We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not the best hotel in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #45 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
gloucester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice but not the best hotel in Berlin”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, and whilst it was clean and comfortable, I have stayed in better. We (2 couples) had Luxury Rooms on the 4th floor which overlooked the Gendarmenmarkt. The views were stunning, but did get quite noisy at night when there was obviously some filming going on.
The rooms were very nice and we had a Nespresso machine which was a bonus. The bathroom was okay, but wasn't sure about the toilet door which also served as the bathroom door (difficult to describe). The rain shower was fantastic and by far one of the best showers I have experienced. The 6ft bed with mattress topper and lovely pillows was very comfortable and the bedding and towels good quality.
We didn't use the restaurant, preferring to venture out to different restaurants each night. We also went out for breakfast as we felt the 29.50 Euro price tag a bit too much for our budget.
The one thing I did miss was a lounge and bar, as it would have been nice to come back for a night cap before settling down for the night.
Only news channels in English although we didn't watch much TV anyway.

The biggest plus for this hotel was its location which was within walking distance of most of the main areas/attractions we wanted to visit. This would depend on how active/mobile you are of course As 50 somethings we were ok.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city, but I have stayed in better and I have stayed in worse. It depends on what you are looking for. For the money paid most hotels would have had a lounge bar and possibly a pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicernedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
I am particularly proud to read that our ambassadors exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
I am sorry that your room wasn't cleaned straight away; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.
Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    421
    125
    29
    9
See reviews for
151
668
142
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stratford on avon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

First impression good, concierge excellent. However, despite information being on booking, not aware of gold accor membership. Breakfast following morning, was cold, and at 29.50 euros per person not what you expect. Found great little place close by with excellent fresh food at 7.20 euros. Left please clean room sign on door at 0915 returned at 1245, room still not cleaned.
Overall, people very friendly and concierge excellent, but results not up to standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
I am particularly proud to read that our concierge exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to him. I am sorry that your room wasn't cleaned straight away.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.
Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

When it comes to brands, you can almost guarantee that with a Sofitel you're going to get a good room and good service.

In my instance, this was no different. The check-in was effortless and I was given a great room overlooking the square. It was accidental, in that I hadn't planned on being so central, but the hotel's location was fantastic. Everything was in walking distance, and there are 2 different train stations within a 2 minute walk.

I found the staff to be very polite and the room was lovely. Bigger TVs would be nice, but hey you can't have everything. The bed was comfortable, and as always, I love the robes and slippers...

On one of the nights, we came home late, and my wife was craving some sugar. I called down and spoke with the night porter Max. I was shocked at his response : he said 'you are not VIPs so you don't get biscuits'...

Of course, I was astounded at that, and came straight down in the morning to blast the manager. I did appreciate that one staff member didn't speak for the whole hotel, but I wasn't going to let this slide.

I spoke with Tina, who dealt with it all very professionally, sent some breakfast up as an apology and tended to us till we checked out...

All in all a very good hotel, a good location and great staff - I will be back...

Room Tip: Try and pick a room that faces the square. It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellopeopleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Bonjour,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I highly appreciate your comments and I would like to personally thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences from your recent stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern Luxury room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Quiet, yet very convenient location to shopping, dining and U bahn. Good for family trip, business, and get away. Very comfortable beds. Concierge got us the best seats for a symphony comcert.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank TakaK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

I am particularly proud to read that our ambassador exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my concierge.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
745 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel was almost perfect - we had booked into a Luxury room, but were upgraded to a Prestige Suite with a lovely view thanks to an Accor Gold card. We were also allowed 2 drinks from the mini bar and were really happy that we could have the wine and the champagne.

The staff were all very helpful and the location is amazing - easy for transport and an easy walk to some of the main attractions in Berlin. It was also convenient for work appointments in the central areas.

The room was really large and had contemporary furnishings; we had 2 TVs and a guest toilet. The Hermes toiletries were very pleasant. Our only complaint was the lighting in the sitting room - it was too dark to work.

We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Bonjour wombatdavid,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay a special one with our best quality of service and offers. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,200 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#105 of 634 in Berlin
2,731 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4,395 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Property: Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#30 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing