We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Ranked #70 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent, good value, really conveniently located alongside the underground station and also a couple of bus routes which both go to useful destinations. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because the breakfast area could have been anywhere. We preferred to eat at local cafés of which there are two within 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Teithwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your tripadvisor review.

We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
It would be helpful for us if you could tell you if there was something which you missed with our breakfast. Only with the reviews of our guests we are able to improve our offers and services.

Hopefully we will meet you once again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lovely location - really convenient access to anywhere in Berlin.
Lovely staff and nice rooms.
For food, there is a Chinese place around the corner from the hotel. For breakfast/brunch, the Art Hotel nearby does good American brunch and there is always the Movenpick nearby as well. Our room did not come with a breakfast package included so we only ate there once.
This hotel is nicer than the Derag next door in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for lovely review on tripadvisor.

It was our pleasure to having you as a guest in our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed Berlin that much.

Hopefully we will welcome once again in future.

Best regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel was excellent value for our 4 night stay in Berlin. Not too far from all the sights yet in a quiet residential/office area of the city. The added bonus is it's right next to Markisches Museum U bahn station on the very handy U2 line.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and every day there are two free bottles of beer left in the fridge (along with 2 free waters too), great for revival after a tough day on the streets of Berlin :-)
The staff are unfailingly pleasant and helpful and I must make special mention of Stefan whose patience and manner when helping me print our boarding passes off, was truly great customer service. Thanks once again Stefan!
Just a shame they can't price their breakfast's a bit more competitively, but all in all would most definitely return to this great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for giving us this review regarding your stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and the members of our staff. Of course we have forwarded your commention to Stefan.

It is important for us to get your review, so we can assure best care and attention to our hotel guest at all time.

However, it was an honour for us to serve you as our guest.
We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Therefore, we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Derag Hotel Großer Kurfürst in Berlin on a potential future occasion.

Best regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked this saw for a weekend break and stayed three nights in March. Weather was fantastic for time of year so left a nice first impression.
We arrived evening of Saturday 8 March and were greeted by very polite and helpful male receptionist. The entrance to the hotel is simply stunning. It's one of the nicest I've seen. The rooms are spacious with a decent en-suite. Carpet could do with being replaced as it was quite heavily stained. This was the only negative. There was flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities and a mini fridge with the afore mentioned free water and beer. The air conditioning worked and was necessary as it was very warm.

We didn't have breakfast as it seemed rather expensive give that we paid £133 for the three nights. The hotel has a spa/sauna which we didn't use. It's only two stops down from Alexander Platz on the subway and the subway is directly outside the hotel. We could see the entrance from our window and could occasionally hear the trains but it didn't bother us.

The towels in the en-suite seemed ok to us, unlike other reviewers on TA. We would definitely stay here again and I'm sure we'll return in the next couple of years as we loved Berlin. I think it's a four star due to the gym/sauna and its meeting rooms so we didn't notice much between this and a three star but still enjoyed the hotel as we paid three star prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for giving us this good review for your stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay an our amenities that much.
We are sorry that you get that bad impression for our carpet in your guest room. At the moment we are renewing all carpets in the rooms. We are doing it during the regular business so it may need some time until we have finished everything.

However, it was an honour for us to serve you as our guest.
We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Therefore, we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Derag Hotel Großer Kurfürst in Berlin on a potential future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We chose this a hotel as a base for our Berlin break with friends, on the positive reviews read all over the travel guides inc TripAdvisor.

The reviews are correct, This is a lovely hotel with friendly and efficient reception staff who were proactive in ensuring our queries and requests were all addressed. The staff often make the difference between a good hotel and a great one. And these guys were a pleasure to talk with.

Room was smart, comfortable and warm. Free Wifi excellent throughout and I loved the novel idea of offering 2 free beers and waters per day. I was so shocked I only used the facility a couple of times - must be getting old! Only issue (mentioned by others) is that the towels are substantial for keeping hands dry, but barely adequate for a main version. Didn't bother me so much, but Mrs Foxy wasn't happy!

We had breakfast most days and yes it is expensive at 16 Euro although you can have Continental and/or Scrambled eggs and sausages. I guess it works for the business market on expenses, but for a city break you might be better to try the cafe round the corner and get the same or better much cheaper.

The other major selling point for the Kurfurst is its accessability. Less than 25 metres walk from the steps at Markisches Museum U Bahn you can be in central Berlin within a few minutes of leaving the hotel. No hassle.

Would we come again? You betcha. We had a great time in Berlin and this hotel is the ideal base

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxy206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Leiter Front Office at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review for us!

It was our pleasure having you with us for your time in Berlin. We took a note about the towels and our executive housekeeper will take care of it.
We hope that we could satisfy Mrs. Foxy next time with new towels.

We are looking forward to welcoming once again.

Sunny regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

we booked this hotel on the strength of other trip advisor reviews and we found that we could not fault this hotel. great location very clean and spacious rooms .with FREE beer every day . the bear is the emblem of berlin and the two bears that represent this are living about two hundred yards away in a pit enclosure , worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Leiter Front Office at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for giving us this kind review for your stay in our hotel.

Great that you enjoyed our complimentary minibar. Did you know that there are over 5 breweries in Berlin? If you like we recommend one for a visit for your next stay in Berlin!

Best regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel this March, I had booked it after searching tirelessly for a suitable hotel. On arrival we were chuffed to see it was literally a stones throw from the tube station. If you use the opposite exit to the lift it puts you right by the hotel.

On arrival to the reception earlier than check in we were given our room key. There was no assistance which I might expect in a 4* but we were fine. Check in to the hotel was extremely swift and we were grateful to be able to check in before 2.00pm.

We stayed in a business room which was a good size with 2 beds pushed together, kettle, free water and beer and TV with movie channels. The bathroom had a full bath, over head shower, toilet and bidet. The bathroom was large and more than adequate for our needs. WiFi was excellent though I just used my phone. It never cut out, no issues with it.

The hotel itself is in an extremely central location, you can pretty much walk everywhere once you know your route. There is a local supermarket 5 mins walk away and a lidl a bit further up the road.

We didn't have breakfast or use the spa, we felt that the breakfast was too expensive at 16euros. There is a local cafe but we headed into town and purchased a hearty breakfast for 6.50. That's the only let down for the hotel, affordable breakfast needed!

We loved this hotel and plan to make it our base when we visit Berlin.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choccolatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Leiter Front Office at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your fantastic review.

We are happy that you had such a pleasent stay and enjoyed having you with us.
It is important for us to get your review, so we can assure best care and attention to our hotel guest at all time.

However, it was an honour for us to serve you as our guest.
We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Therefore, we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Derag Hotel Großer Kurfürst in Berlin on a potential future occasion.

Best regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#85 of 635 in Berlin
3,000 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#74 of 635 in Berlin
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Address: Neue Rossstr. 11-12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#56 Family Hotel in Berlin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#158 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing