We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicolai the Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #53 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank funsville
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Apart from the occasional footsteps from above, this was one of the quietest rooms I have ever stayed in. Whisper quiet in the heart of Mitte, in our courtyard-facing room we felt as if we were the only guests in the hotel on a weekend when they were at almost full capacity. The heavenly king bed and the rainfall shower, along with the Nespresso coffee machine, were the best aspects of the room - and the "ambient temperature" heating system was more than sufficient for our needs.

An excellent location in terms of its centrality, it's a 10 euro cab ride to pretty much anywhere you need to be in the city, and there are subway stations galore right around the corner. The staff are very accommodating, and I was pretty demanding to say the least during this particular visit - I rented an electric bike from fahrradstation on Dorotheenstrasse (highly recommended - see Berlin on bike with a luxury hotel as your base station!) and the staff stored it and charged both batteries every time I came back. (Tip: tip! I want to go back and tip all the staff again.)

Another highlight was the Wellness Center on the top floor. The sauna and steam room are well-maintained, and there is a luxurious area to take a shower after each sweat and lie back and relax to the view of the Gendarmenmarkt and glimpses of Alexanderplatz (see photos.)

Other hoteliers take note: this is how a hotel should be run. Not that we would expect any less from the Sofitel, whose name is synonymous with luxury, and who have obviously taken a high-level corporate decision to do everything to maintain this reputation.

The room we stayed in was a courtyard-facing room. We were offered a Gendarmenmarkt-facing room, whose view was delightful, but these rooms naturally have some street noise. Charlotenstrasse is very quiet at night, so even if you take a front-facing room, you should be ok.

You may also like to know that the courtyard room was significantly larger than the street room, with the bathroom separated entirely from the bedroom/living area. I would say it's almost twice the size of the equivalent room on the street side. The bathroom is also larger and more private in the courtyard room - the bathroom in the street-side rooms has an odd configuration whereby anybody using the loo has no visual privacy when the bathroom door is in one position, but if the door is closed in the other position then let's just say there's no aural privacy.

If you're looking for authentic Berlin life, this is not the area to hang out in. I recommend STAYING at the Sofitel, but rent a bike and/or take the train to Scheunenviertel, Prenzlauer Berg, Friedrichschain, and Kreuzberg/Neukolln. In Mitte, the restaurants are filled with businessmen and tourists, and while it's pleasant to spend time in the area (Cafe Leon a short walk away on Georgenstrasse is just exquisite), you should take the time to explore the "real" Berlin.

While this is a smaller Sofitel, with only 92 rooms, we had a fantastic time here, and didn't want to leave. It's just as good as any of the large luxury hotels I've stayed at. We will definitely be back. For now, auf Wiedersehen, and we'll be dreaming of our silent king-size bed in Berlin until our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are dead silent. Street-facing rooms have a great view but will get ambie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay a special one with our best quality of service and offers. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Sofitel Gendarmenmarkt is perfectly located overlooking what must be one of the most attractive squares in Berlin. I would normally avoid hotel restaurants like the plague but this hotel's restaurant is very good indeed. The hotel is also surrounded by other good quality restaurants. The staff are exceptional and always happy to assist. Ostensibly a little expensive look for their 3 nights for 2 to get great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gene6066
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here just this past weekend and had an excellent time. The service was excellent from the start. The man who checked us in was extremely helpful. I wish I remembered his name to give him more credit. The room was very nice. I liked the decor quite a bit. Bed was very comfortable and had a lot of nice amenities, including a nespresso machine! The rooms were a bit on the smallish side but was fine for me. One quirk was the bathroom - with the sliding mirror to cover the window looking out into the room. I would have never guessed you could cover the window (for privacy) if i didn't read another review on here. One suggestion would be to make it more obvious that the mirror slides (maybe a small note). I also found the space for the toilet a little cramped. Another tiny gripe regarding the room was that the WIFI signal was weak for our room. But we did appreciate the free WIFI.

All the common areas for the hotel are very nice - lobby, gym, etc.

We also tried the breakfast for the first morning we were there because of all the rave reviews. It certainly did not disappoint. It was excellent - as good as I've ever had at a hotel. The staff at breakfast were also very attentive - again, excellent service. At 28 Euros, It is a bit expensive however and we decided to decline breakfast for the rest of the stay because of the price and to resist the urge to overeat at breakfast :) But the breakfast is certainly deserving of all the rave reviews.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, bring right next to Gendarmenmarkt. Easy walking distance to many places, including the U6.

Excellent stay. Magnifique!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I highly appreciate your comments and I would like to personally thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences from your recent stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern Luxury room with the soothing MyBed concept made your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I don't give excellent in many of my reviews . The hotel really have to be . We got there and we booked a junior suite . The room was smelling cigarets and we called the front desk . They immediately took care and we were upgraded to a prestige suite . Hotel staff is amazing and really attentive to your needs and requests . Room was really spacious with a wonderful view of the Gendarmenmarkt . Separate sitting area , 2 flat screen TV, well stocked minibar, nespresso machine, free bottles of water daily , comfortable bed and pillows , upscale furniture and decoration , modern bathroom, Hermes bath products , free wifi a little slow at times . The AC was a little bit weak and dry . Hotel location is the best walking distance to major attractions and the Gendarmenmarkt area is excellent with wonderful restaurants all around . The hotel restaurant is a top and breakfast is expensive but 5 stars with everything that u can imagine and the best service . The hotel gym space is big , luxurious, open 24 hours but need more equipments for work out , I will suggest to get all kind of free weights . Wifi doesn't work at the gym . Keep the good work and I will definitely stay here again in my next visit to Berlin

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pethabmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I highly appreciate your comments and I would like to personally thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences from your recent stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern Luxury room with the all the gimmicks you mentioned.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#117 of 634 in Berlin
2,916 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,637 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstr. 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#22 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £102 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing