We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good value hotel just 15 minutes from centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Weissensee
Ranked #100 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very good value hotel just 15 minutes from centre”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you want good simple accommodation, this is a worthwhile choice. The hotel is very clean and modern with friendly, helpful reception staff.
Our standard room had a bath with shower over it, and a balcony with a reasonable view of trees and sunset.
All the normal expected facilities were provided, including free wifi, plus a kitchenette with kettle, sink, microwave and fridge.
Better still, each day there were two bottles of water and two bottles of (Beck's) beer provided free of charge. Try getting that from any normal hotel!
We didn't use the bar, restaurant, or spa, but it all looked good.
Although not in the centre of town, this hotel is pretty handy as long as you can walk a few hundred metres from the tram stop. The M4 tram in 5 minutes takes you straight to and from Greifswaldstrasse which links with the S-Bahn S9 to Schonefeld airport, and another 5 minutes or so gets you to Alexanderplatz and the Unter den Linden areas.
With the kitchenette ion the room you could easily do some simple self-catering if you wanted, as there is a Netto only about 150 metres from the hotel on the way to the tram.
We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Berlin.

Room Tip: In October 2013 ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the building opposite the hotel front is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    165
    35
    8
    0
See reviews for
58
129
48
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This Apart Hotel gives you good size rooms with basic kitchen area. Its a 15 Euro taxi to the city centre or the Tram is close by. There is also a supermarket and bakery very close so if you want to cater for yourself it is very simple. I had the studio which was great and a colleague had the 2 floor larger apartment so we could hold a meeting in it. Worked out way better value than a meeting room on a delegate rate. It is in a residential area so no easy restaurants close by. Hotel Breakfast had very limited hot options but continental choice was OK

Room Tip: check wi fi works in your room as we had issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights while touring Europe by car. This was a wonderful hotel, friendly helpful staff. Very clean, large rooms with well designed kitchenettes. Comfortable beds. Even complimentary beer and water daily. The location is perfect, close to the very efficient tram system, as well as a grocery store. The only negative was that the wifi did not work well, intermittent service. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schmalenberg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Located in a quiet residential neighborhood with only a 10 minute walk to the train station and 15 minutes tram ride to the city center! Our room was VERY spacious and immaculately clean. Parking is in a very secure and covered garage next to hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help out with whatever we needed. The hotel food was very delicious and the prices were not too expensive. There is a playground located directly behind the hotel and is great for young children. The cable TV was the best I’ve ever experienced; it's free and played the latest of movies. The kitchenette is nicely equipped with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, utensils, cups, plates, etc… There is also a Netto on the corner for shopping. Great Wi-Fi in our room and as promised each day of our stay we had a free bottle of beer and water waiting for us, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is in a residential neighborhood. It is very quiet and cozy. It isn't close to anything really and not many restaurants nearby, but he tram is really close though, maybe a 10 minute walk to the tram that will take you to Alexanderplatz in 15 minutes. The tram runs 24 hours.
The bar in the hotel lobby is excellent and the bartenders were quick.
The staff was very helpful and willing to help you with any needs.
The room was very clean and nicely furnished. One perk is you get 2 complimentary beers each day and 2 complimentary waters in your mini fridge.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was my third visit to a derag hotel, and the usual good standards are again reflected here.
Good sized double room for sole ocupancy. Quiet and spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel.
Nice work desk with reading light, upright chair, and comfy chair to relax and watch tv ( usefully on a swivel stand for easy viewing from bed or chair ). Good sized closet with plenty of coat hangers for ladies and gents. Bathroom decent size also with tub and shower. Basic studio cooking facilities include two hotplates, microwave and kettle ( ask for crockery and cutlery). Fridge welcomes you with 2 bottles of beer and two small bottles of mineral water. This is topped up by the maids.However for some reason maids did not top up the supply of coffee and tea making supplies....

Hotel has a decent modern lobby bar, which did not break the bank. The restaurant also looked nice and failry priced, though i did not use it.
Gym and sauna in the basement. Sauna from 4 - 10 pm. Beer garden out back in good weather.

Reception staff all helpful, professional and still friendly.

The key deciders therefore are price and location. There was a big trade show in Berlin during my stay , which meant limited availability of nice hotels at sensible prices, so i was happy to be in a 4 star under 70 bucks....
The location is a bit farther out than i would normally have chosen, and is maybe a bit off-putting for single ladies without a car, or first time visitors. I know berlin and the excellent transportation system fairly well, and actually enjoyed the area. Directions from hotel website are easy to follow.
From SXF , take s9 to greifwsalderstrasse, then tram m4 for 4 stops to albertinerstrasse, then 9 minutes easy walk. This is a nice residential area, but might be a bit dark at night for singles ( no real problem, maybe just perception ). Half way to hotel is a good netto supermarket open 8 am to 8pm. Near tram stop is a nice trattoria - pizzeria called la famiglia. Or try walking along pistorius strasse to mirbacher platz ( similar distance to tram ) for the greek restaurant called platon, or a nice german place where i enjoyed an all you can eat barbeque and some live music. The church on the square is really handsome, as are some of the brick buildings en route. Not in any guide book, but really nice.
The trams take you to the central point at alexanderplatz in 15 minutes, thence 2 stops further to the trendy area of häckischer markt. A different tram takes you direct to the trendy area of prenzlauer berg for the cultural brewery, prater beergarden etc in about 20 mins.

The real location bonus is only 3 minutes walk from hotel - the beautiful wooded park and lake of weissensee. The lake is swimmable in summer, with rowboats for hire, and a couple of nice looking terrace bar-cafes just to relax.

In good weather and-or with a good rate, this hotel would come high on my list of places to stay for my next visit to Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is the place i stayed for a month. I had a wonderful stay at this hotel.
The complementary Beer is exceptional.
The Hotel is very cozy & comfortable, I had a service room where i used to cook and my dishes and room was cleaned twice every week.
the reception was friendly and guided me to places in Berlin.

The nearest Tram station is 10 minutes walking and is called Albertino Straße. You can get a direct Tram M4 to HackaShter Market or the TV Tower which is famous landmark or you can take M13 to airport.

Food was limited in the restaurant but the Bar was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms were good. Try WiFi connectivity in your room, i had changed one toom because of the conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashishmathur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Köpenick
pentahotel Berlin-Koepenick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Hyperion Hotel Berlin
#143 of 634 in Berlin
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Weissensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Weissensee

Property: Derag Livinghotel Weissensee
Address: Parkstr. 87, 13086 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#42 Business Hotel in Berlin
#75 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#115 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Weissensee 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Weissensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing