We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Ranked #96 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have just paid our first visit to Berlin - a city various friends have raved about.
We chose this hotel from a booking website, partly because of its location in the atmospheric old Jewish quarter and its excellent transport links, partly because it offered a very attractive price for our 4 night stay.
We were delighted with our choice - especially when informed on arrival that we had been given a room upgrade. It was spacious, quiet and with a view straight up the Fernsehturm. A couple of mins from the Hackescha Markt (S bahn station, with an easy journey to Schônefeld airport, changing at Ostkreuz) ; do have at least one meal in the sprawling Restauration 1840 restaurant, which has a very traditional German family atmosphere and where you hear the trains rumbling overhead as you plough your way through large portions!
The hotel staff were unfailingly elegant and friendly and the buffet breakfasts in the glass-covered courtyard excellent. The entrance hall contains a fascinating illustrated history of the neighbourhood......it makes for a real introduction to the complex and often heavy history of the city itself.
Just a few minutes away is the Museum Island, with its 5 prestigious museums ; the frequent M100 buses down on Karl Liebknecht street whip you along the Unter den Linden in 5 minutes or so, to the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag ( the free lift trip up to the dome, bookable in advance, is unmissable for its views over Berlin). Public transport tickets come with 3 zone prices and are valid for 2 hours - or there are 1, 3 or 5 day passes, on sale at the hotel. We did buy a 3 day one, if only to avoid fiddling with the platform machines so often, and probably broke even.
There is so much to see, depending on your interests ; but Berlin is a beautiful, vibrant city. We shall certainly be returning - and to the Alexandra Plaza.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms , overlooking the Rosenstrasse, are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

Otherwise quite ok hotel, but if you need an Internet connection in your room then you should skip this hotel. There were three of us staying in this hotel, and the internet connection in all of our rooms were practically unusable.

Breakfast was a little simple compared to average hotel, although they had quite nice tea assortment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rankkuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Hotel Alexander is conveniently situated in Mitte Berlin, close to Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt for the U and S Bahns, and also Tram stations bus stops, making all of Berlin accessible. It is also walking distance from a number of tourist attractions such as Museum Island and the TV Tower.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy and the room was comfortable enough for our four night stay.

Breakfast is a good buffet, with an assortment of hot and cold dishes. The only comment I have about breakfast is that there does not seem to be enough tables for all the guests, so on a couple of mornings we had to wait some time to get seated.

There is a bar area within the hotel, which was OK for a pre-dinner or apres dinner drink before bed. Not much atmosphere though.

The hotel also has a small relaxation area with treadmill, cross trainer, yoga mats, sauna and jacuzzi.

All in all, an adequate hotel with a good location. If I was visting Berlin again (which I probably will) I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I decided to visit “Athens by the river Spree” which is Berlin, Germany for our wedding anniversary. First we’ve had to secure a nice, centrally located place to stay. The internet showed us the “Alexander Plaza Hotel” on Alexander Platz. Well, the hotel has being there since the 1800’s, they say. Even so there are still some things not worked out finely. I.e. Since we arrived well before 3 pm, which is their set time to enter the room and 11 am to leave it, which means they sell you 20 hours of stay instead of one full day when cleaning the room takes the room service just under 10 minutes -we were there one day-, we left our bag and laptop with the reception. When we arrived later, the reception had given my laptop to someone else. “Oooops, our mistake!” they said, and they sent a kid to fetch it for us. Then, there are plenty of body lotion little bottles in the bathroom but no shampoo whatsoever, like only balding guests with dry skin problems should book with the hotel. On the second day the free wi-fi internet went dead. When I called the reception they checked the system and said, “Oooops, our mistake!” So they reactivated it. And the last morning, when we arrived at the restaurant anticipating a hearty meal to start our final day in Berlin strong, the girl at the door said in a voice and army tone that reminded of the Seinfeld’s soup-kitchen guy, “NO breakfast for you today!” We were taken aback and then made a U-turn heading to the reception, again. Again the reception checked the system and said “Oooops, our mistake!” and then they …allowed us to eat breakfast. I had started enjoying this “Oooops…” thing, but unfortunately we had to leave both the city and the hotel and come back to reality. Other than these minor details the hotel was nice, comfy and clean. Guess what. We will visit it again!

Theo V.

Room Tip: When visiting this hotel tell the reception, “Theo V. said to pay attention to detail, please!”
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

serviceable hotel in a great location. We spent all waking hours exploring the city, so didn't need luxury. I initially sought a hotel in Alexanderplatz (wanted Park Inn), but all were booked so we ended up at Hotel AP. The hotel boasts an excellent location (much better than Alexanderplatz) - stone's throw from Hackescher Market fun food, sites and shopping (and S train to most of city). Easy walk to many major tourist sites. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good (eggs, selection of breakfast meats, bread, yogurts and toppings). Though we weren't looking for luxury, the bed (while comfy) was teeny-tiny, and was comprised of two 2/3-sized twins pushed together (hate this. cuddlers beware). No bathtub, which is a major detraction for me. Request not to be on 6th (top) floor - slanted ceiling cuts room right in half. You're paying for location here, not comforts. Would recommend to friends travelling together, or those only using hotel to get a brief nap then back out into the city. Not so great for romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Request not to be on 6th (top) floor - slanted ceiling cuts room right in half.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReichenbachManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here recently for one night during a business trip.

As there was a trade fair, average room prices were much higher throughout Berlin compared to "normal" times. With this in mind, the value for money was very good give then good location close to Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt.

My single room was neat, clean and quite spacious, albeit nothing to write home about. Another plus was the free wifi.

Would come back again even if not my first choice in Berlin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel is a quick train ride from the main Berlin train station. It's located in an absolutely awesome section of Berlin. Lots of people told us to stay in nearby Alexanderplatz, but we thought this area was so much nicer. Alexanderplatz felt like Times Square. It was fun, but I was glad that we were sleeping somewhere quainter.

There are tons of restaurants and a small train station within a few steps of the hotel. The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast from 6:30 to 10 daily, and the offerings are varied and fresh.

There is free wifi in every room, and it's very reliable.

The rooms are big, but the bathrooms are small. We were located on the first floor, and it was a little noisy at night, but with the windows closed tightly, we slept soundly.

There is air conditioning and it worked ok although it was cool during our stay.

The room was cleaned daily, and was comfortable enough. The beds are just two twin beds pushed together, which was fine, but not totally comfortable.

The hotel is a comfortable walking distance from most of the main attractions.including the Brandenberg Gate, the Wall and Museum Island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#93 of 635 in Berlin
491 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#76 of 635 in Berlin
1,446 reviews
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin

Address: Rosenstr. 1, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Berlin
#74 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#98 Business Hotel in Berlin
#102 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £79 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish city hotel is situated in a quiet side street in the heart of Berlin right between Hackescher Markt and Alexanderplatz. Museum Island is only a few walking minutes away and the accessibility to public transport is outstanding. Berlin's sights and its numerous shops are easy to get to on foot from Alexander Plaza, the pride of Classik Hotel Collection. The charming hotel is popular for its amazing combination of the historic building of the 19th century with the modern design interior of warm colors and fine woods. Privately owned, it offers five different room categories and a small sauna area with a Finnish sauna. WLAN is available for free throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Plaza Berlin Hotel Berlin
Alexander Plaza Hotel Berlin
Berlin Alexander Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing