We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relocated to another hotel...”
Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berlin Mark Hotel
Ranked #351 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My friend and I had booked to stay at the berlin mark about 3 months prior to our visit. We got a taxi from the airport and the location looked slightly unfriendly and unkempt.

When we went to speak to the reception to check in, we were told that they were overbooked and we were being transferred to a 'sister' hotel, 5 minutes away. We were slightly shocked they had no rooms for us since we had booked so far in advance. However, we made our way to the other hotel.

The receptionist failed to tell us that the standard of the sister hotel was almost 1 star, way below the standard of the original hotel. We later found out that it wasn't a hotel but a council run hostel. There was a room we were told to put our luggage in and wait 6 hours for check in. The room had no door, no lock and we decided against staying there. When we went back to berlin mark to complain, the receptionist was incredibly rude, told us she couldn't do anything and said to come back tomorrow. She made no attempt to help us and couldn't explain why we couldn't have a room despite someone next to us checking in and getting a room. She continually shrugged and did not apologise for the mistake and in the end we left and had to book another hotel rather than have to stay at the horrendous sister hotel. Avoid this 'hotel' as it is nowhere near the standard it advertises and the staff are rude and very unhelpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Hannahf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your comment about your recent experience with us. Firstly we sincerely do apologize for the overbooking situation we found ourselves in on the day of your arrival and that you have been affected. It does happen unfortunately from time to time and in such case we do our utmost to keep the inconveniences as little as possible and do not take moving our guests lightly. We have our sister hotel, located only 5 min. walking from our property. The Mark Apart is a qualified 3 star hotel and it is unfortunate to not have had the chance to show you the benefits of staying there. At the time we trusted this was the closest option available in the immediate are of the Berlin Mark Hotel. We do understand however the uncomfortable the situation must have been in. Please rest assured that an overbooking situation is nothing personal and has nothing to do with a disadvantage of your reservation. Our staff is know to be very friendly and handle situations like such with great professionalism. We are truly sorry, that you did not meet this attitude on that day. We can assure you, we have discussed this situation with concerned members of our team to not have similar situations arise again.
Again we apologize for your experience, but must object against the comment about our standard, we are an officially classified 4star hotel. We wish for an opportunity in the future to be able to show this to you. Your Berlin Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,111)
There are newer reviews for Berlin Mark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

After 2 years I came back to this hotel but this experience was not better than last time. They had problems with air conditioning in the rooms. In three days they fixed it but the temperature was not so cold. Leak problem at the 7th floor (corridor).
Refrigerator in the room was broke down. Bed position in the room very bad. Good food and efficient waitress in the breakfast place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexlaudano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comments we are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin, whilst understanding we could not fully meet your expectations. Your Berlin Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

good breakfast, nice, helpful staff, but:
broken aircon for all four nights, toilets in the public area out of order,
run down carpet in the breakfast area, poor television picture,
bathrooms small and shower curtains moldy
could need some repairs and renovations...
definitely not a four star hotel

gutes Frühstück, nettes, hilfsbereites Personal aber:
defekte Aircon für vier Nächte, fünf von sechs öffentlichen Pissoirs defekt,
total abgelaufener Teppich im Frühstücksraum, total schlechtes Bild beim Fernseher,
Badezimmer klein und Duschabtrennungen angeschimmelt,
braucht auf jeden Fall Reperaturen und Renovierungen...
definitiv kein Vier Sterne Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wooloomoolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for. Your comments in regards to the maintenance issues, we have taken into considerations. Your Berlin Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I traveled to Berlin recently to take in the might of the German capital and booked this hotel well in advance through lastminute.com Due to the advance booking the rate was excellent and I was very keen to get to the hotel.
After reading a number of reviews I was a bit reluctant to stay in the hotel but I found it be an excellent hotel.
Its location was great for Berlin and the breakfast was excellent with a wide hot and cold variety each day.
As Berlin is a city break I did not plan on spending much time in the hotel but when I was there I found it to be very comfortable.
I would without a doubt stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and are looking forward welcoming you back soon. Your Berlin Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel was ok, and location good, and staff very friendly. But they first gave us a smoking room (hmm, who has smoking rooms anymore nowadays?!), and when I complained about it, they said the hotel was fully booked and there were no more available rooms. Luckily someone with a non-smoking room had not arrived yet, so they gave us their room. So good for us, but I feel bad for the other guests, if they don't smoke. The smoking room really smelled awful and I (who have never smoked a day in my life) couldn't have stayed there. Anyway, I was happy with the result because we got a nice room after all.
The wifi being super expensive is annoying and a huge minus to the hotel, you definitely need to change that!
No experience of the breakfast, because that as well paid extra, so we decided to eat elsewhere.
All in all it was an ok stay, but I've definitely visited better hotels. Your staff was very friendly though, so thanks to all of them!

Room Tip: They have awful smelling smoking rooms, so if you're not a smoker, make sure they give you a non...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your experience in Berlin. We have taken all points into consideration and are glad you overall had a good time. At the same time we are sorry to hear about your difficulties with the internet. We looking forward welcoming you back, maybe next time in one of our First class rooms with all facilities to make your stay even more comfortable, including coffee making facilities and including WIFI costs. Your Berlin Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed a week here for work, and it was completely fine, I have nothing major to complain about. The rooms are pretty standard and the cleaning in good, the lobby looks very nice and the breakfast is also good. It's well sorted and has various alternatives, so it's good for vegetarians, gluten intolerant, lactose intolerant and i suppose most other people with special diets. The location is also very good. All in all, a practical and good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rakel Ósk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Your Berlin Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was clean but small. The "air conditioner" you could hear running but did not cool the air. When we had trouble with our outlet adapters the front desk was able to help us and was kind in doing so. The staff was nice and helpful when needed. The bath tub in our room was VERY slick on the bottom it was easy to slip and slid your way out of the tub even when using the shower. So all in all I would say its ok but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Careful-tourist-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for. Your comments in regards to the maintenance issues, we have taken into considerations. Your Berlin Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Mark Apart Hotel
Mark Apart Hotel
#359 of 635 in Berlin
912 reviews
Charlottenburg
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
#313 of 635 in Berlin
2,132 reviews
Schoneberg
Ivbergs Premium
Ivbergs Premium
#114 of 635 in Berlin
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
AZIMUT Hotel Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#261 of 635 in Berlin
516 reviews
Charlottenburg
California am Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Mark Hotel

Address: Meinekestr. 18-19, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £47 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berlin Mark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Berlin Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing