We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #52 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I had a meeting in Berlin and booked the Sofitel. The location was great since there were many sites that could be visited int eh time between meetings. I had a room on one of the top floors with a small terrace that overlooked the Gandarmplatz. This added a touch of relaxation to the trip. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was an expeience to walk throught the hotel and see the pictures on the walls. On the groud floor there is a meeting room with a billiard table covered in glass that can be used for a conference or a meal----I think (it might just be a decoaration!).. All in all, highly to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

This particular trip to Berlin was for business so we chose a centrally located hotel with cleanliness and ease of travel being the top criteria. The hotel is within walking distance from shops, restaurants, buses, etc., and is located in a chic and safe neighborhood. The room was well appointed, with a Nescafe machine (complimentary) and Hermes toiletries. From our room we had a view of the street and the cathedral, which could be risky noise-wise, but we didn't have any problems. The bathroom (with a small shower) was tiny, but for a quick business trip, this was fine. There is a computer in the lobby that you can use free of charge, or you can purchase WIFI Internet at a reasonable fee. The staff is relatively helpful, but not the most knowledgeable. The only criticism I have is on the bed. It was not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family-C-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Great staff, great location, GREAT breakfast. Booked a Standard room that ended up being far bigger than I expected and with a very small balcony too (I don't think all rooms ave this).
The staff could not be more helpful and I was extremely comfortable for the whole weekend. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

great location, large, modern and very clean rooms.
air-condition didn't work the entire stay, mainly as their engineer's policy was to keep the hotel on warm temperatures??
Staff was polite but lacked some basic know-how like museum tickets, restaurants and so on.
Breakfast was very expensive, double then other places around the hotel we tried.
TV sets were small and old fashion, but who comes to Berlin to see TV...
Overall - a good place.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNYTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I had a one night stay at this small hotel on a business trip. I had a single room, which I found to be a great room for a person on their own. I have stayed in smaller double rooms in 4 star hotels.

There was a double bed in the room, a small work desk, Bose radio, enough clothes hanging space, and a bathroom with a shower (no bath). I felt 'at home' in the room, very cosy and comfortable.

I used the gym, which among other things, had a couple of decent treadmills. After all my hard work in the gym I enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast. I have quite a lot of quality hotel breakfast buffets, and this was one of the best - I particularly liked the wide choice of prepared fruit.

The reception staff were very friendly. It is unusual for me to stay in such a small hotel on business, but it was a very good experience. I'm surprised the hotel is not higher up the tripadvisor list. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This hotel combines French hospitality, style and excellence along with the warmth of Berlin.I stayed for seven nights with my daughter and amazingly we liked the hotel more by the day.

We were upgraded to a suite due to our long stay. However the regular rooms are also very nice but small. The suite has a lovely view of the square, a drawing room, two toilets, Hermes toileteries, an expresso machine and ample cupboad space. The restaurant Aigner serves excellent food. If one wants to avoid paying for breakfast, the Galleries Lafayette bakery is next door. The restaurant Lutter & Wegner which is next door serves faulous fare at reasonable prices and one can visit Newton's for a hip bar. The locality around the hotel is buzzing all the time.

The hotel provides residents with a card which gives one 10 per cent discount at Galleries Lafayette. The metro, tram and bus stations are close by as are most of the city attractions.The computer at the lobby gives free internet and also provides printouts free of cost. The wifi rate in the room is also very reasonable at less than Euro 10 per night.

A special mention to Tina Hilbert and her excellent team, especially Patrick who has a fabulous service aptitude. My favourite was of course Nikolie the conceirge wit his easy smile and charm. The attitude of every member at this establishment was that of a person who was eager to help with a smile.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We've just returned from a two night stay at the hotel. The location is great. It is situated by the Gendarmenmarkt, a square described by many as the most beautiful square in Berlin. Tip: Ask for a room facing this square. The hotel is within walking distance of the main attractions (Brandenburger Tor, Reichstag, Checkpoint Charlie, Potsdamer Platz, Holocaust Memorial)

The standard double rooms (called "superior rooms") are very modern and elegant, but a bit small. The shower section, however, is quite spacious. The bathroom amenities are of high quality (Brand: L'occitane). And the bed is extremely comfortable.

We stayed on the third floor, and could hardly hear any street noise. This is because the roads surrounding the hotel are quite quiet, but probably also because the windows are well sound isolated.

We ordered in-room breakfast one morning. It was brought to our room 10-15 minutes after ordering. And not to mention, the quality of the food was good and elegantly presented.

We also tried the gym, which we can highly recommend. The exercise equipment is of top notch quality, For example, each of the treadmills has an integrated tv with access to 40 channels.

The level of service is impeccable. The staff is friendly, attentive and eager to help.

We paid 199 Euro per night (flexible rate). Compared to many of its hotel rivals, we consider this rate to be highly competitive.

All in all, we highly recommend this hotel, both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ks_moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,669 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#116 of 635 in Berlin
2,980 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#69 of 635 in Berlin
4,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstr. 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#22 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#43 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £96 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing