We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try pork knuckle!!!”
Review of Berlin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Ranked #288 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stood in Berlin Plaza for 9 nights in May.
Friendly and polite personnel, I think majority of them speaks and understands English. Very good greating at reception and we had free welcome drink under our booking conditions.
Some rooms may not look really brand new (wooden windows, wallpapers etc) but cleanless is spotless. Shower cabin may look tight for some, but no issues with equipment at all for 9 nights.
Matresses and pillows are too soft and may not be good for all.
Room looking at back yard and car park was very quiet.
Breakfast is great, though it is same set every day, but good selection of cheese, meats, jams. One advice - on busy seasons go for your breakfast very early (like before 8am) or later around 10am, cause I noticed the busyest time around 08:30-09:00 and some customers would sit there finished breakfast with just cup of coffee and newspaper, not considering others. Basically, breakfast area is not big enough to accomodate majority of customers at ones, so be prepared.
Hotel's restaurant is the most impressive part of my stay. Had traditional German food and it was amazing! Prices are reasonable, portions are big enough to have just one main course and get full. Service is great and friendly. You get 10% discount as a hotel guest.
Plenty printed tourist information in hotel lobby, bycicle rent is available.
Location is very comfortable. Right close to Ku'Damm with posh shops and restaurants. One block to u-bahn station Uhlandstrasse and bus stop nearbuy or if you fit enough then walk 15-20 to transportation hub Zoologische Garden to avoid interchanges under ground. Zoo, Aquarium, Europe shopping Centre, KaDeWe are within walking distance.
To summarize, very good value for money considering positive points and compare to other options in area. Peak seasons or city events may make price higher, so plan well. If I am back to Berlin I will stay again in Berlin Plaza.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Vlad_Baku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

Been on business in Berlin, as usual I stayed in the Plaza hotel, I got excellent service, staff is very friendly, the hotel as always clean and updated.
I think that this is the best deal in Berlin, and the food is real German home made.
I highly recommend this hotel!
Good job! Berlin Plaza employees.
Bravo!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SeaClubManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Plaza in the past year (my husband has also stayed there on a number of previous trips). It is centrally located and convenient for S-Bahn and U-Bahn stations and the Bus No 109 (costing just over 2 euro per ticket) from Tegel airport has a scheduled stop about 30 seconds walk from the hotel. The rooms are small and have a tendency to be quite warm at night if the weather is good (unusually for the end of April, it was over 30 Celsius during our last day in Berlin) - but we come from a cold climate!. There is a good range of hot and cold food for breakfast and, even when the hotel is full, a table is usually available immediately. Many online booking sites appear to offer good deals at the Plaza - but mainly because they do not include breakfast. Best bet is to book directly on the hotel's website - and check out their deals (particularly "early bird" offers if you know your travel plans well in advance).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have patronised this hotel several times over the last few years, and had found it a good-value 3-star hotel in a good location. Small rooms, but generally clean and tidy, and I have found the staff generally helpful, breakfast OK and restaurant also OK, serving hearty German food. BUT this time, I hit a big snag. I was given a single room (as booked) on the fourth floor and turned in for a night's sleep. No chance. The bed had seen better days. The mattress was soft and lumpy and the divan base uneven with signs of the springing giving way. The bed hardly looked like it was made to 'hotel specification' - it seemed like a cheap insubstantial domestic bed. I admit I like a firm bed, but this was impossible. Finished up wrapping myself up in the duvet and sleeping on the floor, Japanese style. The next morning, I asked to be moved to another room - and was moved immediately to another similar room -without question. The bed was better and usable, but still rather soft and saggy. I suspect these beds have not been renewed since the last refurbishment some years ago. When I left after my 3-day stay, I pointed out to the receptionist the comments I had made about this problem on the hotel's comment card - she didn't seem too surprised to hear my comments (!), and she told me that some beds have been renewed recently. It would seem the staff know there is a problem. But the management need to get this sorted out. Soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndrewS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we stayed here last month. it was our fourth trip to berlin as we really love the city. i think this has to be the best hotel we have stayed in [in berlin] up to now. friendly staff, clean room, and free hot and cold vast breakfast buffet, which filled us up till lunch. the location is great and easy to find. couldnt fault it. we paid approx £45 a night for two people including breakfast [expedia] bargain!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cazjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is in ideal location for exploring the sights of Berlin. Rooms are small and basic and could do with refurbishment but adequate for a couple of nights, would have liked tea/coffee making facilities. Staff are very helpful, and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kays26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed from 11/03/12 until 17/03/12.Usual standard of service...first class.You get what you pay for here.I was particularily impressed with the young staff at breakfast they couldnt do enough.Attached restaurant lovely german food and with the 10% discount for cash couldnt be beaten.Staff all round were first class all found a nice homely feeling.Will keep going back.Last word for the cleaning staff...not in your face...if you dont want to be disturbed thats ok...room kept very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms to courtyard and rear obviously quieter but even to the front not to much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bobmacNewtonMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#255 of 634 in Berlin
190 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Ibis Berlin City West
#199 of 634 in Berlin
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Plaza Hotel

Address: Knesebeckstr. 63 | Kurfuerstendamm, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £36 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berlin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Berlin Plaza Hotel. Just a stone's throw from the famous Kurfuerstendamm in one of the nicest areas of Berlin with its unique city flair, is the Berlin Plaza Hotel. Close by you will find boutiques, various shops, theatres, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Berlin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing