We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Ranked #52 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was a huge disappointment. The a/c could not get the room cooler than outside. (it was 25 Celsius outside and 24.5 inside). The hotel moved us 3x with no better results. Then, by way of compensation they give us 1 day of breakfast (out of a 4 day stay, the a/c never worked). Not having more breakfasts given to us was not disappointing though, because the breakfast was a poorly stocked buffet. On top of all of that, the tv was locked so we could not attach our usb cable to watch our own movies and there were no English channels available. Over all it was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    685
    121
    46
    28
See reviews for
305
897
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is right on the center of the city, walking distance to main sighting areas. The swimming-pool is perfect for either an early swimming or to refresh after a sunny and warm day walking. The views from there are amazing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryMarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is very centrally located in a safe area. 7-8 min walk from Unter den Linden, 15 min from Brandenburger Tor. 5 min from the trendy restaurant Grill Royal. The trainstation is next by. We had a room on the 6th floor facing the trainstation and we did not have ny problemstilling with noise.
Breakfast is really good. There is everything you need. From 9 o'clock there is a piano player who sets the mood.
The rooms are huge, especially the bathroooms. Windows from floor to ceiling is perfect.
The pool is clean, the gym is not huge; treadmills are high standard but the crosstrainer equipment is not the best.
Taxies are just around the corner. 20 € to Tegel airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedersenfromOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
186 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I prefer to stay in hotels that are near neighbourhoods where people stay, but I enjoyed this hotel. It's in the middle of the high street, but it's right at Friedrichstraße Bahnhof so pretty handy for getting about. I can imagine this would be the perfect location for first time travellers to Berlin as not only is it next to the station, it has restaurants, supermarkets, takeaways, high street shops, Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie and a host of other tourist attractions minutes walk away. So I can't complain too much :-)

Other good points include:

Great sound proofing
Good Bed = good sleep
Clean
Great Staff
Sauna and gym
Free Wifi
Attractive detail to architecture
Tram stop outside

Some Not so good points:

The windows in the bedrooms (full length) look as if a small kid could squeeze through when open and there's no guard or rail outside. I'm sure this must have been safety checked, but I'd be worried with kids
The swimming pool's tiny
The Bathroom Tap's pretty weird and is hard to get the right temp (small thing, i know)

Timings to other parts of Berlin by public transport:

The KuDamm and West Berlin's centre is 20 mins by s-bahn and foot
Trendy Prensluerberg is a short tram ride away
Alexanderplatz (The old east centre) is 10 mins by s-bahn
Hackescher Markt is 5 mins on s-bahn
Museum Island is a 20 min walk, or a 10 min walk from Hackescher Markt or Akexanderplatz.
Schoneberg Airport's 30 mins by train

So pretty handy. So all in, I'd have no problem staying here again. So it gets the thumbs up :)

Note: We didn't sample breakfast as there are a multitude of options around the hotel. In fact Humboldt Uni is next door. Their refectory's open to all and pretty cheap.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thearabsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel right downtown in the middle of everything, including all means of public transport, was an excellent place to spend our 8 days in Berlin. Our room was very attractive, comfortable and roomy with a large superb bathroom, and we thought the price was extremely reasonable. It was classified as a 'business' hotel rather than a 'tourist' hotel and I'm not sure what the difference is supposed to be because we were tourists and it was great. The staff was very helpful and friendly whenever we required their services or help. We never went to the restaurant in the hotel because there are restaurants, cafes, fast food, etc all within a very short radius of the hotel and the subway, elevated train and trolleys all within a few minutes of the hotel's door. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you want to stay at a 5 star hotel and not pay to much this is a good choose. It's location in the center of town is more or less unbeatable with great public transportation within 100 m from the front door. The staff is very helpful although some of them don't speak perfect english, then again this is Germany not the UK. ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Efficient, welcoming and friendly. Perfectly located opposite Friedrichstrasse station. Walking distance to Brandenburg Gate and some of Berlin's major attractions. Very clean, spacious and luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,782 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#106 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#78 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#8 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Berlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Berlin Hotel

Property: Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Address: Friedrichstr. 99, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Berlin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Eurostars, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Berlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing