We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Berliner Hof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berliner Hof Hotel
Ranked #159 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
London/Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location of this hotel is excellent - literally next to the Europa Center, opposite KDW, a 5 minute walk to Zoologischer Garten U and S Bahn station and a minute from the 100 bus stop (best way to travel across to the former East). The entrance, which used to be directly off the street, is now via a secured door and passage to the two elevators. Reception is on the 2nd floor.

Rooms are basic, clean and spacious, most having a small balcony. We were on the 5th floor (where breakfast is served). The beds were nice and firm and although the rooms are tired looking are perfectly functional for a good nights sleep. Breakfast consists of juice, cereal, various breads and rolls, hams cheese and boiled eggs. Perfectly adequate.

Car parking is available on site (charge applies)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    289
    115
    28
    13
See reviews for
213
163
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gyongyos, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

2013. August. I was dissapointed, the rooms was MUCH worse as the Hotel's webpage shows ( room 517 ). It was clean, but old-fashioned, the bathroom is small with the shower curtain ( I hate it ). The room was VERY NOISY. I had to open the windows beacuse of warm and no air-conditioner. It was terrible ! I could not sleep beacuse of traffic. But for balance I have to tell the positives too : Staff was nice and friendly, the breakfast was good, the location excellent. But next time I will looking for another hotel in this area sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the Berliner Hof in July 13. Its good value for your money. The decor might be a bit outdated, but the room has all the things you need, and its clean. Our room had seperate toilet and bath, a real frigde (not a mini bar), sitting area and a flat screen tv.
What i need from my hotel when on a big city vacation, is location, location and location and you get that at the berliner hof.
This was my 2nd stay, and i would book a room here again any day

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at the Berliner hof hotel for 4 days in June 2013. I was very pleased with the quality of the room. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. I would have no reservations in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin. The U-bahn was right down the street. My only comment regarding the room was the size of the shower--quite small. But being from the USA, our showers are normally bigger anyway. The only other unusual thing about the hotel is that the lobby/reception area is on the second floor, but the elevator up was quite adequate. Very pleased with the entire stay at the Berliner hof.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dewain7704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The location for Berliner Hof is a dream. Right next to KaDeWe, the Berlin Zoo, attractions, the station (for buses and trains), shops and so on. The list could go on and on.

There was some kind of renovating going on at the entrance of the hotel (we travelled February 2012), so it was a bit noisy during the mornings and days. But the nights were quiet and you had a good sleep.
Our room was big. There was a funny smell (maybe from cleaning?), but you got used to it. We didn't have a mini fridge in the room and the staff was very helpful to get us one. Along with extra pillows.

When we checked out, the receptionist was going to charge us breakfast, altough we didn't even have breakfast at the hotel! It turned out that someone else had had a breakfast with our room number. Be careful with that, it appears that some hotel guests are not nice! But the receptionist understood and was very nice.

All in all: great location, helpful staff and good value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed in the Berliner hof hotel for four nights. Great location in the main shopping street, rooms were clean and spacious. Loved staying here, would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Only complaint was breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night.
it was very good: the staff was really helpful. My room was big and well furnished. And there was the best bed I've ever sleep (excepting my own bed).
I can recommend this hotel. (very low price for very high quality)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14wf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Air in Berlin
Hotel Air in Berlin
#271 of 634 in Berlin
291 reviews
Charlottenburg
AZIMUT Hotel Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#145 of 634 in Berlin
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Sylter Hof
Hotel Sylter Hof
#115 of 634 in Berlin
938 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berliner Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berliner Hof Hotel

Property: Berliner Hof Hotel
Address: Tauentzienstr. 8, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berliner Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at the hotel Berliner Hof, situated barely a stone's throw from the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, reside in the heart of West Berlin, the perfect starting point for discovering the pulsating capital at first hand. Five minutes from the Berlin-Zoo train station and only a few paces away from the Memorial Church and the KaDeWe department store, the central location offers a host of opportunities for strolling, sight-seeing, shopping and dining. Thanks to the excellent public transport connections and its open and family friendly atmosphere, the Berliner Hof is particularly popular among city tourists and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Berliner Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berliner Hof Hotel Berlin
Berliner Hof Am Tauentzien Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing