We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than I expected.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Ranked #98 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

A modern building in modest surroundings but finished and fitted out to a very high standard. The open atrium immediately impresses. The rooms are of a good size, comfortable and clean. Most locations in Berlin are better described as "interesting" rather than picturesque, but with the Spree running alongside and the attractive old Nikolaiviertel area, with its excellent and restaurants, only a short stroll away, this is as good as it gets. My wife and I chose this hotel as it was within walking distance of the Berlin O2 Arena, but found it an easy walk to most other attractions such as Checkpoint Charlie and the Brandenburg Gate. A very pleasant breakfast room with an excellent, if somewhat expensive, cold buffet is let down by the poor hot selection ( no bacon ). With the exception of a rather surly waitress the staff were helpful and friendly. At the time of our visit the sauna was not working, so check it out first if this is important to you. Excellent value, however, and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No good room views, but this is Berlin. Just enjoy the complimentary beer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your great feedback that you shared here at tripadvisor. we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and our breakfast buffett.

Thank your for your advise regarding the hot selection on our breakfast buffet. In our next meeting we will discuss that with our Food and Beverage Manager to make general improvements.

Regarding your note about the sauna we sincerely apologize the inconvenience caused to you. Our Sauna is on time in a renovation process.

Thank you for your praise of our friendly staff member.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

Kind regards from Berlin

Funda Konak
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    437
    78
    22
    7
See reviews for
82
405
83
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Good hotel for business, breakfast is very nice, the rooms are clean and spacious.

The two free beers and bottles of water in the rooms is a nice touch, and the film channels can be switched between languages so you can watch in your native language.

I do have to admit the WIFI is shocking and disconnects you constantly but is useable for browsing etc.

Room Tip: First floor makes it a short trip to breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear, that we could afforded you a comfortable stay.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.
Regarding your remark of our WIFI connection we would like to inform you, that we have already given an optimization in order.
We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

With kind regards from Berlin

Funda Konak
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loro Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel was perfectly located to visit most of Berlin's attractions and within walking distance. Rooms were comfortable, clean, well appointed and very quiet. The free beer and water supplied each day was a nice touch. We had no issues with the wi-fi for the first couple of nights but noticed a slow down over the weekend. As the hotel breakfast charge was expensive for what we wanted, we went to the little Backerei Cafe around the corner on Wallstrasse. The staff were friendly and efficient. There was a choice of restaurants both in the Nikolai quarter and at the Alexanderplatz (10-15 min walk).

Room Tip: We asked for rooms on a high floor, as they are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suewalkerdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,

we are very pleased to hear, that we could afforded you a comfortable stay.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Regarding your remark of our wifi connection we would like to inform you, that we have already given an optimization in order.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin.

Kind regards

Funda Konak
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I would stay in this hotel again because of its cleanliness, location & affordability. But if I needed to stay in accommodation with good Wi-Fi, I would go to another hotel. It took 18+ hours to download 1 film from iTunes & it was impossible to Skype.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropssap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.

Regarding your remark of our WI-FI connection we would like to inform you, that we have already given an optimization in order, nevertheless our WI-FI is not necessarily suitable for downloads of films etc..

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

With kind regards from Berlin

Funda Konak
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were a little leery of checking in late due to some warnings we had read about hotels in Germany, but the hotel has a 24/7 staff and it was no problem to come in at 10pm like we did. We spent 5 days here, had a great time, and were always greeted by a clean room and complimentary beverages upon our return. It's right next to a U-Bahn station, so getting around Berlin - even to Potsdam or Dresden - is very convenient. The staff is friendly and were happy to speak English when my German failed.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are $10 more per night, but we enjoyed our streetside room just fine. Breakfast is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.
We are very pleased that everything was to your satisfaction, and you have enjoyed your stay.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Hopefully seeing you soon.

Funda Konak
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel while celebrating New Year in Berlin and it was a good decision.

The hotel is centrally located, directly outside the U Bahn station which is really convenient. Trains are regular and only two stops from Alexanderplatz. We had apartments which were very spacious, quiet and comfortable. Reception was efficient in providing irons / ironing boards when we needed them, an extra pillow, booking taxis etc. Our rooms and the public areas were kept very clean and we even had a free beer in the room which was a nice touch. We didn't opt for breakfast which seemed a little expensive at 16 euro per person. There are many great places to get breakfast in Berlin so this wasn't an issue for us. Wi-Fi was slow but worked and as were were there for pleasure - not business, it wasn't a problem.

We have stayed in several hotels across Berlin and this ranks as one of the best. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

we are very pleased to hear, that we could afforded you a comfortable stay.
Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

With kind regards from Berlin
Funda Konak
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great location in front of a U Bahn station. Nice rooms with free water and beer every day ...BUT the wifi connection was awful and the spa was out of service all the week we stayed in there. I love the place but the low quality wifi could be a delabreaker

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaumedebarbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FundaKonak, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.

Regarding your remark of our wifi connection we would like to inform you, that we have already given an optimization in order.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the Spa.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Hopefully seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Funda Konak
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
#110 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#83 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#52 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Mitte
BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Property: Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Address: Neue Rossstr. 11-12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#74 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#102 Family Hotel in Berlin
#158 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing