We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #44 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Preussisch Oldendorf, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

An excellent hotel in a super location. Super friendly staff and a warm reception.

The room was, as you might expect in a 5* hotel, well proportioned and very comfortable.

There is a restaurant located in the same building as the hotel, and you were able to use the bar in the restaurant which was very good, compliments to the head barman!

Breakfast was included in our room rate and taken in the Atrium restaurant on the first floor of the hotel. It was superb and again the staff were very friendly and efficient. If I hadn't had a meeting to go to, I would have gone back for thirds!

Valet parking is available, and not too expensive considering it is in Berlin. Again, no problems at all here.

In summary, a very comfortable hotel to stay in and well worth a visit. Look forward to returning the next time we are in Berlin.

Room Tip: Suites on 2nd floor have a super view over the adjacent Gendarmenmarkt square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjms2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay a special one with our best quality of service and offers. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    411
    121
    29
    9
See reviews for
147
653
139
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived in Berlin for the first time and were excited to stay at the Sofitel after having thoroughly enjoyed several other Sofitel Hotels (London, New York and LA). We realized shortly after unpacking that the a/c in the room wasn't working. We contacted the front desk and were told a technician would be up to fix the air conditioner. When we arrived back to our room after dinner we were told that the a/c could not be fixed and it was suggested we sleep with the windows open. After a sleepless night (too much noise on the street, had to close the windows, no air in the room) we were told that in fact the a/c was not broken rather it had been turned off as it was in the 50's at night outside. We were also told that the hotel could only have heat or cooling at one time, not both. Really, in a 5 star hotel? The good news is we were so disappointed in the hotel we checked out and moved to the Regent next door and had one of the best stays ever!
P.S. We had breakfast at the Sofitel before checking out. The fresh fruit was not fresh, it was inedible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We do hope you enjoyed the champagne for your birthday.

Thank you also very much for your comment regarding your experience in one of our luxury rooms. I discuss this already with our technical director.

We appreciate your sharing concerns.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Located in Gendarmenmarkt, this hotel is located reasonably close to many of the city's tourist attractions, Brandenburg gate, checkpoint Charlie and others all within about a kilometre.

We stayed here for four nights. Room was comfortable, only small problem was that shower cubicle tended to leak over bathroom floor-but not so badly that I bothered to complain about it.

I did feel that 29.50 for breakfast was excessive: but there are many cafés in the area where you can get a light breakfast for well under half that amount.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. For your next visit, we do offer rates including the breakfast, please book directly at the hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ras Al Khaimah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nice place to stay either your are in Berlin for business or leisure. Excellent Food & Beverage outlets plus area nearby where you can have the best local German food.
Happy been staying in that luxury hotel, feeling a home by surrounded by well trained staff who speaks all languages.
Highly recommended hotel:-), will come back with family for vacation and site seeing.

Room Tip: Well designed rooms with great decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kMotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
I am particularly proud to read that our ambassadors exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sofitel in May and this was undoubtedly the best hotel in our 3 week European trip, and one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. What sets the hotel apart from the rest was its excellent service, as the staff are genuinely welcoming and helpful. We were very kindly given an upgrade to a nice large room overlooking the historic Gendarmenmarkt square (thank you so much again!) and the views alone made our trip to Berlin so much more memorable. We had a very early morning flight to catch on checkout and the staff kindly laid out a tray of juice and croissants for us, even though breakfast was not included in our rate. The room was very large and comfortable with L'Occitane toiletries. The location of the hotel was excellent, with the subway just a street behind and most major attractions within a 15 minute walk. Do visit the Ritter Sport chocolate shop around the corner, never knew they had so many varieties! Thanks again for a memorable stay and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay a special one with our best quality of service and offers. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Smart, compact and modern rooms. Room facilities include a coffee/tea making machine, a range of toiletries, daily complimentary bottle of water, free Berlin guide and use of dressing gowns and slippers. Soft towels. Very comfortable mattress and pillows.
The luxury superior rooms offered stunning views over the Gendarmenmarket and a view of the Television Tower. There's a wide range of nearby restaurants available offering breakfast and dinners. The entrance hall of the hotel reminded me of a modern built Gaudì house. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Sofitel Gendarmenmarkt and must stay that it's one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at.

The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
The position of the hotel is very convenient - close to public transport, shopping and Restaurants.

The staff were extremely well trained- informative, helpful, polite and friendly.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: We travelled with others who were in different parts of the hotel and we thought that perhaps choosi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay a special one with our best quality of service and offers. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#100 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#52 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Property: Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#30 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing