cramped side but that was the only fault. We would definitely visit again.
Warning - do not eat in the Ratskeller - its very expensive, they don't take cards which can make life difficult, and the food is really sub-standard. Try the Weinhaus Candy down Soemmeringstrasse for genuine Jaegerschnitzel and Solanka - a sort of goulasch soup. The proprietor/chef/waiter assured us that everything was home-made - it's inexpensive and very good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your Tea m, Regional Sales Mananger North at ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear guest,

it is a great pleasure to read your review.
The team is very excited about the positive assessment.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again.

Doreen Kwast
Regional Sales Manager North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Positive: The staff were very friendly, 10 bus minutes from airport Tegel. Close to public transportation (U bahn + bus X9). There is a supermarket next to the hotel. WiFi is free.

Negative: The rooms are terribly lit.
The location of the hotel is not so great since it is located a bit far from the centre and in order to get there one has to use the public transportation.
The bathroom is incredibly small and uncomfortable.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel only for those who are travelling on the budget and are not planning to stay at the hotel for too long.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your Tea m, Regional Sales Manager North at ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear guest,

many thanks for the review of the hotel stay.
The team is very excited about the positive words.

Our bathrooms are not very large (because of structural conditions).
The location of the ECONTEL is centrally and quiet. The distance to the Kudamm area is about
7 minutes by bus and the bus stops in front of the hotel. It is a pity that we could not convince.
Kindest regards,

Doreen Kwast
Regional Sales Manager North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very nice cosy place"..........the room cleaning service is amazing ......five stars for that.......good food excellent spread......and there is asupermarket below the hotel which is so handy....about 200 frm nearest metro......

Room Tip: Business zimmer pl
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DilipWadhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your Tea m, Regional Sales Manager North at ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your review.
The team is very excited about the positive assessment.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again.

Doreen Kwast
Regional Sales Manager North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great. Clean efficient hotel not expensive. Transport links good for bus and underground albeit out of the town centre. Double rooms was odd with single beds built in each end of the room. Decent shower no bath and rooms are smaller than some I have been in. Very clean !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your Tea m, Regional Sales Manager North at ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your review.
The team is very excited about the positive assessment.
Our rooms have different sizes. Please ask for a room to the courtyard.


Doreen Kwast
Regional Sales Manager North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

For a cheap stay with good access to local shops and amenities, good parking spots and even access to the local public transport. Not far from the local city hot spots.

Also the hotel is quite reasonable in price, they have very good service and a good restaurant too. I highly recommend it for a good cheap stay, there is no pool but the rooms are clean, comfortable and the service is great too.

I recommend it to everyone who is looking to stay for a good price without hassle and great service.

Room Tip: Just book in advance but even if you show up, it is still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your Tea m, Regional Sales Manager North at ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your review.
The team is very excited about the positive assessment.
You present our advantages - thank you and we hope to see you again.

Doreen Kwast
Regional Sales Manager North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Moabit
GOLD INN Alfa Hotel
GOLD INN Alfa Hotel
#262 of 634 in Berlin
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Ibis Hotel Airport Tegel
#271 of 634 in Berlin
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg

Address: Soemmeringstr. 24-26 | 10589 Berlin, 10589 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £37 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10 minutes away from Tegel Airport, you will find this hotel with its modern photo art facade. The hotel is located in Berlin's peaceful Charlottenburg district but centrally located between fair Berlin, Kurfurstendamm and the central station. The bus stop for the Express Bus X9 from/to Airport TXL and Zoologischer Garten is located directly in front of our hotel. The Mierendorffplatz Underground (subway) Station is only a quarter mile away. A variety of bright and decorated rooms include a flat-screen TV, desk, wardrobe, and safe. Start your day with a rich breakfast buffet and enjoy from 11:00h until 17:00h free drinks like coffee, tea and water at our Welcome Corner. In the evening you can enjoy local specialties from Berlin and Brandenburg, and international favorites in the hotel restaurant. Rental bicycles are also available at the ECONTEL Berlin Charlottenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ECONTEL HOTEL Berlin Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econtel Hotel Berlin Charlottenburg Hotel Berlin
Berlin Econtel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing