We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way out of the centre, OK for buisiness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
pentahotel Berlin-Koepenick
Ranked #88 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a conference, Modern, funky rooms with excellent food.
I flew into Tegel, which is quite a distance away. However when the new Brandenberg airport opens in June it will be much closer. It is however still a distance away from the city centre. The hotel has a lovely location at the confluence of the Damme and Spree and opposite the Kopenick Castle. OK if you are on buisness , but if on a city visit its perhaps too far out of the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raff40035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed at the Penta during a Christmas Market Break which was booked through Qwerty travel; found a good deal offered on Travelzoo's weekly top 20 and phoned to book for us and our friends, however part way through the booking process they offered us a special deal that had just come up, as we were booking three rooms for 7 people; this was the 4 star Penta instead of the 3 star hotel we had seen in the offer. As there were only a few rooms available we had to decide on the sport, so took it.

When we later got the booking confirmation and receipt we found that the hotel wasnt actually in central Berlin, but in Koepenick, an area on the outskirt of the city. We were a little disappointed and felt conned, as we were hoping to stay in the centre to be able to visit the many Christmas Markets with ease, and now we find that we will have to commute, not a big deal for most but our party consisted of myself, a wheelchair user, two young people with learning disabilities and a child with a sight impairment, so not the easiest of groups to get around with. The only saving grace was that it was closer to the airport that we were arriving into.

Before our arrival we contacted the hotel directly to ask for suitable rooms for the party and the wheelchair user in particular, and this was no problem for them, they also helped with giving directions to the hotel from the airport, by public transport, with the best options for wheelchair access as this was different than the travel info given on their site. However on arrival we found a large mvp taxi, which could take us all plus the luggage and wheelchair. En route to the hotel the taxi driver told us lots about Berlin and Kopenick, (and the fact their Christmas market didnt start until the week after our stay). He also agreed to pick us up the next day and take us into Berlin central. Taxi cost from airport to hotel was 25e.

On arrival at the hotel we were unable to check in immediately as some filming was taking place of the Queen of the World beauty pagent was staying there. We were however offered a free drink as compensation.

Once the filming was finished we were checked in with a inter connecting room for the wheelchair double and twin, which was very useful. The triple room was accross the hall, but on same floor and within easy reach. Rooms were modern, comfortable, and had all that would be expected in a modern hotel. We decided to eat in the hotel that evening and found the food very tasty and service was good, although we had to ask to eat in the restaurant rather than the bar, where they were going to serve us; the bar tables were low and it would have been difficult to eat a full meal, rather than bar snack from. Price was reasonable for a hotel restaurant, and there were snack options too (the potato rossti with egg was delicious, huge and well worth the money).

The next day we went into Berlin, and Peter the taxi driver, picked us up as arranged, took us in via a tourist route giving us a guided tour to the sights. For all of us it cost 30e inc tip! It was very good as we would have missed many things as we simply wouldnt have known we were there.

The markets in Belin were great, and seemed to run into each other there were that many, we had a great time.

The only other thing to say about the Penta was that for the duration of our stay the 'queens' acted like spoilt brats, and being anything but ladylike, they were like a pack of drunken football hooligans returning to their rooms in the early hours, running around the corridors, waking people, knocking on doors, some right some wrong, and general having a ball without a second thought for others staying in the hotel; obviously as there was publicity, the hotel pandered to them, and often parts of the hotel, bar or lift was out of use to the public as photo shoots or filming were taking place, and it did impact on our stay quite a lot, the initial free drink not being enough to compensate for the inconvenience, in any way.

Would I stay again, possibly - but only after checking there were no special events planned that would impact my stay again, and checking that Peter our taxi driver, was still available to take take us into town and back - and factoring these costs into the saving to be had staying here as opposed to staying in the city itself.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel is the perfect example what a total refurbishment can do to an old 80s building. The interior designer did an outstanding job and you can see that money was not spared. There are only 2 places you see that this is an old building. The elevator is still from the medieval times and the bathrooms look outdated.
The hotel is a 4 star. The rooms are ok. No mini-bar thou so I would argue a bit with a 4 star rating here.
the breakfast is AMAZING. German breakfasts in general are very good but this one is SUPERB.
The lobby is so nice that actually hanging around there is fun in the evening. Prices are LOW

Location is not the best. Its close to Schonefeld, the future BBI airport that will open in the summer. Its a nice area thou but surely not useful if you wanna visit berlin for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I have stayed here ten times in the last four years, it is a great hotel and you can get to downtown Berlin in a short time using tram and S bahn. The rooms are all updated as well as the common areas. Great exercise area. Staff is always helpful and deal well with my mix of English and German, they do a great job of helping me improve my German. Great breakfast available, nice bar, and the restaurant is good for those times where you are too tired to look elsewhere. Several good restaruants within a 10 minute walk over the bridge.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

By far one of the nicest most interesting hotels I've stayed in. Most rooms have a great river view which means ere is some noise from the patio restaurant and bar, but I never found this too disturbing. There is a great fitness center. The decorations in the room in the lobby were fun. Location is ae bit out of the way, but it is walkable to an s-bahn. The town of koepenick is really cute and worth walking around. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urban_nerdster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I stayed at this place for 3 nights, it is a great place to stay and you can get into Berlin very easily on tram 68 and then then S bahn from Kopenick.

If I could give 10 stars I would, the rooms and hotel decor have all been re vamped. It is really trendy and modern. ( they even have free Wii in the bar area) who ever is responsiblefor the refit of this hotel deserves major credit. It is amazing believe me and could not believe the value.

Everything about this place is totally brilliant including the staff.

If you are going to Berlin stay here, you will not be dissapointed and I will definately return

Any questions please ask.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dunfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Stayed here for the Berlin marathon. Hotel rooms very nice, comfy and quiet despite the hotel being full. Buffet breakfast really good with a wide choice. Quiet town and picturesque location on the river. Staff friendly and helpful. Only problem was that the S bahn wasn't working properly all weekend meaning it took a good hour and a half to get into Mitte (central Berlin). If this was working properly it would have been ideal. Great value 4 star hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Köpenick
Hotel Am Schloss Koepenick Berlin by Golden Tulip
Dorint Adlershof Berlin
#305 of 635 in Berlin
130 reviews
Köpenick
NH Berlin Treptow
NH Berlin Treptow
#164 of 635 in Berlin
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#54 of 635 in Berlin
357 reviews
Moabit
Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Berlin-Koepenick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Berlin-Koepenick

Address: Gruenauer Str. 1, 12557 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Köpenick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Berlin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#48 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#66 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £57 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Berlin-Koepenick 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Dahme River across from the Koepenick Castle, pentahotel Berlin, Koepenick offers incredible views of an enchanting area. From our exclusive hotel in Berlin, walk to the old town, stroll along the river, imagine medieval life from the castle, and enjoy downtown Berlin with an easy ride on the subway. Whether travelling to Berlin for business or leisure, pentahotel Berlin, Koepenick is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Penta Hotels Germany GmbH, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your pentahotel Berlin-Koepenick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Berlin
Berlin Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing