We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Berlin Mark Hotel
Ranked #339 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Wife and I stayed for 3 night, based on a bit on internet research and trip advisor reviews. We were room only, so can't comment breakfast etc, but our room was perfectly acceptable.

The main thing this hotel has going for it, is it's location. It's in the heart of what was West Berlin, only a 2 minute walk to the hustle and bustle of Kurfurstendamm. Some may prefer a hotel more centrally located to Brandenburg Tor, Unter Den Linden etc, but I'd imagine these could be a lot noisier. Besides, half the fun in Berlin is exploring and jumping on & off the U-Bahn & S-Bahn at will.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again, as it was competitively priced, clean, comfortable and brilliantly located.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and are looking forward welcoming you back soon. Your Berlin Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    669
    597
    252
    130
See reviews for
293
799
100
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Good central location for all main attractions. Its on a side street off the famous Kurfurstendam street. Hard Rock Cafe is five minutes walk. Plenty of shops and food outlets to suit all budgets on this street. Tourist sight seeing buses pick up and drop off along with road. Kaiser Wilhem street is a bombed out church on the the same lines of Coventry Catheral. Catch a tourist bus to get your bearings. River/canal tours are a good ten minutes walk to the nearest picking up point.
No coffee/tea in the room. Only drinks bar. Shower very good. Hotel breakfast suited for all nationals. Reception staff very helpful. The only thing the hotel needs to do, is to replace the badly worn carpet in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atravellerinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for. Your Berlin Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Berlin Mark hotel 4 times in the last five years, mostly around Christmas markets time. I will be staying there again this December.

The hotel is located in a great area, on a quiet street off Kurfurstendamm and a five minute walk to zoologischer garten U/S-bahn station. There are lots of great restaurants in the area and it makes a great base for seeing Berlin.

Every time I have stayed there I have found the hotel to be clean, staff helpful, given my basic German speaking skills and no noise in the area which is a plus for being in a large city.

Our most recent stay was in a triple room and it met our needs exactly.

If you don't want to spend a lot of money on a central hotel this is a good place to stay.

The only reason I give this three stars rather than four is as other people have mentioned, due to the high cost of using WIFI in the hotel. I really feel that WIFI has become such a universally required thing when travelling that all hotels should offer it for free.

That said, it won't put me off staying here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank touristgirl86_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on this page, we are glad that you spend strive always wonderful time in Berlin and that our team was able to the great service we offer. Next time we would like to recommend our Business Class Room with free WIFI. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon. Your Berlin Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a short city break as a surprise for me and my daughter.
The hotel was lovely and very close to the markets and shops. A great city to visit and very friendly. The food is amazing and the beer is better. The bus tours are worth a visit as well and very interesting.
I will definitely book here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and are looking forward welcoming you back soon. Your Berlin Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

On arrival at the hotel we were told we were in a smoking room, even though we had book a non-smoking room. I wasn't happy with this but was told they might be able to change us to another room the next night. So we went to our room, it stunk of cigarette smoke! So I complained and eventually got moved to a non-smoking room. Our new room was big and clean (and didn't smell) however the sink was cracked in the bathroom, the shower was tiny and the door didn't close properly so water went everywhere! We also weren't happy that our "King size" bed was 2 singles pushed together on wheels, so everytime you rolled over the beds separated and you ended up with a big gap in the middle! Only good things were the breakfast, the bar and the location! Wouldn't recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. We have taken your points into consideration. Your Berlin Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My friend and I had booked to stay at the berlin mark about 3 months prior to our visit. We got a taxi from the airport and the location looked slightly unfriendly and unkempt.

When we went to speak to the reception to check in, we were told that they were overbooked and we were being transferred to a 'sister' hotel, 5 minutes away. We were slightly shocked they had no rooms for us since we had booked so far in advance. However, we made our way to the other hotel.

The receptionist failed to tell us that the standard of the sister hotel was almost 1 star, way below the standard of the original hotel. We later found out that it wasn't a hotel but a council run hostel. There was a room we were told to put our luggage in and wait 6 hours for check in. The room had no door, no lock and we decided against staying there. When we went back to berlin mark to complain, the receptionist was incredibly rude, told us she couldn't do anything and said to come back tomorrow. She made no attempt to help us and couldn't explain why we couldn't have a room despite someone next to us checking in and getting a room. She continually shrugged and did not apologise for the mistake and in the end we left and had to book another hotel rather than have to stay at the horrendous sister hotel. Avoid this 'hotel' as it is nowhere near the standard it advertises and the staff are rude and very unhelpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannahf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your comment about your recent experience with us. Firstly we sincerely do apologize for the overbooking situation we found ourselves in on the day of your arrival and that you have been affected. It does happen unfortunately from time to time and in such case we do our utmost to keep the inconveniences as little as possible and do not take moving our guests lightly. We have our sister hotel, located only 5 min. walking from our property. The Mark Apart is a qualified 3 star hotel and it is unfortunate to not have had the chance to show you the benefits of staying there. At the time we trusted this was the closest option available in the immediate are of the Berlin Mark Hotel. We do understand however the uncomfortable the situation must have been in. Please rest assured that an overbooking situation is nothing personal and has nothing to do with a disadvantage of your reservation. Our staff is know to be very friendly and handle situations like such with great professionalism. We are truly sorry, that you did not meet this attitude on that day. We can assure you, we have discussed this situation with concerned members of our team to not have similar situations arise again.
Again we apologize for your experience, but must object against the comment about our standard, we are an officially classified 4star hotel. We wish for an opportunity in the future to be able to show this to you. Your Berlin Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After 2 years I came back to this hotel but this experience was not better than last time. They had problems with air conditioning in the rooms. In three days they fixed it but the temperature was not so cold. Leak problem at the 7th floor (corridor).
Refrigerator in the room was broke down. Bed position in the room very bad. Good food and efficient waitress in the breakfast place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexlaudano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin_Mark_Hotel, Manager at Berlin Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments we are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin, whilst understanding we could not fully meet your expectations. Your Berlin Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Mark Apart Hotel
Mark Apart Hotel
#431 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Schoneberg
Ivbergs Premium
Ivbergs Premium
#114 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Charlottenburg
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
#282 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
#167 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Charlottenburg
California am Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Mark Hotel

Property: Berlin Mark Hotel
Address: Meinekestr. 18-19, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berlin Mark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Berlin Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing