We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of kids and not enough room for breakfast guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Ranked #27 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of kids and not enough room for breakfast guests”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

First let's just get it out of the way. They may call The Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof a business hotel, but it's really not. It's a family hotel, and families come for the same reasons we did as a couple: a large pool, a really nice wellness area and a central location. Prepare for a crowded pool and an occupied wellness area.

That said, the we had a nice stay. The room had a good size, there were plenty of clothes hangers, breakfast was great and the bar was packed with chatty patrons. About breakfast; come really early or really late. Because of all the families staying here, the restaurant fills quickly, you may have to cue, and in the end the staff shows you to a huge conference room where the eggs and sousages are room temperature, the milk is luke warm, and the wait staff is gravely undermanned. Try to eat breakfast in the restaurant. After having eaten our first breakfast at the hotel in the restaurant, and then on our second and third morning in the conference room, on the fourth and last morning I asked to be seated in the restaurant, but my request fell on deaf ears (which really is uncommon for German service)

The bed - as in most German hotels - was quite hard. But the hotel staff was quick to put som extra duvets under the sheets. This made the bed just heavenly. Tea making facilities are plentiful, and every day the room's small refrigerator was equipped with complementary bottled water.

It's a 2 minute walk to the zoo, a 10 minute walk to Kurfürstendamm and a 15 minute walk to the Brandenburger Tor.

Bringing pets is very expensive and so is parking. We parked on the street right across from the hotel, which would cost about 20 euros a day. Not willing to pay this, we took the chance and only one day out of the five, we stayed, we got a 5 Euro parking ticket, which allowed us to park there for free for the rest of the day. Take the chance.

Most importently, ask for a room in the main building facing the zoo park. It's no hassle, and it is really worth it. Guests in the back building face quite a long walk including several elevators to get to their buiding.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oelliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,174
    982
    162
    22
    14
See reviews for
631
1,319
214
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I did enjoy my stay at the Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof, but I must admit it wasn't quite as special as I was expecting given the reviews. I have still decided to give it four stars though because I feel to give it "average" would be unfair. The bed was possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in in a hotel. The breakfast was delicious. The bar was great with wonderful cocktails. It was also nice and close to the Zoologischer Garten U-Bahn. For me, the slight drawbacks was that it did feel very businessy. It just didn't quite have the "wow-factor" I was hoping for. For me the most disappointing part was that the view of the zoo wasn't what I had hoped. Perhaps naively, I was hoping to see giraffes etc from my window, but everything was hidden by trees. But still, if you want a comfortable stay with a good breakfast then you can't do wrong to stay here.

Room Tip: If you choose the room overlooking the zoo, don't expect to actually see animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomnom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Spent 5 nights at this hotel for our first trip to Berlin and were very happy with everything. We stayed in a superior double room which was a really good size and as it was facing the courtyard rather than the zoo it was really quite at night. Both the bathroom and the bedroom was very clean and well maintained. The whole hotel was very modern in decor and clean. Breakfast was excellent, huge buffet selection with a chef there to cook you fresh omlettes to order. Staff were all really helpful and spoke great English. We got a good rate for our stay but the reception said that they get really busy with conferences between sept and nov so booking well in advance is advisable. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indy1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I keep going back to Berlin and for me the Schweizerhof is the only place to stay. It's convenient for the Zoo Station and bus 200 which stops at a few useful places and also close to lots of good restaurants and the Tiergarten. As ever, the staff on check in were welcoming and friendly, the room was as I expected and my request for a view of the zoo was met. The rooms on the other side are quieter but I prefer the greenery and am happy to put up with a little traffic noise to see it. Breakfast was good, the quality and variety is satisfying and over three days I enjoyed a different breakfast each morning. The gym was good too, a problem with the humidity has been fixed since I was there earlier this year and as ever, it was good to relax in the sauna. All told, a great weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms are similar, some bigger, some smaller, some have a view of the zoo but a little traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank longhaulfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

An excellent 5 star hotel. The service was wonderful; rooms were large, well equipped (tea and coffee making facilities; a large bottle of free water each day; very comfortable bed, good sized bathroom), the pool area absolutely amazing - a very large indoor pool and sauna area. There is even a light breakfast area for people departing very early. Outstanding and in a quiet but well connected part of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The England Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My husband and I were looking for a good hotel with parking, in a convenient location for seeing Berlin and we got it with the Pullman Berlin. It was easy to find and when we drove up and were greeted by the concierge, who quickly helped us unpack the car and had it parked for us, we knew we were in for a good weekend.
The deluxe room we booked was on the 8th floor and overlooked the zoo. It was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The bed was definitely one of the most comfortable ever! We were given a bottle of complimentary mineral water in our room everyday.
Breakfast was excellent- a wide choice of fruit, breads, cereals and freshly cooked eggs and crepes. Probably the best quality we have had in a buffet style breakfast.
The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from a main street where all the tour buses stop and is right next tot the zoo/ Aquarium.
If we return to Berlin we would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillyd382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Very stylish, but unpretentious hotel. Room really unfussy and comfortable with great facilities. Great breakfast, friendly staff. Good location for getting around and running in the Tiergarten.

Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,205 reviews
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#30 of 634 in Berlin
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,865 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Louisa's Place
#4 of 634 in Berlin
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof

Property: Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Address: Budapester Strasse 25, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Berlin
#10 Business Hotel in Berlin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#13 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof welcomes you in the centre of the metropolis. Experience the special ambiance of our prestigious hotel with 383 elegant rooms and 18 modern function rooms. Relax in our exclusive Aqua Spa, the biggest indoor hotel pool in Berlin, or enjoy regional and Mediterranean treats. Tourists and business guests both appreciate the location close to the Kurfurstendamm, 3 to 5 km from the central railway station and the exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Schweizerhof
Sofitel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing