We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Choce in Gendarmenmarkt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #46 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best Choce in Gendarmenmarkt”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Like much of this part of Berlin, the hotel is new and nice. It looks over the plaza with its rebuilt replicas of antique buildings. The area is the now the civic and downtown center of Berin, walking distance form Museum Island and full of high end restaurants. It is a safe area, clean and secure. A good place for business travelers and a good place to start your exploration of the new Berlin. It is a very nice modern hotel, but as such it suffers a bit from modern hotel thin walls and floors. Several times I could hear guests next door, enough so I had to wear earplugs. But that is the problem with modern travel. You need them now and then. We were there for nearly a week and enjoyed the staff and the great views, the steam and sauna, and free wifi!

Room Tip: We had a suite with a nice little balcony way up high. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick63PaulaToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our Ambassadors. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    416
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
149
661
141
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Perfect location close, only a short stroll to the museum island. Lots of shopping and dining around. There is a spa zone on the top floor, but there is no swimmign pool. Room service was quick enough. Hermes shampoo and soap!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank LINDA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our Ambassadors. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Visiting Berlin a number of times in the last decade, I have kept an eye on those established and new hotels that might provide quality accommodation at a keen price. The Sofitel has in the last few years languished in the second order of TA ratings, but recently it seemed, from reviews, to have improved. As an Accor Club platinum member and hitherto a Sofitel supporter,I tried it in late December 2012. What a mistake: I find it hard to recognise the glowing reports from other reviewers. It really is well below standard.

Firstly, on arrival, I was told that the cost of the room had already been charged to my credit card, though there was no authority to do so ( the room was cancellable at three days notice, with forfeiture of one night's cost after that). I intended to use my A Club vouchers to offset part of the high cost which you can only do on a non-prepaid package. After discussion, this voucher credit was agreed. Secondly, the room itself on the fifth floor was small and far too hot. Now, I know the online booking form makes it clear that the rooms are small, but when combined with hot spotlights that kept coming on on room entry and had to be turned off, hot air from the uncontrollable airconditioning at a fixed 21C, and low ceilings, the overall effect was nearly claustrophobic. The room was like a sauna, even with the windows open and the aircon off. Fundamental room design faults meant the windows opened no more than three inches. The thermometer on my clock showed 22C right through the night - I really don't think it is too much to have a night-time room temperature of under 20C when a thick duvet is provided. All medical professionals recommend 18C.

The following day, I formally complained to the duty manager, Paul, about the heat. He told me that, allegedly, there was a law in Germany that airconditioning could not be used in winter to cool rooms. Arrogantly, he added "what do you expect me to do about it?". He eventually said he would send up his engineer to ensure the heating was off and provide a fan. Well, the heating went off automatically when the windows were opened as I knew, and the engineer (concierge) just showed me how to jam the window open with a cola bottle. As for a fan, the concierge said the hotel just had four and they were all booked out. "Ask again at Reception this evening if you want one in case one is returned", he added! Now, any real five star property worth its name would immediately ensure a guest is supplied with a fan, if necessary going to buy one while the shops were still open. "If there is anything I can do to make your stay more comfortable, please let me know" wrote the Manager in her welcoming letter.

I could not have been the only person concerned: the talk at breakfast among the few guests there was about the heat everywhere in the building, not just the rooms. And just to make sure I was not mistaken, I dropped into the Hilton five minutes away (where I have stayed) and found the public areas a comfortable temperature.

And there was the incident of the careless breach of data protection. At breakfast the following day, the photocopied news summaries from newspapers from round the world all had personal details of guests staying at the Sofitel in the first week of December printed on the back. The Receptionist to whom I reported this was highly embarassed and agreed to shred all the summaries. But such an elementary mistake should not have been made.

The breakfast price was 28 euros, included for the first two days of my package but not the third. Was it value for money? Not really - there was a reasonable choice of different types of food, though not of cereals; the bananas were going black; and there was no napkin to hold the bread when cutting it - not hygienic. On one day, the server suggested I had some scrambled egg cooked to order: it looked just like an unappetising omlette. The Hilton breakfast is a much better proposition and the Hilton itself evidently more successful.

Any good points? Well, the location is useful; the power shower works; the elevators have glass sides. Not much else.

At checkout, I raised my concerns with the Manager. Paul had reported my concerns to her but she did not take the initiative to apologise until I mentioned them. She said she was sorry that the hotel had not been more responsive. I do not for one moment believe the hotel will actually take any future action to correct the problems. So, my recommendation is to avoid the Sofitel and go for the Hilton for the Mitte area and the Hyatt for Potsdamer Platz.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quodnumquamscis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review and I appreciate your feedback. I understand all the frustrations that you had when you stayed with us and would like to pass my sincere apologies.

The heating and cooling system in the hotel unfortunately cannot be operated simultaneously and there was a spell of unusually warm weather during your stay this December. I am very sorry that we did not ensure to maintain a pleasant room temperature for you.

I fully agree with you that the printing of news summaries on re-used documents is absolutely not acceptable and measures have been taken to ensure this will not happen anymore.

I would like to assure you that I take your feedback concerning the attitude of the hotel extremely seriously and that all involved have been addressed to ensure that this experience is not repeated. The impression you gained is not the Sofitel attitude we expect from our Ambassadors to deliver.

Whilst I understand that this does not detract from the issues you encountered at the hotel, I would like to offer my personal assurances that every step possible has been taken, to improve the short fallings you have taken the time to feedback to us, and to ensure that every future guest experience is maintained at the service level we expect and train our Ambassadors for.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilbeek
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I spent two consecutive nights here in June because of an international energy conference, held at the same hotel. I arrived quite late at the hotel, but there were still two people at the hotel lobby who were more than happy to help me. Unfortunately, my luggage was sent to Nice instead of Berlin, so I only had a basic set received from Brussels Airlines. The hotel helped me with some chargers and clothes.

The room is very luxurious but rather small, with a very nice bathroom. I was however somewhat disappointed with the breakfast: it all seemed to be delicious, but the omelets and sausages had a weird smell… The lunch provided by the same kitchen was therefore much better.
The location of the hotel couldn’t be better, near all major tourist venues, but in a very quiete street with a nice square upfront.

Oh and for those interested in my luggage: it arrived 24 hours later, right on time to fly back with me to Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin in June 2012.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay although the airline has lost your luggage. We also thank you for the postive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin,

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#106 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#8 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#53 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Property: Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#30 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing