We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of smoke infested rooms in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABACUS Tierpark Hotel
Ranked #244 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Typical post-soviet era hotel. The rooms smelled of stale smoke and the old carpeting was stained and filthy. The hotel reception didn't warn our agency while booking, and yes there were no any free non smokers room!

Room Tip: Ask in advance for no-smoking room if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here overnight as part of the national holiday/caladonian historic Poland trip.

We arrived at the hotel and was checked in quickly by helpful reception staff. The room was a large ground floor room with twin beds, mini bar and large wet room. The wifi you had to pay for but as I had 3g this didnt worry me.

The evening meal was a self service eat as much as you like with plenty of choice.
Breakfast in the morning was again self service and plenty to choose from.

Only downside is that the hotel is quite a bit out of the centre of berlin but there is a tram service outside the hotel.

Would certainly stay here again.

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Arrived at hotel to be met by helpful reception staff. Room was lovely, took previous reviewers advice and asked for non smoking room, got one on the forth floor, which was clean tidy and as spacious as it has to be for two guests. We had internet with good connection, paid 2 euro's a day which was no issue, thank goodness for FaceTime. .

Restaurant was lovely, buffet idea is great with the added fresh food being made to order in front of you, no trays of food lying drying out, perfect. This was same for breakfast and dinner with helpful staff. Plenty of choice for cooked, continental and cereals.

We travelled in to Berlin using the underground (8.80 euro for 2 return) which after working out is so easy, you get the U5 to alexandreplatz then the U2 to centre of Berlin where there are plenty of sightseeing tours. Would advise not to take the first one you come to as we managed to get one for 10 euro's each for 2 days and saw all the sights. Berlin is so much bigger than we though with plenty to do and see.

Last day we spent at the Tierpark zoo which is right across the road from the hotel and is the nicest hotel I have ever been too. Would recommend this too.

Great place for city break and if we return we will definitely be back here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for a bloke's football weekend. The receptionists were friendly & helpful, the room was clean & a decent size, & most importantly quiet. The breakfast was excellent. However, this hotel is in the east of city. Ideal for our football match at Union FC in Kopenick, but one & a half hours away from the Olympic Stadium to watch Hertha FC. If your sightseeing itinery is mainly west Berlin, i.e. The Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie & the Olympic Stadium, this hotel might be too far out for you. However, if you plan to visit sights in the east as well, this hotel is probably as good as any, & better than most. Berlin is a big city & it's sights are quite spread out, but the transport system is extensive & relatively cheap, so if you don't mind sitting trains or trams for a while! Choose the S-Bahn or trams whenever possible, as these travel above ground, so you at least you get to see the city as you are moving around. The Tierpark U-Bahn station is just a few minutes walk from the hotel, as is the tram stop.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Me and the missus stayed here for 3 nights. No complaints. Short walk too the underground which will get you anywhere you please in Berlin. Netto supermarket near by for cheap bits. Great little German bar and restaurant 10 mins down the road also. Friendly and helpful staff also. And as the subtitle eludes the buffet breakfast is fantastic. Big roomy seating area. Huge variety and all very tasty and we'll stocked
Great way to start the day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was unpleasant surprise when we got the smokers room. Nobody warned me that possibility , and there were no any free no smokers room. The smell in this room was so bad , and nothing was to do, just suffering the nights spending there. The hotels staff did not warn our agency while booking so it was also surprise for them. In other way, hotel is not bad, but this was so unprofessional thing that i cannot write good review. So if you book this hotel, be careful, ask in advance for no-smoking room!!!
The room were clean, but bed were bad. First we could not get double bed then twins. Those were narrow, and uncomfortable so 3 night I spent there I slept really bad.
The equipment in the bathroom was poor. no shampoo, not hair condition...poor for four stars hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dubravka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

really enjoyed our stay x 3 nights. less than 5 mins walk to tube station which was great. staff very friendly, breakfast buffet excellent & room very spacious only downside was that there are no tea & coffee making facilities in the room. otherwise a perfect spot & i would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryloo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Köpenick
NH Berlin Treptow
NH Berlin Treptow
#154 of 634 in Berlin
546 reviews
Moabit
Hotel Tiergarten
Hotel Tiergarten
#187 of 634 in Berlin
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#157 of 634 in Berlin
277 reviews
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#129 of 634 in Berlin
432 reviews
Ibis Berlin Messe
#257 of 634 in Berlin
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABACUS Tierpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABACUS Tierpark Hotel

Address: Franz-Mett-Str. 3-9, 10319 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £52 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABACUS Tierpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABACUS Tierpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacus Tierpark Berlin
Hotel Abacus Tierpark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing