We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Berlin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Ranked #277 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just came back from a 3 nights stay at Berlin Plaza. We reached the hotel easily from Stansted airport, by train to Zoologischer Garten BHf. We took a bus from there, but could have walked since the distance is not long. The hotel is just off Kurfürstendamm, which is one of the main streets in Berlin. So we were near a lot of shops, bars, and bus or U-Bahn took us easily to other parts of the city.
The hotel itself is quite ordinary, with a friendly staff and small but absolutely quite ok rooms. We just had breakfast, and I have seen more choices, but I don't complain since I found all I needed. And the german bread is very good. There is a bar in the hotell, a food store and bakery just 70-80 m further down the street and a kiosk open all day and night. All this came in handy since there was no minibar in my room, but there are a machine for beverages in the reception area. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank norsk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Berlin Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Convenient location. Great access to stations, bus stops, and city centre. 24 hours open Internet cafe and small store located nearby, as well as a supermarket which is open 7:00 - 23:00.
Nice clean room, and great staffs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uracco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having taken a taxi from the airport, we arrived here late at night. A cheery welcome from the receptionist (who seemed to know our names before we actually said anything......I know the Germans have the reputation for being efficient but this was spooky!) and then into the main lift.....room for us two and two suitcases...just!

The rooms are small, just space to walk round the side by side twin beds. We had to ask for second pillows and I was worried the duvet wouldn't be warm enough....but the radiator gave us enough heat, so cosy! Sadly no tea, coffee making facilities....makes a difference when coming in from sightseeing all day and waking first thing in morning....maybe they could think about this (space below the tv shelf maybe...kettle, cups, coffee and tea sachets...don't forget the milk and sugar/sweeteners!)

The bathroom......you could sit on the loo, brush your teeth in the sink and have one leg soaking in the bath at the same time if you so desired, and were flexible enough.....lol!! It is small.....BUT......adequate, plenty of HOT water, excellent.....clean.....bath towels are on the small side but do the job. One thing I loved was the loo paper...quilted and not paper thin......well done!!

Breakfast was enough...not Michelin Star but a reasonable start to the day...once you'd sorted out where you could sit etc....no one to meet and greet and tell you the ropes....but it isn't rocket science!

The location of this hotel is excellent.......30 seconds walk onto the "Bond Street" equivalent. We booked a two day ticket for the City Circle Sightseeing bus....hop on, hop off.....well worth it. Plenty of Xmas markets to see and of course the local history sights.....fascinating.

All in all......I would come back to this little gem of an hotel......may even try the bar tonight as it's our last night here (after all, they have supplied me with ice every evening to help a swollen knee injury....very helpful!)

Room Tip: We stayed in 210......provides a balcony overlooking the Main Street...not too noisy and good for sm...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently and thought it was an excellent base to explore Berlin.

The hotel's straightforward to reach from the airport, only about 30 mins on a train, and nearby transport links make it really easy to get around the city. Several attractions such as the zoo/Kaiser Wilhelm Xmas market are within about 10/15 mins walk.

There's a fair few restaurants in the area, and with the room booking was a 10% discount at the restaurant Knese next door along with a free beer each.

Some may say the rooms are a little on the small side but at €180 for 4 nights it offered much better value than many other hotels, and in such a great city we spent very little time there anyway.

Reception staff were friendly and spoke quite good English, checkout is 11am and there's a €1/bag fee to have them stored at the hotel if travelling later in the day. Free wifi is available by requesting a code at reception; however only 1 device was allowed to register at a time.

Never had the breakfast so can't comment, but would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had pre-booked with Avios Airmiles, for 5 nights B&B, so don’t know what it would have cost to book normally, and if it was good value or not.
Small Reception area with one man at Reception desk. Very pleasant, and happy to speak English.

Small lift to second of 6 floors. (Not as small as some reviewers suggested, but definitely only just big enough for 4 people with no luggage.)

Room 205 was a reasonable size (again, from other reviews, I was expecting to have to complain!), with 2 twin beds - side-by-side, but made up separately with 2 fitted sheets and 2 single duvets. No spare pillows or covers, but what we had was perfect, and comfortable. A bedside table with drawer on each side, and a wall light on each side. A long desk-height shelf along the window-wall, with a stool and a chair. Nice poster of Berlin architectural styles on wall opposite bed, and a full-length wall mirror. Double wardrobe with safe (free key available from Reception), 4 shelves and 8 hangers. Flat-screen TV (all in German, except for BBC World Service) on one shelf, and a second shelf below it. No tea-making (we are told it is uncommon in Germany), or complimentary water or anything of the kind. Door (with no lock) onto a balcony, but with only a car park and the back of a building to look at.
Very small bathroom, but clean and adequate. In-bath shower with 3/4 curtain (which, of course, billows against you when you shower!) 2 full-size dispensers, both of hair/hand/body wash (no body lotion or conditioner). Towels a good size, and soft, but not very thick.

Breakfast buffet – you seat yourself (if you can find a free table), and no-one welcomes you, offers you coffee, or tells you what to do. There are coffee thermos jugs on some of the tables, but if you don’t have one, or if it is empty, you are best to go down to the kitchen door to ask for some (the coffee is OK, as hotel breakfast coffee goes).
There is usually some kind of juice in a jug, but Orange Juice is usually only from a machine, and is thin and unpleasant. Up to 4 bowls with cereals (when there is muesli, it seems to be half made up of rice krispies, and half of oats, with not much else!). Some days, there were sultanas and dried apricots or prunes to add, other days, only sultanas. Only one kind of milk, from an unlabelled urn.
2 to 4 bowls of yogurt, fruit yogurt, quark and fruit quark, bowl of fruit salad (mostly apple and watermelon, so not very sweet) and bowl of canned fruit.
Up to 9 kinds of cold cuts (usually including smoked ham, but not always), and on 2 of our 5 mornings there was smoked salmon with horseradish (delicious). Up to 3 kinds of cheese. Crispbread (sometimes brown as well as white), up to 4 kinds of bread rolls, and sliced breads. 4 kinds of jam as well as honey, marmalade, low fat quark, and sometimes full quark (delicious with red jam).
Also some covered hot food : boiled eggs, scramble, bacon and sausage of some kind -none of which looked appetising.
Sometimes the staff take ages to replace empty dishes on the buffet.
The restaurant decor is understated, but with beautiful art nouveau ceiling lights and lamp fittngs.

Hotel location is excellent, round the corner from the Ku'damm shopping street, and a short walk to train and bus stops, including the City Circle Sightseeing bus stop 1.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is fine. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the water hot. The breakfast was good though nothing out of the ordinary. There are three main positives: the free wifi (though annoyingly this drops out at busy times) which is very handy, the location (just at the end of the U1 -Ubahn) which has loads of shops and restaurants and feels safe. Best of all was the attached bar/restaurant called Knese. Very friendly and good food.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank CoventrykidMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location of the hotel is very ideal being in the middle of the West Berlin shopping district, about a ten minute walk away from Berlin Zoo. Staff were very helpful both on arrival and for the entirety of our stay.

The room was decent enough but the bathroom was way too small, especially the shower in which I was constantly getting attached to the shower curtains due to the lack of room! The beds are comfortable enough and the room is cleaned to a good standard every morning. Walls are a little thin and baths/showers can be heard in the rooms next door. Breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from and the catering staff were very helpful.

As mentioned in the title definitely worth staying in for a day or two but not enough room or facilities for a week long stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDanseMacabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
#200 of 635 in Berlin
701 reviews
Charlottenburg
Best Western Plus Amedia Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Kurfurst
Hotel Kurfurst
#312 of 635 in Berlin
132 reviews
Charlottenburg
AZIMUT Hotel Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#118 of 635 in Berlin
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Plaza Hotel

Address: Knesebeckstr. 63 | Kurfuerstendamm, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £51 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berlin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Berlin Plaza Hotel. Just a stone's throw from the famous Kurfuerstendamm in one of the nicest areas of Berlin with its unique city flair, is the Berlin Plaza Hotel. Close by you will find boutiques, various shops, theatres, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berlin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing