We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware NO Airconditioning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Ranked #98 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beware NO Airconditioning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

First the positives, yes this hotel is directly next to a metro stop which gives you easy access to the city. It is in a quiet area of town, but a short walk to good restaurants. There is free water and beer in the mini bar, which is very welcome after a hot day sightseeing.

However the room we were initially given had air-conditioning controls that did not appear to work. When mentioning this to the front desk staff as we went out we were told it would be looked in to. When we returned our room was unbearably hot. We asked at the front desk again, and they said they would change us to a different room with air-conditioning that worked. We were then moved into a room which was decidedly shabby with stained carpets, a stained sink in the bathroom, and holes in the curtains. The air-conditioning still did not appear to work. The following morning we found the safe had malfunctioned and our passports were locked inside. While waiting to report this to the front desk we overheard another couple checking out mention that their air-conditioning wasn't working. The exact same staff member who had promised to have ours fixed, and had changed our room told the couple checking out that there was no air-conditioning in the hotel, just an air circulation system.

This soured our stay somewhat. Why go to the bother of changing our room for something that didn't exist? And why not be honest to the guests in the first place? Next time we visit Berlin we will find an alternative hotel for this reason alone, not because there is no air-conditioning, but because the staff are not honest about it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0made
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

at first we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor.

We are very sorry for the inconvienence caused during your stay. You are totally right, that our staff should inform you directly that the hotel has no air-conditioning.
We have already discussed this with our complete front desk members.

We are affected that you do not want to visit our hotel for this reason.
We hope that you had a nice stay, except of this issue and still looking forward to welcoming you again to demonstrate that this attitude is not our general behaviour.

Best regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    437
    78
    22
    7
See reviews for
82
406
84
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife. Fantastic experience. Highlights of the stay here.
-Location was steps away from U-Bahn stop.
-Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Even printed our train tickets for us.
-Extremely clean and spacious room.
-Mini fridge was stocked with two beers and two waters daily. All free.
-Room was air conditioned. There was no adjustable thermostat but temperature was perfect.
-Extremely quiet at night.
-Wifi worked very good.

We did not try the breakfast provided by the restaurant. We did however eat at the Indian restaurant across the street from the hotel when we first arrived and were hungry. We were completely satisfied with our meal. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and would give them my business again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy that you had a perfect summer time stay in our hotel and could enjoy all our complementary goodies.

We hope that we could inspire you for our comprehensive breakfast buffet next time, too.

See you soon!

Best regards Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent service at the front desk. As noted in nearly every review, free beer and water everyday. Very nice room, great value. Reliable free wifi is a huge plus.

Right next to the train, but the immediate neighborhood is certainly underwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy that you had a very good time with us and enjoyed our complimentary offers that much.

Hopefully we will have you again!

Best regards Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed for just 2 days in a business room, and quite enjoyed my stay. The location is perfect, U-bahn is around the corner, attractions are 10-15 min walk away. Unfortunately, I didn't find a convenience store or a mini market nearby.
The hotel is nicely decorated, a mix of modern and atmospheric. My room was clean, spacious and light. But somehow it wasn't particularly convenient - the door to the bathroom blocked the corridor when opened, the minibar area was tiny and high up, the bed was too soft...
Internet was fast, staff was generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya_Ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your positive feedback!

It was our pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel.
It's a pity that you missed the supermarket in the near. Our front desk staff would be happy to assist you to show our Edeka supermarket in walking distance next time.

We hace noticed your comments regarding the minibar and the soft bed. Our executive housekeeper will take care of it.

We hope we will have you as a guest soon again.

Best regards Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is just across the street from the Underground & has a great Organic indoor market a block away.The highlight of our 10 day stay was the wonderful staff member Ilka Tillinann Luther!
Helpful in every way & found a great Architectural tour guide Susanna Dussel for us that was the highlight of our stay in Berlin! I recommend this hotel most highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_f534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for share your review on tripadvisor.com.

We are delighted that you had a such wonderful time here and of course we have forwarded your commendatory words directly to Ilka.

We hope we will have you back soon with us!

Best regards Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a street-view room. The only downside was that we could hear the subway and drunk people when the window was open, which was most nights so it wouldn't get too hot.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ConniC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your kind review on tripadvisor.

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay that much. If you prefer a room which is more quiet we would like to offer you to book a room the river side for your next stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department.

Best regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here again and love not only Berlin but the hotel! I will come back! The hotel is modern and conveniently located as Markisches Museum bahn is less than 20 metres to the left. The staff are very friendly and informative. Museum Island is ls only 5-10 minutes away and there are loss to see and lots to eat and drink in the area. Nikolai Viertal is just to the right across the bridge. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: Go to Potsdam for the day. One word WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienFolgmann, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com.

We are very happy that you visited our hotel again and looking forward to welcoming you in the future, too.

Have a good time!

Best regards
Vivien Folgmann / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
#111 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#84 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#72 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#49 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Property: Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Address: Neue Rossstr. 11-12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#75 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#102 Family Hotel in Berlin
#158 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing