We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring in Berlin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #56 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at the Sofitel Hotel Gendarmenmarkt for two nights in May 2014. The hotel is in a great location close to a number of Berlin's main attractions and my room had a lovely terrace with fantastic views over the Gendarmenmarkt. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom was secure with a peephole, chain and deadbolt on the door. Safety is a key consideration for me as a solo female traveller. I stayed in a junior suite which was a reasonable size but was surprised that it didn't have a bath tub. On the negative side, A bit more attention needs to be given to the cleanliness of the toilets, as the inside of the toilet in my room was stained. An overnight application of bleach should clear this up. On the whole, the hotel is a good base from which to explore the city.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a terrace and a view over the Gendarmenmarkt.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinskiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay a special one with our best quality of service and offers. Therefore I also thank you about th issue in the toilet. This has been solved striaght away. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Got a great deal when I booked it - usually not the cheapest hotel as you direct look across the Gendarmenmarkt. So the area is great for all kind of tourist activities, but that wasnt the reason for my stay. My room (410) was small and only for a single occupancy. Nice bath, shower and toilet. TV channels standard. The fitness wasn't equipped with a lot of different machines. The sauna and steam bath weren't really hot. Didn't try the breakfast... All in all, a nice hotel if you want to afford it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrokerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
GeneralManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed three nights in a suite here. Lovely spacious room, modern hotel with nice little touches in the room, two bathrooms comfortable sleep staff all pleasant. We didn't eat in the hotel at all so can't comment on the food. Good location in a beautiful square. Underground station two mins walk to take you to all the main sites and attractions. A number of good bars and restaurants in the nearby area although they were quite expensive

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
GeneralManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a business trip in March 2014. The hotel is located next to the market area with beautiful views of the cathedrals. The hotel is very modern but I was surprised the rooms were so small. They are well equipped and quite well designed, but with two suitcases on the floor, there was minimal space. The bed was very comfortable although the room felt rather hot. The three way bathroom was, in my opinion, poor use of space for such a small room, and a full bathroom could have been accommodated in its place. I disliked the glass door arrangement but this was purely personal preference. There was an unpleasant smell in the separate wc and the flushing system didn't function well, although not badly enough to complain about it. The wifi speed was very good in the room. The breakfast was very good and beautifully displayed. The front office staff were very polite and helpful, and spoke excellent English. There are facilities for printing documents in the reception area, so we were able to print boarding passes. The location is close to a number of local restaurants and beer houses. Overall this is a modern hotel with good
facilities, in a lovely part of Berlin.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aussiespanishdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel and the well-known Sofitel MyBed system. Regarding the technical issues I have already talked to my technical manager. The air conditioning is now working properly again. Thank you, for letting me know,

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
GeneralManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a typical city hotel, and is fine for what it is. The Location is fantastic, rooms nice and clean, beds are easy to sleep in. The reason I have not given a 5 star is the lack of a bar or decent restaurant, the one they have is over priced and not very nice. But that said you are on a lovely square with access to some great other places. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. It is right that the restaurant Aigner does not belong to the Sofitel but it is one of the nicest restaurants in town and very well known in Berlin.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here in December 2014 and had an amazing time, the staff were extra friendly, the guy who checked us in was VERY helpful and gave us directions on our map to everywhere we wanted to go and explained the area to us, the staff always greeted us on our way in/out which was lovely. The room was lovely, very clean and tidy! It was a lovely safe area to stay in and there are some nice restaraunts near by. Would definately reccommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

I am particularly proud to read that our ambassadors exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've booked in advance for a double room, the fare was good enough to let it go. We found the room quite small for such a 5-star-hotel, is it really a 5 one? The staff was kind and solved all our questions. Breakfast was complete and varied but, and this is a great but, the omelette I asked for was, possibly, the worst in my entire life. The entrance of the hotel should be a little more lit. Anyway, our general impression is that the hotel is a good one but not as good as we thought.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quite, that's a pro.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOWAYJOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

I am really sorry for the encounter in our breakfast restaurant. Please accept my apologies.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,586 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 635 in Berlin
1,254 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#64 of 635 in Berlin
4,583 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#113 of 635 in Berlin
2,833 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#30 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £114 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing