We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a city trip”
Review of Berliner Hof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berliner Hof Hotel
Ranked #156 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a city trip”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great and affordable hotel. The room was very clean and big enough so that the five of us were very comfortable. The location is great, in the city centre and close to the zoo. Restaurants and stores all a round and train station just around the corner. They offer a parkingspace indoor for a little extra fee which we were very happy about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnaedisOgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    273
    106
    28
    13
See reviews for
198
158
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The bathrooms were old, but you don't expect to find something luxurious for what you pay.

In general the hotel is in good condition and staff are lovely and very helpful.

If you are visiting Berlin for the first time, the location is amazing! You are in the middle of everything, you can walk to nice pubs and restaurants, shops and some attractions.

I'd recommend this hotel to people who will just use the hotel for sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denizrende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

excellent value for money. located near Kurfurstendamm for shops and very close to Zoologischer Garten station and nearby underground station. Friendly, helpful receptionists, spotlessly clean rooms, tasteful modern décor. Breakfast room very clean, prompt service. Simple continental breakfast. Suggest you plan your route to hotel because not easy to spot entrance-look for the Bear sign.My second time there and would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Room at back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was there for 2 nights in mid May. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Plenty of shopping & eating options around. Very close to underground station. Supermarket just next to hotel entrance. Airport not very far.

The hotel itself is not very grand. The reception is small. Rooms averagely sized. Bathroom just ok. Average cleanliness. Wi-Fi was not working for most of my stay. Reception staff is friendly & helpful.

If you are planning to just go around Berlin with minimal stay in your hotel room, I guess this place is right for you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Husain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Berliner Hof Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at our Berliner Hof Hotel. We are pleased to hear, that you really liked our central location, close to shops, restaurants and many tourist attractions. We are also very happy, that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful service.

Our hotel provides 76 spacious rooms in three different categories, which range in size and amenities. All our 320 sq ft (30 sq m) Comfort Rooms for example, offer a separable living and sleeping area and a bathroom with a separate toilet room. Prior to your next arrival, please let us know your preferences and our reservation team can help you to choose the right category and will allocate a suitable room for you.

We would like to apologize, that the internet was not working properly. Unfortunately, we had some difficulties during the time of your stay, but the technician fixed the problem and everything is now working fine.

Next time your travels bring you to Berlin, we look forward to welcoming you here at our Berliner Hof Hotel.

Best regards,
The Berliner Hof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Poor Wi-Fi(No connection in room 511 at all), no bathroom accessories like soap, shampoo etc. Broken shower doors, broken light and so on. Advantages: location and price. Just place to sleep. Russian girl Kristina on reception seems to be unfriendly, not helping guests.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kot331107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B, Front Office Manager at Berliner Hof Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our excellent location, but we are sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your room itself. Our house technician was informed already and he will make sure that the light and the shower door will be fixed immediately.

We would like to apologize, that the internet was not working in your room. We already talked to our internet provider. To guarantee a very good internet connection in all our guest rooms, we will be equipped with a new technic this week.

Customer Service is very important to us. That´s why, we discussed your comment with our whole team. We are always happy to assist all our guests in a friendly manner and always there to make their stay at our Berliner Hof Hotel more than comfortable.

Best regards,
The Berliner Hof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I hate that I have to write a fairly bad review of this hotel, because actually there were some fantastic parts too! The location is, for the price, second to none. I went to Berlin partly for the Christmas markets, so this hotel, being no more than 2 minutes walk from the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church (and adjoining market) was perfect. On check in, the staff member was very helpful and polite; the process was very simple. I then went back to the airport to meet my father later in the evening, and we returned for check in round 2! This time, an older gentleman was on the reception desk, and he was absolutely brilliant. He spent a good half an hour with us, looking over a map of the city, pointing out little places that we should go and visit that aren't normally on the tourist map! Could not thank him enough - his enthusiasm and knowledge was astounding! So nice to meet people like this.
And this is why I feel so let down by the last day of our stay! On check out, we informed the young girl on reception that one of our rooms had had no hot water since the night before. She did not care in the slightest. She instead demanded another copy of my booking confirmation, despite me already providing this on check in. After a rude and demanding exchange from this woman, I said the only way I could get another copy was to forward the email I had on my system, which I did. This seemed acceptable, although she barely bothered acknowledging receipt of the information so I'm not entirely sure... I have since received an email from the manager with an apology, but she promised to write to me again when she had spoken to the staff involved - this was a month ago and she has not contacted me again!
As far as the hotel itself - the rooms are pretty good for a city hotel! Mine overlooked the Berlin sculpture! My father was not so lucky, but we didn't expect anything more from an inner city place! The rooms are spacious, everything is very clean and looked after, the bathrooms are absolutely fine. Each floor seems to be slightly different, but all more than reasonable. Breakfast was great! The staff there was always lovely and eager to bring tea/coffee etc.
I'd be unlikely to stay there again, purely due to my unfortunate experience on check out. But that aside, it was a really great place to stay, and the first 2 days were excellent :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bringmesunshine181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Berliner Hof Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear bringmesunshine181,

Thanks a lot for your review. First of all we would like to apologize that we didn´t get back to you earlier. A friendly service is really important to us and so we are sorry to hear, that you didn´t feel very welcome at reception on the day of check out. We analysed your review with all team members and discussed again our customer service standards to make sure that they are internalized. All staff members are passionate about the work they do and always there to help our guests in a polite and professional manner.

Thank you, for the comment about the hot water in the room. The problem was reported and fixed by our house technician on the same day.

We are glad that you liked the hotel itself with its great location and our spacious and clean rooms. We would be very happy to welcome you again at our Berliner Hof Hotel.


Best regards,

Your Berliner Hof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It was a nice and beautiful stay. Service was good. The hotel is in an good area and it is easy to get around to some of the shopping. It is easier if using public transports then renting a car. They also have free Wifi and breakfast was excellent. I guess it depends on who you book with.

Room Tip: Use the public transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhanote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Air in Berlin
Hotel Air in Berlin
#264 of 634 in Berlin
290 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
AZIMUT Hotel Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#139 of 634 in Berlin
982 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,817 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berliner Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berliner Hof Hotel

Property: Berliner Hof Hotel
Address: Tauentzienstr. 8, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berliner Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at the hotel Berliner Hof, situated barely a stone's throw from the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, reside in the heart of West Berlin, the perfect starting point for discovering the pulsating capital at first hand. Five minutes from the Berlin-Zoo train station and only a few paces away from the Memorial Church and the KaDeWe department store, the central location offers a host of opportunities for strolling, sight-seeing, shopping and dining. Thanks to the excellent public transport connections and its open and family friendly atmosphere, the Berliner Hof is particularly popular among city tourists and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Berliner Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berliner Hof Hotel Berlin
Berliner Hof Am Tauentzien Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing