We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Recommend the Motel One Chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #81 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I cannot recommend the Motel One chain, because they are inconsistent. But I can recommend the Motel One Hauptbahnhof Berlin.

I have stayed here a number of times, and have recommended it to friends who were also pleased. I have also stayed at the Motel One at the Vienna Westbahnhof, and the Berlin Motel One Alexanderplatz. Both the Vienna and the Alexanderplatz Motel Ones lacked air conditioning which is absolutely unacceptable. Don't misunderstand me. Both Alexanderplatz and the Vienna Westbahnhof Motel Ones claim to have air-conditioning, but they simply did not run it. But the Motel One Hauptbahnhof Berlin had air conditioning, they ran it, and it worked well.

On this trip, I was taking my 84 year old mother on a little tour of Europe. Being across from the Hauptbahnhof made this Motel One very convenient for seeing sights. The only disadvantage to this location is that since the Hauptbahnhof is relatively new, there is not much infrastructure (cafés, bodegas, bars) around it, other than the shops in the Berlin Hauptbahnhof.

If you are unfamiliar with the Motel One concept, it is a modern discount hotel. The lobby gives the impression that you are in a somewhat more upscale business style hotel. And even the room furnishings avoid seeming cut rate. Costs are controlled in other ways. Obviously, as is typical of Europe, the room is very small (although by no means the smallest room I have rented), but it is adequate. There is no closet. There is no safe. If you have a single room, there is but one towel. You will receive one bottle of hair and body wash per day (I thought that I had cautioned my mom about that, but still the morning after our first night, she told me that she could never find a bar of soap, so she had used the shampoo). In short, it seems clear to me that Motel One did the appropriate market research to figure out what travelers really need and what they can do without. With the exception of lack of air conditioning in some of their properties, I believe that they hit the mark pretty well.

One more kudo for the Motel One Hauptbahnhof Berlin is they do not try to stick you with an extra charge for wifi. And it works. Both the Vienna and the Alexanderplatz Motel Ones included wifi, but the actual service ranged from nonexistent to painfully slow.

I would patronize Motel One more frequently if it wasn't for their inconsistent standards. Air conditioning is essential and should not be a way of cutting costs. Operable wifi should be available.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIljan D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

It is my second stay at motel one hauptbahnhof. I feel like I really owe them a review for the excellent service.

Within walking distance to the main station, motel one is great for guest like me who was transiting to other cities. Room was a bit small, but comfy and clean. Breakfast costs €7.50, and it has a good variety of food - fruit, yogurt, cold cut, cornflakes, juices, coffee, many kinds of bread... Etc. the staffs were friendly and helpful, also they could speak fluent English.

Highly recommended and will definitely come back again during my next visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank bubigat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIljan D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Another great hotel in the chain. Just across a busy road from Berlin's main train station (so you connect to anywhere easily though the immediate environs are less exciting). Yet the hotel is quiet and you get a great view of the city skyline.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIljan D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Super quiet room despite being on second floor, and the night of the Germany-France World Cup game. A hip, pared-down operation, with breakfast being served in the lobby lounge, on funky furniture and with poppy techno music playing. Room and bathroom were clean, though rather small (nowhere to put a suitcase, let alone two). Breakfast was good, though not stupendous. Would stay here again for the convenience to the main rail station if traveling by train.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JourneyGirlOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIljan D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just six minutes from the train station. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good. We got the city tourist bus three blocks from the hotel. There was also a big market one block away. Very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excitingforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIljan D, Guest Relations Manager at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Anett Granzow
Assistant Manager

Motel One Germany Betriebs GmbH
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Invalidenstraße 54
D-10557 Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel had a great location, excellent staff and was extremely clean. Everything you would want in a tourist destination. There is no better deal for the price in my opinion. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIljan D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I will stay with this hotel anytime again.. It's clean, modern, staff service is good and conveniently located near the main station .. It also offers free bus service to tourist like us around the city.. Their bar makes good drinks too.. Good job!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c00ky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIljan D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
Motel One Berlin Spittelmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof

Address: Invalidenstr. 54, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £62 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof 2.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing