We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and good taste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #53 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Beautiful and cosy luxury hotel in Berlin. The staff is very polite, but a bit cold.
Poor internet connection.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed three nights in prestige suite and I must say that it is everything we needed and much more than I expected. Because we were celebrating my birthday hotel arranged bottle of sparckling wine and small cake to the room (without any extra charge). The service in the hotel is exellent.
Unter den Linden and Museum Insel is in short walking distance. And if you want to go some further places it is easy to take metro from Stadtmitte which is very close to the hotel.
Only minus is the breakfast. It is little bit overpriced (28 eur) and most of all the breakfast room is not so nice. There is much nicer place opposite the Französisher Dom where the big breakfast is 9,50 eur. Smaller breakfast is something like 6 eur. In that place you can enjoy your breakfast beside the window and watch by passing people and the view to the square.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCBonaparte
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt. We arrived Saturday, when the German Cup final was held at the city, therefore the hotel was fully booked and we got a classic room, instead of a superior one. In exchange for the day after we got a double upgrade to a Junior Suite (all forgiven). It was really cosy, spacious and clean. Service was excellent during our stay. I also liked the gym and spa area, it was always empty. Aigner restaurant provides quality food, its really popular among locals as well. I definitely recommend this hotel for couples for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zvevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I chose this hotel because of A-club, and its location.
Stayed in a luxury room as they called it, but it was rather simple. Nevertheless, there was a Nespresso coffee maker, Hermes toiletries, Evian water.
Breakfast was fantastic! It cost 28 Eur, and was worth every cent - there was evertying you can think of, even champagne.
Great tea selection.
There are streetworks going on now, and there's a lot of mess outside the hotel.
BTW, there is free wi-fi, and a sauna upstairs.

Room Tip: choose the luxury room - you'll get a coffee maker, Evian water, and Hermes bath stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have stayed before at this Sofitel and it is remarkable how well they have maintained their very high standards of excellence.Room design and comfort and all services are top class.
It is so well located that many sights and shopping areas can be reached on foot.There is aflood of restaurants located around the Gendarmenmarkt with a wide choice of food and prices.
We will certainly return!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Gottschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great location, nice (small) rooms. Amazing views of the Gendarmenmarkt. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only negative was the traffic noise, which is considerable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#117 of 634 in Berlin
2,916 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,636 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstr. 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#22 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £102 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing