We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations with charming service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Ranked #28 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My previous stays in a German hotel have all been of the blah variety - comfortable yet totally unmemorable. I guess there was not enough human element to go along with the efficiency and cleanliness of a property. I selected Pullman Berlin because I had had enough of going for a German hotel in a downtown location. I was ready to try a new location and kind of hoped for superior service as well.

The hotel's location was really good for me. It was close enough to main sites and shops, and was fabulous for going on business trips around the city as it was not smack in a busy area like my past stays in Kurfurstendamm.

I understand that the Pullman brand of Accor is primarily for business people, so did not expect the warm hospitality you would normally associate with a tourist resort hotel. I was surprised to find smiling reception staff who took the time to explain the readiness of the rooms and the check in process. It was helpful after a long, international flight to be greeted pleasantly and to be assured of a hassle-free check in. Our bags were delivered promptly while we went out for a brief city tour. Check out was similarly pleasant and efficient.

The rooms themselves are quite large, with supremely comfortable beds and plush pillows. It had a nice LCD TV with many channels and a complete range of wires and cables for your computer/communication equipment. Decorated in a modern fashion with sleek lines, a room oozed contemporary vibes throughout. I had a view of the buildings opposite and part of the Berlin Zoo, but you absolutely do not stay here for the view as there was none to catch your interest.

Appreciation is extended to housekeeping who ensured superb cleanliness and order for all the 4 days there. In fact, the staff were polite and helpful throughout my stay.

I liked the fitness center and the big pool, which unfortunately I did not get to use. The fitness center was kind of quiet and pleasant if you go early in the day.

This hotel is fantastic value for money for the kind of amenities and service I got. I would choose it over any centrally located Berlin hotel any day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have stayed at the Pullman twice now, most recently in December 2012 when visitng in the Christmas period.

The Pullman is consistently one of the most sensibly priced top rated hotels in Berlin and attracts a mix of business visitors during the week and leisure travellers at the weekend. As a large hotel it inevitably lacks the charm or atmostphere of smaller boutique or design hotels but it would be unfair to brand it as corporate - it is certainly very suitable visitors wishing to see the sights.

It is located in the former West Berlin, about 10 mins walk from the Zoo Station and the shops of Ku'damm such as the Ka De We. It is a longer walk, perhaps 25 mins, from the main central landmarks and Friedrichstrasse although you can easily catch a bus from outside the hotel or a S-bahn train from Zoo station.

The standard rooms are very spacious. The TV has British channels available. Negatively, the rooms, particuarly on the upper floors, do get rather hot at night.

Breakfast is expensive at 24 Euros although this seems to be increasingly the norm for Berlin hotels. It is an extensive buffet though of good quality so stock up! If you can get an advanced/inclusive rate for breakfast then you will be getting much better value.

The bar area could be a little larger and/or a little more tucked away from the main foyer to offer more privacy. However, the quality of drinks here is good.

The spa and pool area are a massive plus for this hotel. Given the size of the hotel, this area rarely gets that busy, although saturday afternoon/eve tended to be busier. As others have remarked, the spa area is mixed sex. The dress code in the sauna/steam rooms isn't clear although it tends to be dictated by the number of Germans present. For German guests, the default dress code is 'au naturale'. Don't let that put you off though, nudity is normal for most Germans and it's not compulsory for foreigners!

If you travel from Schonefeld you can get the train to Zoo station in around 30-45 mins. If arriving at Tegel, you can get the X9 express bus to Zoo station for just 2.50 Euros.

I would gladly stay at the Pullman again and happily recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors offer a view of the tiergarten and zoo, although they tend to be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuncanB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend trip over the Christmas period. The cleanliness cannot be faulted, and the staff were helpful enough. Doesn't quite have the character smaller places would have, as you would expect, but overall we were fairly satisfied. A short walk from the train station and near plenty of shops; travelling around the city from here was very easy. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: They tried to give us a 'double bed' by pushing two singles together - the problem was sorte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderin_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel is probably 12 years old and has stood the test of time well. Great rooms, nice staff, and truly awful internet. In fact the internet is as bad as it gets in a hotel, probably 12 years old too - it would almost have been better to have no internet at all bearing in mind the time wasted waiting to connect and then to send mails. What a shame.
The internet at the Intercontinental across the road works perfectly at good speeds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Excellent service, the room was nice but not as big as first thought, but quality fittings, can be a bit confusing to find the road to take for the hotel when coming out of the Zoologischer Garten train station, but this is the stop you will need to get off if traveling from Schonefeld Airport, its about a 30 minute journey, the best way is when you leave the station head for Berlin Zoo and Aquarium entrance its about 5 minutes from here....the pool and sauna area are great to relax in and a must, be aware that the Germans like to go in the sauna in the nude, but each to there own and if there not bothered don't take offence.. the breakfast was very good with lots of choice, there is a supermarket by the train station it is next door to the Burger King so can stock up on beers and wine and snacks as it was nearly 5 euros for a beer from the mini bar

Room Tip: you can get a day ticket for 7 euros and this will give you a full days travel on all of the transpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAYTRIPPER63_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel 22-25 Feb with my boyfriend for a birthday trip to Berlin. I always try and look for hotels for good value within the top 20 on trip advisor and we were not disappointed with our stay here at all. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minutes walk of both Ku-Damn and the Zoo Station tubes, and the X9 bus will bring you from the airport very easily. The room was a good size for a central city hotel and very clean. There were several English TV channels such as BBC, ITV and Channel 4. They also played free films in English too, we saw Skyfall, Ice Age 4 and the dark knight rises – normally you would be expected to pay for such new movies so it was nice to have the option of watching them for free. The hotel is located opposite the zoo and aquarium which make a nice day out, as well as close to berlins version of oxford street (which is pretty poor in comparison to be honest). The only let down about the area was a lack of good places to eat, if your quite fussy about the quality or type of food you are looking for it might be best to locate restaurant in advance as walking around in our first night there wasn’t anywhere close by that really grabbed out attention. The hotel breakfast was extensive and had lots of choice, one of the best I have seen in Europe. An added bonus is that it is laid on until 12pm at the weekend so you can have a lie in! Drinks in the hotel bar were reasonable, but then that is in comparison to London prices. I didn’t use the pool and spa (boyfriend forgot his swimwear!!) but they looked really nice. In all I would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a zoo view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenF_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#30 of 635 in Berlin
1,938 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#29 of 635 in Berlin
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,318 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#19 of 635 in Berlin
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof

Address: Budapester Strasse 25, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Berlin
#10 Business Hotel in Berlin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#13 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £87 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof welcomes you in the centre of the metropolis. Experience the special ambiance of our prestigious hotel with 377 elegant rooms and 18 modern function rooms. Relax in our exclusive Aqua Spa, the biggest indoor hotel pool in Berlin, or enjoy regional and Mediterranean treats. Tourists and business guests both appreciate the location close to the Kurfurstendamm, 3 to 5 km from the central railway station and the exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Schweizerhof
Sofitel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing