We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All about location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #47 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“All about location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Expect everything you would at average expect of a hotel in this category. And than add the benefit of staying in a superb location - a beautiful, historic place with everything you can wish for to offer within 10 minutes walk. Street facing rooms benefit from the occasional concert in the square. The 'business center' perhaps is a bit minimalist but the front desk staff was ever so helpful and I got everything done regardless. And there is unbelievably cheap parking around the corner 50m further.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lutz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

I am particularly proud to read that our ambassadors exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    417
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
149
661
141
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here by myself just after Germany had won the World Cup and the city was in the middle of a heat wave. The Sofitel provided the perfect base for exploring all the museums and shops and I fell in love with Berlin. Staff were warm and welcoming, the bed so comfortable and the wifi fast.
The only thing I missed was a bath although the rain shower was fabulous and the bathroom well stocked with amenities. There were loads of places nearby to find breakfast, lunch and dinner and I felt very safe in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaczc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.
I am particularly proud to read that our ambassadors exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.
Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Overall a very pleasant place to stay, wonderful views, efficient and friendly staff - just a few minor issues. On the final full day of our stay our room was not serviced, despite us being away from the hotel from 8am to 4 pm. When we called reception asking for fresh towels and tea bags a member of housekeeping hurriedly arrived to clean the room but did not leave any face washers, tea bags or water.
Staff were very happy to provide a kettle (for tea) but only one tea bag is provided each day.
I'm not a fan of the opaque toilet and shower doors in 'open' bathrooms, but they seem to be a Sofitel feature. Extra points for quality toilet paper; a rarity in Europe. Espresso machine was a hit with my coffee drinking husband. Also the on-site restaurant was convenient and presented excellent meals on a rainy night, but the hotel is surrounded by restaurant options and shopping districts and tourist buses pick up just across the square.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MargieB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It was great after travelling most of the day to be met by two smiling, friendly and helpful reception ladies. That set the scene for the next 5 days, where all staff were pleasant and helpful. Concierge services were also excellent, and they booked internet tickets to Pergamon (saved queuing 3 hours!), and printed our boarding cards for flights home. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and booked a Junior Suite, which was lovely and looked out over the square. Large sitting area which could be separated from the bedroom by sliding doors. We were also very appreciative of the hotel marking the day of our anniversary. Thank you. We will definitely be returning to this hotel. It is very well placed for restaurants nearby, and the hop-on hop off buses are just a couple of minutes walk across the square. Taxi rank right outside hotel, and approx 20 Euros fare to Tegel airport.

Room Tip: Junior suites are twice the size of standard doubles. Really worth it for the extra space to relax i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayburnett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

I am particularly proud to read that our ambassadors exceeded your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A beautiful building at an excellent position, dead centre in Berlin, close to all the sights and shops!!!Very kind staff, professional and ready toanswer all our questions. We were upgraded to a Luxury room, which had view at the plaza.Excellent facilities, loved the bed, the bathroom and the Bose sound system!!!Design was right out of the city feel, exquisit and fashionable like Berlin!!!Will visit again...for sure!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Bonjour,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I highly appreciate your comments and I would like to personally thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences from your recent stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern Luxury room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a trip to Berlin and were recommended this hotel by our travel agent who had said that her other clients really enjoyed this hotel...however it was an extremely disappointing stay for us!

We were at the Sofitel for 5 nights and arrived just in time for dinner on the first night. We were greeted at the front desk by a woman (no one at the door to take our bags as their usually is at a luxury hotel) who took some time to welcome us to the hotel and provide us with a map and a few brochures for our stay. we then asked if she could recommend somewhere for us to find a quick and casual bite to eat since we had just been on a train for 6 hours and were starving. She told us there was a nice casual italian restaurant a block or 2 away so we quickly dropped our bags and set off to find it. When we arrived at the restaurant, however, we were shocked to see that this restaurant was anything but casual, cheep, and cheerful! The menu items started at around 25 Euros and it was certainly a fine dining establishment! Luckily, however, there were a few other restaurants along the street and we quickly found one that was more to our liking.
When we arrived back from dinner and started unpacking we noticed that our tv did not work and that a very off putting smell was coming from the bathroom. We notified the front desk and they did send someone up to fix the TV and to re-clean our bathroom (however) they really just wiped down the sink area and turned on the water in the shower...hmmm. We didn't persist with the problem too long since we were heading out to watch one of the Germany world cup games.
The following morning we both woke up at about 7:30am to the sound of doors slamming and people running down the hallway with carts. When we looking outside we saw that it was in fact the hotel staff running with the room service carts down the hall. The doorway to the service entrance just so happened to be right across from our room and instead of the staff quietly closing the door behind them they let it slam each and every single time. This noise continued for about 2 hours (and each consecutive morning for the next 4 days). Luckily our first class plane kits had ear buds inside so we took to sleeping with those in. Not something we should have to do at a "luxury hotel".

The room we had reserved was supposed to be a junior suite. Since we were going to be there for 5 days we figured a bit of extra space would be nice. However, when we looked at the room layouts on the fire exit plan in the hallway we noticed that our room was in fact not a "junior suite", but was a handicap room...so just slightly wider in areas to accommodate for a wheelchair - what a scam!

The bathroom (which continued to smell for the entire trip!) was extremely odd. We had a shower with no sort of door and a shower curtain which was about 5 inches too short to touch the floor. As a result, at the end of each of our showers, the bathroom floor was pretty much soaked and we had to sop up all of the water with our towels. This is problem a reason why the bathroom smelled in the first place...mold! I also don't expect to be having to clean my own floors when i'm paying upwards of $300 a night for the room.

On a few occasions during our stay we asked the front desk to give us directions or book a hop-on hop-off tour for us (which they can do at the desk for you). On each occasion the staff were all talking behind a sort of screen behind the desk and even upon seeing us waiting there continued in conversation until they were finished before helping us.

For the price we paid I'm sure we could have stayed a much more "luxury" hotel with the service, cleanliness, and better appointed rooms. The location of this hotel, however, is superb!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you also very much for your comment regarding the noise in the morning. It would have been nice if you had contacted us straight away. Then we could have offered you a different room and had a chance to provide you a nice stay.

Thank you for sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had high expectations given the other positive reviews. The bathroom door which doubles as a toilet door is a bit dangerous. Staff need to advise that the bathroom mirror slides across to stop people looking into the bathroom - it's not obvious. There was no coffee machine but we were given a Nespresso machine when we asked which was nice. The room was very small but that would explain the lower price than other 5 star hotels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcarans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Nespresso coffee machines are provided automatically in all luxury rooms, junior and prestige suites.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Moreover I am sorry to read that the modern design in our hotel did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate your sharing concerns.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#105 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#8 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#55 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Property: Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#30 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing